Chevron Left
Volver a Measuring Disease in Epidemiology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Measuring Disease in Epidemiology por parte de Imperial College London

4.7
estrellas
622 calificaciones
132 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Epidemiological research is ubiquitous. Even if you don’t realise it, you come across epidemiological studies and the impact of their findings every single day. You have probably heard that obesity is increasing in high income countries or that malaria is killing millions of people in low income countries. It is common knowledge that smoking causes cancer and that physical activity is protective against heart disease. These facts may seem obvious today, but it took decades of epidemiological research to produce the necessary evidence. In this course, you will learn the fundamental tools of epidemiology which are essential to conduct such studies, starting with the measures used to describe the frequency of a disease or health-related condition. You will also learn how to quantify the strength of an association and discuss the distinction between association and causation. In the second half of the course, you will use this knowledge to describe different strategies for prevention, identify strengths and weaknesses of diagnostic tests and consider when a screening programme is appropriate....

Principales reseñas

HV

6 de ago. de 2020

This was a phenomenal learning experience, the hands-on approach made it feel always relevant, the instructor was brilliant and the materials were always suited to my learning expectations.

JV

11 de oct. de 2019

The develop of this course was amazing,. There were some difficults but in my opinion, the Lecturers were so clear in general giving us the information. It was a great experience for me.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 133 revisiones para Measuring Disease in Epidemiology

por Teresa C G

3 de oct. de 2021

Excellent course!

por simisola a

14 de nov. de 2019

Very informative

por RENE C M

23 de mar. de 2021

excelente curso

por Laura L G G

31 de ene. de 2022

very helpfull

por Kendra E

27 de feb. de 2022

Pretty good

por Jefferson A G V

26 de oct. de 2020

fantastic

por Avana P

27 de jul. de 2019

very good

por karlenys t

28 de mar. de 2022

Love it

por John Y

17 de dic. de 2019

I

por Adele L

24 de ago. de 2019

F

por Michael S

1 de ago. de 2020

For those completely new to epidemiology or those that English is not their mother tongue, the terminology and associated synonyms may be challenging. I went back many times, reviewing previous lectures to insure that I had a good grasp of the terminology. This enabled me to fully incorporate "academic' epidemiology into real-world epidemiology. Each medical discipline has it's own unique terminology such as prevalence = risk, but to a "new" student in epidemiology using prevalence in one context and then risk is a similar but different context could be challenging. I would certainly suggests using Gordis's text in epidemiology, which I dusted off from my years ago as a student..

por Kate D

23 de sep. de 2019

This course was helpful and informative. However, the structure of the quizzes, particularly how specifically correct the answers have to be entered was extremely frustrating. I highly recommend making all quiz questions multiple choice going forward. Additionally, there were a few times throughout the course when the instructor would audibly describe a formula or calculation but not visibly display it. Visually displaying all math calculations done in the lecture would help me learn it much easier.

por John C E J

15 de jul. de 2020

The information is presented in an understandable manner, however, there is a great deal of frustration when taking the quizzes and tests due to how the system reads your answers. Overall, I enjoyed the topic and the instructors and would still recommend the course those interested in epidemiology.

por Susana V L

10 de sep. de 2021

Easy to follow and very well explained. Videos are of high quality and short enough to squeeze into the day. Main criticism: the quizzes over index on metric calculations rather than metric choice and interpretation.

por mohamed g

30 de sep. de 2019

The couse is excellent but the quizzes answers should be multiple choices not open answer and after passing the quizzust provide us with the right answers of the wrong answered one

por Mohd. A H

9 de jul. de 2020

Great course that builds up concepts gradually and really respects your time. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a gentle introduction to some basic epidemiological concepts

por Isabel

15 de ene. de 2022

G​ood overview on basic epidemiological statistics that are also taught in med school - very comprehensible recap for me, thanks!

por Adeela A

23 de may. de 2020

I love the course. However, I wish that instructor had a bit more clarity of materials when providing information!

por Maria J C P

14 de mar. de 2021

siento que le faltaria deporto unos talleres de práctica pero por lo demás me pareció muy concreto y practico!

por Yanhua X

1 de oct. de 2019

Very clear explanation of the measurement concepts, using intuitive examples.

por Ivan K

19 de nov. de 2019

it was wonderful, the exams were brain-stimulating

por Gisele R

19 de dic. de 2019

It was challenging but a good experience.

por Tim R

9 de jul. de 2019

Very clear, lots of exercises

por Raluca B

6 de mar. de 2020

I had quite high expectations from this cours and ICL. The course is a basic introduction to epidemiology, good for understanding basic concepts. If offered in the future, I hope the organisers will improve on the following: (1) focus more on interpretation of various frequency and measures of association. I believe this was not stressed enough and it is paramount. More practical examples in the lectures. Ensure the quizzes have the correct solution in the quiz feedback, sometimes it is not present. On week 4, the last quiz, question 17 does not correctly record the correct answer. Also, in terms of terminology, I found it limiting to speak only in terms of "disease", as opposed to "outcome", since epidemiology doesn't only deals with disease, but rather outcomes of interest which can also be positive (i.e. survival, etc)

por Kelly H

7 de dic. de 2021

I enjoyed the course content. I found the questions challenging and would like to see more sample questions to practice prior to the unit quiz. I found some of the questions in the quiz for each chapter were not clearly demonstrated in the video and were very challenging to understand. A work book for practice include steps on how to get to the answers if not achievable by the student.