Chevron Left
Volver a Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.3
estrellas
78 calificaciones
37 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

The blank page can be the most daunting obstacle in writing. In this course, aspiring writers will assemble a “starter kit” for approaching the blank page by developing constructive ways to think about the writing process as a whole. While subsequent courses in this series will focus on the mechanics of good writing, this course offers ways to think about the writer’s relationship to her material, and ultimately develop a writing style that is uniquely her own....

Principales revisiones

SL

Aug 05, 2019

The information was given in such a way that I found myself re-thinking all of the stories I've written, wanting to explore other options and re-write from a clearer perspective. Truly valuable.

RG

Sep 24, 2019

Very practical videos, short but instructive. Nice assignments, although the instructions weren't always clear.\n\nI really liked the teacher, and I loved the content.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 38 revisiones para Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader

por Ruth L G

Apr 20, 2019

I loved the challenge of writing BUT I received one feedback apiece on only my 1st and 3rd assignment. I reviewed 3 assignments from others for all of the assignments. They were minimal. Maybe you should guide us what we say to other writers.

por Peter C

Jan 04, 2020

I felt that sometimes the instructions for the assignments were not clear, or if they were clear, what was being requested was rather trivial and elementary. Perhaps that was what made it hard to review one's peers. I was rather disappointed that the number of peer reviews, and their depth and content, were so minimal. I was diligent in reviewing others' - ranging from a minimum of 6 to a max of 13 reviews per assignment, over the four weeks. Yet most of the time I only had one, and occasionally two, people make any comments in the peer review. I may well have misunderstood what was being asked. So many of the contributions were of a low standard in grammar and sentence structure, even if the situations they were describing were full of interest and life. They wouldn't have passed a 5th grade teacher. Having said that, the video presentations by the professor were very engaging and I enjoyed thinking about the points he made.

por eileen p

Aug 18, 2019

The instructor was excellent, clearly and patiently explaining key concepts; and the assignments were useful to make me think about the writing.

I am not a writer and my enjoyment and appreciation of writing have grown significantly. Thank you!

por Colin P

Jun 06, 2019

I enjoyed doing the course. Some of the ideas I gathered doing it were very exciting. However, I was very disappointed in terms of feedback. I received one bit of feedback over the whole course. Also, there was nobody to contact if and when you came across problems. For instance, I was forced to review the same essay twice simply because I couldn't get hold of anyone to rectify the problem. There will always be problems so, it is important that there is someone to deal with them. This is not acceptable.

por Austine C

Aug 20, 2019

I enjoyed the course, the lectures and the incentive to write. But I was very disappointed that I did not get enough reviews of one of my assignments. I hope there will be more reviews so I can get a grade. I don't understand the deadline system. People seem to be enrolling willy nilly.

por Elaine D d S

Jul 08, 2019

I would prefer to have a teacher's review of my material.

por Alicia W

May 31, 2020

Loved the course. The assignments were enough of a challenge and very manageable. I loved that the videos have transcripts because I am hearing impaired. I found that the majority of my peers gave good, helpful and encouraging reviews. I would have preferred a more personal sharing from the instructor at some point.

por Alexandria S

May 02, 2020

I thought this class was very well structured and that Greg Pardlo was relatable and on point. I have listened to the lecture segments repeatedly, and I continue to learn from them. The assignments, especially the one relating your life to historical trends and events, are enlightening.

por Jean-Pierre C

Apr 29, 2020

I have learnt a lot. More importantly, this course has unlocked my ability to think reflectively and to better structure the narrative. Sounds weird now but I never thought about the reader before with this level of respect. I genuinely think it has changed my approach.

por June W

Feb 25, 2019

I audited this course to brush up on my personal essay skills. I think that's something every blogger and writer, like myself, should do periodically. I enjoyed the course and I think I'll enjoy the rest of the specialization just as well.

por Pongitte

Jun 02, 2020

Professor Pardlo is fantastic. His video clips are effective for getting participants to consider the various aspects of memoir writing. Excellent and appropriate use of examples to make his points. I only audited but would recommend.

por Jon K

May 16, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I was my first course ever done online and the pace and topics were great. I would've liked more input from the instructor on my work, but it's probably not a suitable venue for that.

Thanks again.

por Margaret M J

Oct 19, 2019

Key concepts in crafting memoir are presented, explained, and followed up with dynamite exercises. I found this course extremely useful in my efforts to structure and craft a memoir of my long work history.

por Susan L

Aug 05, 2019

The information was given in such a way that I found myself re-thinking all of the stories I've written, wanting to explore other options and re-write from a clearer perspective. Truly valuable.

por Edeltraud V

Aug 23, 2019

Just started today and finished already teh first week...fantastic ...well spoken, well informed, easy to understand from someone english is a second language. Look forward to the next weeks.

por Roxana G

Sep 24, 2019

Very practical videos, short but instructive. Nice assignments, although the instructions weren't always clear.

I really liked the teacher, and I loved the content.

por Bibek A

May 04, 2020

Fantastic. I learned so much about writing about myself and the people around me. Greg is a wonderful mentor. Truly enjoyed and learned a lot. Thanks, Coursera.

por Irene G

Jun 01, 2020

I am an experienced writer. I enjoyed the videos and assignments. I felt that I learned some new skills and different ways of evaluating my writing.

por Paulo B

Jan 27, 2020

The course widened my perspective of the memoir genre and helped me get the tools to accept the challenge of writing.

por Tom B

Dec 07, 2019

This was really a fun course. I feel much more confident that I can write an interesting memoir!

por Filia G

Dec 18, 2019

Greg Pardlo instills the learner with the insight needed to prompt the writer in you!

por ANSARI S A

Nov 06, 2019

Greg Pardio has imparted valuable information. The pace and delivery style is great.

por Emerson M A

Dec 12, 2019

I learned a lot, thank you!

Looking forward to keeping learning!

por Denise M

Jun 17, 2019

I enjoyed the prompt activities and the use of new terminology.

por David J M

Dec 29, 2019

Great course. The writing exercises were excellent.