Chevron Left
Volver a Matrix Algebra for Engineers

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Matrix Algebra for Engineers por parte de Universidad Científica y Tecnológica de Hong Kong

4.8
estrellas
1,948 calificaciones
532 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. The mathematics in this course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students should take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but students are expected to have attained a sufficient level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join. The course contains 38 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve after each lecture. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of four weeks in the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Lecture notes can be downloaded from http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf...

Principales reseñas

RH

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

DL

May 01, 2020

Very in-depth class for matrix algebra. I am a biochemistry student and have learned this in the past but re-taking this online course again has revamped my learning for linear algebra.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 526 revisiones para Matrix Algebra for Engineers

por vwslz

Apr 08, 2020

Very well explained linear matrix algebra. Detailed procedure and hand by hand example. I took this course to pick up what I have learned before. The informative outline of this course not only helps me recall, but also reconstruct my system of matrix algebra. It could be better if more examples of matrix projection. I had a hard time and went through the materials again. Thanks again for providing this amazing course.

por Imonikhe D O

Jun 24, 2020

This is the first time I have attended a class in this format, and wondered how effective it would be. It was very effective, and therefore I would definitely be interested in attending other classes in the same format. The instructor was very knowledgeable and provided a wealth of information about this course I am grateful for all i have learnt so far and i say a big thank you to the Instructor, God bless you Sir.

por H D

Sep 11, 2020

I'm an economist, not an engineer and I found this course very good. Bitesized videos and good accompanying materials make each lesson easily digestible, The videos are delivered very clearly and are focused on a clear learning outcome. The course omits the heavy proofs in linear algebra. I have read a couple of linear algebra text books and found this course helped to make everything clearer and more intuitive.

por Silas B d S

Sep 12, 2020

192/5000

Excellent course, excellent teacher with excellent material available for free. If you are a student of any engineering or computing, I sincerely advise you to take this course.

I can't believe it is already over. Thank you very much, prof. Chesnov. You may not know, but this course's made a very big impact in my academic life. Now, I'll take your other courses. Please, keep doing this great work!

por Aviva L

Jun 21, 2020

This course is well designed, I enjoyed the first week's readiness a lot. It makes rethink some very important concepts in linear algebra without dig into a single question too deep as a pure math course. And I hope there will be more well-designed reading material to help to understand and practice all the contents especially in week 3,4 during which I almost begin to forget what I learned before.

por Joel C

Apr 28, 2020

Excellent course! I took this course because I was having trouble with my Linear Algebra course from University, it was exactly what I was looking for. My U teachers were so bad at teaching that I got stuck on all the abstract concepts, got so confused and started hating such a beautiful subject as Matrix Algebra. Thanks Jeff Chasnov!! Undoubtedly one of the best teachers I've ever had in my life.

por Yasoda S K

May 28, 2020

Good course, which explains what are all methods Engineers need in detail. The course textbook provided is very useful throughout the course. The only problem with this course is mathematical way of handling i.e., Instructor doesn't discuss much of the intuition behind topics. I really enjoy the practice and graded exercises. Again thanks to the Instructor for providing excellent lecture notes.

por Grant C

May 30, 2020

Loved Dr. Chasnov's lectures. Very well-organized, succinct and clear. The Lightboard is a marvelous tool -- I had never seen one of these used before. This brief course is a fun and painless review of the highlights of linear algebra. Once you complete it, I recommend you find a source of linear algebra practice problems and solutions to hone your skills, such as one of Schaum's Outlines.

por Stephen M

Nov 15, 2018

Excellent course, thanks so much! Really like the fact that the videos were backed by a comprehensive set lecture notes with problems AND solutions, including some proofs. This made consuming the concepts much easier. All in all a lot to swallow in this course, but great to get acquainted again (20+ years) with this subject matter. You have an excellent manner of teaching, Jeff. Thank you!

por Alexa M

Apr 26, 2020

Really enjoyed prof Chasnov's enthusiasm. Videos + notes + practice questions really helped solidify the material. I've never taken linear algebra before so I found some topics more challenging than others but overall it was a really interesting and educating course. Would absolutely recommend to someone who needs linear algebra as a prerequisite or who is just interested in learning.

por David M B

Jul 02, 2020

The course was informative and succinct. Jeff presents the material well with a clear path toward the concept in each module. There is exceptional use of lightboard without too much information per video. Exercises and quizzes test the material that is taught. The course teaches the general concepts and does not dwell too deep into theoretical or abstract ideas and proofs.

por Niomi A

Jul 31, 2020

This course was excellent. Clearly explained and easy to follow. Relatively short videos with one idea in each, problems, and regular quizzes to check your progress. I was looking for a chance to review some of the mathematics that I completed a university many moons ago and this provided clear and easy to follow materials that should accessible to most. Great work!

por Duc V K T

Dec 30, 2018

This was an interesting course, and I learned a lot about matrix algebra. I also took another course of him, which is Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio. This is the second course of professor Jeffrey Chasnov that I took, and I really like both of his courses. I hope that professor Jeffrey Chasnov will create some more interesting math courses in the future.

por Kalpana G

Oct 05, 2020

This is such a great course. I have learned a lot. Course is excellent. Exercises are very good for practice and for clearing concepts. Exams covered all topics properly. Thanks for making such a wonderful course. Highly recommended. Clear and concise. Just the right amount delivered in a lucid, clear style. Look out for Jeff's other courses.

por Dr. N D

May 31, 2020

The professor Jeffrey R. Chasnov is very nice in teaching. He provided the best examples and applications for the concepts. He has nicely designed course with proper distribution of practice examples. He has explained the methods in easiest possible way and also taken the examples in the same way. Thank you professor Jeffrey R. Chasnov.

por Blas G

Sep 06, 2020

Amazing course taught by a professor who was genuinely interested in explaining the material. Loved the teaching technique, and the whole structure of the course. I highly recommend this course to anybody looking to sharpen up their matrix algebra skills. I took it as a refresher before staring my MSc in Mechanical Engineering

por Dhanada M

Apr 01, 2019

It was a wonderful course and helped me great deal to refresh my fundamental ideas about Vector Algebra. The course is very well designed and paced very well with interesting practice quizzes. I thoroughly enjoyed taking the course and would strongly recommend it for both new and advanced learners of the subject. Thank you.

por Lars O

Sep 15, 2020

Professor Chasnov is an excellent teacher. His lectures are clear and concise and all examples and problems are very helpful. I look forward to taking his vector calculus course and I would like to see him put together a complex variables analysis course for us. I'm sure it would be a comparably excellent course.

por Timur C

Jun 04, 2020

I took this course as a refresher for my final year. Linear algebra wasn't my favorite subject in my freshman year since it involved a lot of tedious calculation but this course was light on me. Concept-oriented lessons with simple problems and challenging but not over the top quizzes. Thank you Prof. Chasnov !

por Chaitali S

May 27, 2020

This is an excellent course for engineers to begin with fundamental matrix algebra. The practice questions are an excellent addition to improve the understanding of the course. The 'chalk and board' method makes it easy to understand the progression of thought and makes the teaching move at a comfortable pace.

por Stanislaw S

Apr 04, 2020

Hi Prof. Chasnov, I am a retired engineer and it was my great pleasure to follow your course. Although I did not do any tests I tried to understand the material you taught. I must say I liked enormously the way you teach, very clear and understandable.

I wish you all the best,

Stanislaw Swiatkowski

por Dr. A K

May 18, 2020

I want say about you Prof Jeffrey . You are great teacher and i really learned a lot from you. I also want say thanks to The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. If you have more courses then i want to learn from you in your other courses.

Again thanks alot

Best Regards

Dr. Adnan Khan

por BALINGIT, J F (

Mar 23, 2020

This online platform learning makes me learn the lessons easily. I can easily review again if I make mistakes/ got the wrong answer to the test. But the most exciting part is the moment that the instructor wrote. I love how dedicated he is, and that clear board makes me want it too. Thank you!

por beryl s

Sep 08, 2019

As a college math teacher, it was refreshing and a challenge at times. I was able to re-watch parts of the videos to get the notes that I missed writing. Since I didn't have access to the solutions to the problems, I had to check all of my answers to make sure that my results were correct.