Chevron Left
Volver a Meaningful Marketing Insights

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Meaningful Marketing Insights por parte de Universidad Emory

4.4
124 calificaciones
26 Revisiones

Acerca del Curso

With marketers are poised to be the largest users of data within the organization, there is a need to make sense of the variety of consumer data that the organization collects. Surveys, transaction histories and billing records can all provide insight into consumers’ future behavior, provided that they are interpreted correctly. In Introduction to Marketing Analytics, we introduce the tools that learners will need to convert raw data into marketing insights. The included exercises are conducted using Microsoft Excel, ensuring that learners will have the tools they need to extract information from the data available to them. The course provides learners with exposure to essential tools including exploratory data analysis, as well as regression methods that can be used to investigate the impact of marketing activity on aggregate data (e.g., sales) and on individual-level choice data (e.g., brand choices). To successfully complete the assignments in this course, you will require Microsoft Excel. If you do not have Excel, you can download a free 30-day trial here: https://products.office.com/en-us/try...

Principales revisiones

HK

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent course! Very hands on with right level of theory and application. Prof. Schweidel is obviously an expert in this field.

JD

Aug 29, 2017

This course went in depth into some excel functions used for analyzing sales and marketing data, really thought it was useful.

Filtrar por:

1 - 24 de 24 revisiones para Meaningful Marketing Insights

por Waseem B

Mar 28, 2017

As someone with a very limited background in statistics, I found the course jumped very quickly from basics to extremely complicated statistical modeling with all the jargon that comes with it. So either the course description didn't provide enough information for a non-statistician to realize it will get very complex, or the language and explanations should have been simplified/more descriptive for the audience.

por Christian K

May 25, 2018

There's barely enough content or involvement, here, to qualify this as a course. The video lessons drill in on incredibly simple concepts while breezing right over complex terms, formulas, and practical knowledge which is then tested. There are very few reference documents. There are no ways to cross-reference our methodology/problem solving in excel.

To top it all off, the 'teacher' and assistants are completely non-existent. Any questions posed in the last 3-4 years have gone completely unanswered.

To say I'm disappointed is an understatement.

por Elizabeth H

Apr 22, 2019

Course description did not include information that you needed an economics / statistics background. The principals and mathematics being taught in the 3rd and 4th week of the first segment were advanced economics equations.

As a student, I was expected to infer meaning from advanced formulas and apply those to future quiz questions using critical thinking. There was a major gap of information involved. Additionally, quiz questions were not always related to the course materials taught. As indicated by a mentor- I was expected to do a lot of Google sleuthing on my own. Combined with questions that were vague and interpretative, I let this course go. Unfortunately, if the question surrounding the data can have several outcomes based the user interpretation of that question, it's not a great question.

When there is a large gap in education and no prep or indication that the material will cover that information it makes for an extremely disappointing class experience.

I've been in marketing for 12 years in a Creative Director / Executive Creative Director position. I'm here to brush up my analytics skills to prepare for a promotion. The title and description sounded perfect- but this is not a career boosting class.

Regression modeling formulas have never once passed my desk, nor has it passed the desks of my friends who are Analytics Experts, Directors of Marketing, VPs of Marketing. Instead, I got jokes from them about driving to Emory and shouting for a student to perform one or two math problems, freelance style, to use in their report to satisfy one small aspect that was needed in their excel sheets.

Them saying that clicked with me and helped me realize this was not the course I was expecting it to be nor was it what I needed to brush up with for a promotion. This type of class is perfect for a Data Scientist that works in a Marketing Department who wants an active, hands-on experience brushing up on their data and formulas for excel. Atleast in the first segment of the course. I cannot comment on any of the following.

Best of luck to all who take it. Hopefully this review helps you choose what is best for you.

por David W

Nov 01, 2018

Really enjoyed the class. I like that the examples and data files were on topics that someone in marketing might use in their daily work.

Only suggestion would be to update the readings, Most of them were at least two years old.

por Arjun S

Oct 19, 2018

an excellent start to marketing analytics

por Monique S

Aug 21, 2018

Helpful, practical assignments and tutorials.

por Mahdi T C

Jul 13, 2018

love this course

por Sejan R C

Jul 12, 2018

I love this course.

por Melanie M

Nov 12, 2017

The last 2 video lectures: Customer Valuation Excel Demonstration and Inventory Management Excel Demonstrationm were very well explained and taught me something new and useful.

por Steve Y

Sep 05, 2017

I wish solutions for probabilities related questions were very detailed, for people who are still learning statistics, or forgot.

por Juliana D

Aug 29, 2017

This course went in depth into some excel functions used for analyzing sales and marketing data, really thought it was useful.

por Elena W

Aug 23, 2017

This course provided practical hands-on approach to understanding basics of marketing forecasting.

por Simon P d G

Jul 29, 2017

the course is just not a course, it's a learn by yourself

por Essam A G

Jul 18, 2017

The instructor does not explain in detail esp. math formulas and I have to go to YouTube to get extra info. I have almost got all the info from external YouTube videos . The istructor is almost giving headlines and is extremely giving a brief summary of the topics

por Christine M

Jun 24, 2017

I would have liked more discussion of theory behind what the formulas were and, actually, using slicers for data so that clients couldn't "break" the file unintentionally. Otherwise, it was a good basic course, a little too dependent on showing Excel rather than saying why something worked (IF clauses are a good example here, cutting and pasting formulas is not as helpful to my personal learning style as just explaining the rationale behind them.)

por Jairo J N P

Jun 13, 2017

Great content. The hands-on approach and the use of actual tools with basic software are just great.

por S. J D I

May 09, 2017

Very interesting course with lots of career pertinent information and learning.

por Steffen M

Mar 13, 2017

Great content and examples. Sometimes, the theoretical background could be explained more comprehensively in the lectures.

por Harish K

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent course! Very hands on with right level of theory and application. Prof. Schweidel is obviously an expert in this field.

por Isabelle P

Dec 22, 2016

Some notions introduced too fast and with little explanations. Overall very interesting and applicable.

por Aloka G

Dec 03, 2016

This course is a must for anyone who is serious about learning about data driven marketing and gleaning practical insights.

por John

Nov 25, 2016

Good learning experience

por Moayyad A Y

Nov 04, 2016

content is great and direct to the point. But 2 disappointing factors could have been avoided to make this course perfect

1- sound is almost in one ear which can make you feel dizzy if you are using headset.

2- instructor is reading everything like a robot. Very fast , no passion or whatsoever.

I guess 3 stars is fair enough.

por Darya Y

Oct 21, 2016

The content is extremely valuable and was delivered in a very good way fully engaging the learners!

One thing I would improve in future is the time assessment for the assignments and reading - some took me way longer than suggested and others way shorter. In addition it would be nice to have the workload distributed eavenly along the weeks not pushing the most timeconsuming assignments to the last stage.