Chevron Left
Volver a Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models por parte de Universidad de California en Santa Cruz

4.8
247 calificaciones
68 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This is the second of a two-course sequence introducing the fundamentals of Bayesian statistics. It builds on the course Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis, which introduces Bayesian methods through use of simple conjugate models. Real-world data often require more sophisticated models to reach realistic conclusions. This course aims to expand our “Bayesian toolbox” with more general models, and computational techniques to fit them. In particular, we will introduce Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) methods, which allow sampling from posterior distributions that have no analytical solution. We will use the open-source, freely available software R (some experience is assumed, e.g., completing the previous course in R) and JAGS (no experience required). We will learn how to construct, fit, assess, and compare Bayesian statistical models to answer scientific questions involving continuous, binary, and count data. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development, explanations of the statistical modeling process, and a few basic modeling techniques commonly used by statisticians. Computer demonstrations provide concrete, practical walkthroughs. Completion of this course will give you access to a wide range of Bayesian analytical tools, customizable to your data....

Principales revisiones

JH

Nov 01, 2017

This course is excellent! The material is very very interesting, the videos are of high quality and the quizzes and project really helps you getting it together. I really enjoyed it!!!

B

Jul 08, 2018

This is a great course for an introduction to Bayesian Statistics class. Prior knowledge of the use of R can be very helpful. Thanks for such a wonderful course!!!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 68 revisiones para Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models

por Brian K

Apr 01, 2019

Excellent course! This covered a large amount of material, but it was well organized, with a good number of problems to solve. Matthew Heiner does an excellent job with the lectures and explains things well. Coming from the frequentist worldview, I found this course to be a definite challenge, but well worth the time.

por Jonathan

Jan 01, 2019

Just finishing this class now......it is very good. Much better than the first one in this series. The videos and examples are better explained, and you leave with a solid understanding of Bayesian Analysis. When I signed up for this class I really wanted to know how I could use tools like MCMC to perform real analysis, and I feel like I got what I signed up for. Well done!

por Arnaud D

Dec 08, 2018

Really interesting course. The coding session are useful and can be use cases for lots of various situations.

por Hugo R C R

Jun 19, 2018

Brilliant course! Very well organized and with useful study cases.Suggestion: It would be nice to have the same examples in Python using, e.g. Stan or PyMC.

por Seema K

Nov 17, 2019

One of the best designed courses. The material and videos are very precise and informative. The quiz questions and assignment are very enjoyable. Thank you !

por Georgy M

Apr 01, 2019

The second course of the great series. The knowledge and skills gained in this course allow to actually do statistical analysis on scientific data. The course is very clear, systematic and well presented. Thank you!

por zhen w

Jul 28, 2017

really like the content.

the R material in this actually changes my view towards R, so thanks.

por Eugene B

Jun 26, 2019

The course provided a lot of very helpful tools. However, I believe it was a bit too fast paced. Furthermore, there were certain topics which were not explained clearly -- for example, the discussion of the Metropolis-Hastings Algorithm and Gibbs Sampling was extremely confusing.

por Yahia E G

Jun 06, 2019

Really good intermediate introduction to bayesian analysis. I really liked how hands-on the course is. The last project was very useful as one will likely to face challenges and try to solve them especially if you use a rich dataset.

por Chiu W K

Jul 29, 2017

Informative but the pace is slow

por Sandra M

May 14, 2018

Good course, but the peer review process for the Capstone project in Week 5 is broken. Based on submissions to the course Forum in which multiple students have submitted their work on time but not received a grade due to lack of peer reviewers, this has been going on .

por Sathish R

May 21, 2018

This course is taught in a way that not useful for real world applications.

por Jiasun

Jul 20, 2019

Not enough depth.

por Wangtx

Dec 11, 2018

Great materials and well organized lecture structure. But in the meanwhile, it requires quite a lot preliminary knowledge.

por Juan C

Jan 29, 2019

Muy recomendable para los investigadores y profesionales que quieren desarrollar productos y procesos nuevos.

por Ahmed M

Nov 12, 2018

If you want to become good in modelling it is recommended to enrol.

por Stephen H

Mar 18, 2019

Fairly good introduction to basic Bayesian statistical models and JAGS, the package to fit those models.

por Hsiaoyi H

Jul 31, 2018

Great course to learn both theories and techniques!

por Nicholas W T

Sep 06, 2018

Very thorough instruction. Excellent feedback and support on forums.

por Ilia S

Sep 24, 2018

I found this course very interesting and informative.

por Dongliang Y

Sep 30, 2018

Great class.

por Vladimir Y

Nov 11, 2017

The course requires good understanding of Bayesian methods and linear modelling, something that is covered in previous course of this track from University of California Santa Cruz.

All quizes are quite easy to complete after watching the videos, but don't be fooled by this apparent simplicity - there is much more to the class than just that.

Capstone project is challenging and does put to test all of the topic discussed in class,

discussion forums are very helpful and also are extremely interesting to read.

I can strongly recommend this class to anyone who is interested in Bayesian Methods.

I've seen quite a few of similar classes on Coursera, but this one is the best, in my opinion, but also is the hardest one.

Do not miss out on Honors track, recommended supplementary reading and Capstone - those are the gems.

por nicole s

Nov 07, 2017

A great course, very detailed and a very good instructor!

por Michael B R

Dec 29, 2017

Great course!

por Víthor R F

Apr 10, 2018

Very cool, probably the best course I've done in Coursera. Keep rocking! :)