Chevron Left
Volver a Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential por parte de Universidad McMaster

4.8
estrellas
10,802 calificaciones
3,146 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Principales reseñas

SM
21 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

EC
26 de ago. de 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I am 64-years-old and this course taught me that you can learn anything new no matter what age you are. I am now broadening my passions and learning is a lot more fun.

Filtrar por:

3076 - 3100 de 3,128 revisiones para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Chris L

25 de jun. de 2020

OK, felt like Learning to Learn (btw excellent course) rehash. I felt this course was a bit muddled, was trying to ascertain what their focus was, career prep? paradigm shifts? epiphanies? learning and studying habits? neurology? Some good points, like the value of being open to learning skills that are completely out of your area of supposed expertise and having a growth mindset, but I felt the presentation lacked focus and didn't translate their background reference material (which was great to read in my own time)

por Lee Y J

23 de ago. de 2020

A fairly good primer for anyone who wants to get started with MOOCs and online courses. I assume that the materials and videos are recorded in 2016, but there are some of the stuff taught that may have been outdated such as the Pomodoro Technique.

My grips with this course is that a lot of the lectures and explanations are too shallow and vague for the students who expected in-depth learning. I feel like this is more of a motivational courses akin to reading a self-help book if anything.

por Rachel H

29 de ene. de 2021

Pretty good, although not awesome. I took the previous course, Learning How to Learn, which covered a lot of the same material and with more depth than this Mindshift course. However, this course did have some additional info I found helpful and although they didn't have as many interviews, the ones they included tended to be more beneficial and interesting in my opinion.Also, the editing and video style and animations were much more advanced and modern than Learning How to Learn.

por maria

6 de mar. de 2019

Overall the course itself was good. However I do have a problem with the assignments/discussions obligating you to be personal with a bunch of strangers. I understand that it helps, but not everyone likes talking or discussing their personal goals, values, life, plans, past, etc. I found it very difficult to partake in those assignments/discussions. However that is just my personality (which is why I gave it a lower rating). Sorry.

por Esther A

11 de may. de 2017

the delivery was well done just as in learning how to learn, my 3 star rating is only based on some points i don't fully agree with. Nevertheless it gives good insight for those considering a mindshift and those who didn't know it is possible to mindshift. Thank you to my both professors!! Job well done again.

por Ashish K

6 de abr. de 2020

Some concepts were really nice like importance of being slow learner,diffused/focused learning but other then that ,most of the things we regularly hear from our seniors like importance of mentor,reading books,defining goals etc.I expected something more out of this course.

por Rachelle F

23 de oct. de 2020

Not nearly as good or informative as the previous course, Learning to Learn. Too vague, barely touches on the subjects I was hoping to receive more insight on such as career change and anything applicable to learning at a later age.

por Lerrick S

12 de jun. de 2017

This course was useful. I felt that this should rather have been an update to the course Learning how to learn instead of being a separate course. I would recommend that this be completed only after doing Learning how to learn.

por Lucy S

6 de ene. de 2021

I really liked the first couple of weeks of this course, but weeks 3 and 4 were not all that interesting or informative. I found the precursor to this MOOC, learning how to learn, more engaging overall.

por Madhurima C

15 de jun. de 2020

Interesting new psychological concepts that can help one learn their respective subjects better . But this is not a course where you get a new skill . It is for self improvement and development.

por AMALIO T D A N

29 de jul. de 2019

Precisava ensinar mais sobre técnicas importantes para manter o foco e o aprendizado. Aqui nesse curso explica mais como funciona o processo de aprendizado mostrando como o cérebro age e etc.

por Ashanna B

15 de nov. de 2019

It's not a bad class, but it doesn't cover many new topics. Most people would be better served by taking the Learning How To Learn course, which I found to be far superior.

por Pınar P S

17 de dic. de 2017

I love their "Learn how to Learn" course, and I learned a lot. But his course for me full of repetition. Probably if I had taken this course alone I can give higher rates.

por Vilasna P

11 de may. de 2017

Limited new materials from Learning how to learn. It's more like a self-help series than an educational course. Might be useful for those needing encouragement.

por Mário M M

14 de may. de 2017

Simpler then the previous one. Sometimes to simpler. Not enough new thoughts or approaches. But Bar's dedication is commendable and the memory tips are welcome

por Mathias K

10 de feb. de 2020

Too much focus on individual stories and not enough focus on research or strategies. Not as good as learning how to learn but still good. Would recommend.

por Almaz K

21 de oct. de 2018

I put three stars because on Nelson Dellis video I saw actor Borat which shows our country in bad position. That's why I put three stars.

por Renzo M C D

4 de abr. de 2020

It relates to preparing an alternative career path. A great course for those who are looking for tips and advice for a second skill.

por Arun B N

15 de oct. de 2019

Not as fantastic as "Learning how to learn"(which was a 5 star course in my review) but still a good follow-up to that course.

por Uyen H

20 de may. de 2020

It's cool but probably I already understood all this thing so I didn't really want to take my time to finish the whole course

por Mostafa Y

6 de may. de 2017

Thank you for such great course , can't wait for the productivity 101 MOOC that you mentioned in one of your videos .

por Sadie M

27 de ene. de 2018

personally little boring when the professor was talking about making the video, but overall it was okay.

por saurav l

19 de may. de 2020

i have completed the course with honors and its just showing me normal certificate. that is sad for me.

por khushboo D

30 de may. de 2020

Could you please help me unenroll from this course .

I am not getting an option from my side to do so.

por Zeph C

27 de ago. de 2017

The material is pretty useful. But I found the video a bit too distracting with too much effects.