Chevron Left
Volver a Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential por parte de Universidad McMaster

4.8
estrellas
10,795 calificaciones
3,145 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Principales reseñas

LV
30 de abr. de 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

SM
21 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed this MOOC. It is very well-done and clearly covers the topics of mindshifting along with career advancement. Also--good illustrations and visuals/sounds which assist in the learning process.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 3,124 revisiones para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Alexandre G

14 de abr. de 2018

This course and Barbara Oakleys previous MOOC (Learning How to Learn) give a great foundation to life long learning, which I see as essential for long term success in life. Many of the little topics you may have come across in previous learning or unintentionally already integrated in the way you learn but overall it's a great concise course, with good enough repetition and visual analogies to help keep the knowledge for extended periods. Is also very reasonable to do this course at double speed and not lose anything. Overall, worth doing the two courses she has made as some of your first MOOCs as the skill and knowledge of learning will compound as you use it in other aspects of life.

por Divya H

25 de may. de 2020

I had a lot of troubling finding time to complete the online courses that I was taking and I would get distracted and didnt manage to complete any of them. I was looking at tips to overcome this habit and I happened to come across this course. I am really happy that I came across it and this has been the first course that I actually managed to complete. The instructors are really very lively and they provide the content in a really fun way. I was actually addicted to the course and I went through 3 weeks worth material over one weekend. I am guilty of overdoing it but I enjoyed it very much. I would suggest people take this course before they embark on taking up more intensive courses

por Sethpani A N H

25 de jul. de 2020

Took this course after taking their previous MOOC on Learning. Some concepts overlapped but more concepts were included in this course, specifically relating to career shifts. This course suited me even more than the previous one being a mid-career learner. Particularly liked the section on overcoming negative feelings and slumps in the journey of mastery learning, as I was going through such a phase myself. The course also challenged the often quoted " follow your passions" slogan by contextualizing it with the available, real world opportunities. It sounded true with what I have experienced in my own life. Thank you Mindshift Team for delivering this informative and enjoyable MOOC!

por Ambiga S

24 de jun. de 2020

This Mindshift MOOC has been a wonderful learning experience for me since this is my first ever time signing up for an online course. Prior to this, I always assumed MOOC is often dull because there will be no real life interactions with the instructors or other learners. However, I come out of this course gaining a different perspective. This is just as informational, educational and fun like a real classroom with a positive gain where it has allowed me to work on the materials in my own time as well as reviewing them as often as I wished to. Will definitely recommend this course to my friends and family; especially given that the content was truly beneficial and insightful for me.

por Tom G

28 de sep. de 2017

Taking this course has taught me that it's possible to learn something outside my comfort zone. I teach music to kids and I've been thinking about other things I can do for a job, long term. After learning that the things that are tough for us are learned best, I decided to take high school algebra and geometry again, this time online. I'm doing pretty well and now I've added a course in learning how to program in Python. I wouldn't have considered taking the leap into learning math and technology without Barb's example! Further, the people she showcases in the book Mindshift are great examples of how one needn't passively accept the scripts given us. We can blaze new trails.

por Vikas D

11 de mar. de 2018

I had greatly appreciated Barb and Terry's previous MOOC - Learning How to Learn - and I equally appreciate this one as well. This one seems to me like the next level of their previous MOOC. Staying in the focused mode all the time is not helpful. Similarly, staying in a single profession for a long time in this rapidly changing world is not helpful either. We need to mindshift or switch to diffuse mode to provide creative fuel for all societies! I have gained a very enriching perspective to life from this course. And I hope to successfully apply all these learnings to my life. Wish me luck! :)

And lastly, a great thanks to both Barb and Terry for such a wonderful MOOC, again!

por Venkataraman N

24 de abr. de 2018

This is an excellent course. It was well-presented and it is easy to learn. It is not very demanding and yet can teach you a lot of useful things. You do have to make the time commitment to be an active learner. This course teaches a lot of practical skills that might be useful in the current environment. These include: (a) the importance of persistence and flexibility in learning anything new; (b) the importance of being a life-long learner; (c) challenging conventional myths about learning; (d) developing confidence to learn a new skill; (e) learning simple but effective productivity techniques; (f) learning to reflect on your own learning . I highly recommend this course.

por Viktoryia L

15 de abr. de 2020

This MOOC was a great choice to learn. The mail idea for me is "Matching passions with opportunities and broadening, not just following, my passions".

I always thought that I must choose only 1 way in my career, which was marketing. The idea was so strong that I didn't have any hobbies, I considered I couldn't afford them as they took time, and that was the time which I had to spend to improve my career skills. But that was a huge mistake, my life became inanimate. The idea of several passions gave me hope that I can succeed in several paths. And thanks to that idea I'm planning to receive a degree in Psychology as well as start learning Data analysis (Python, SQL, etc.)

por Alexander K

19 de nov. de 2019

I would highly recommend this course to take. From my own experience I can say, that while taking this course I learned a lot and got advice on how to succeed in my own career. After finishing this course I know which step to take next. You will learn very useful and ready to use methods to enhance your ability to learn new skills and to find your hidden potential. If you have always wanted to find a mentor and for some reasons haven't done it yet, you will get great advice on how to do this elegantly. This course motivates, inspires and encourages you. Many people have already done a mindshift. You can make a mindshift too and this course will show you how!

por Chowdhury K A

21 de may. de 2018

May our Lord's Blessings be on you Beloved Professor Oakley and your MOOC team. You have, in essence, invited us inside your home. Learning then became, in that ambiance, a second nature. The facility with which we interacted with the concepts put forth is testament to your insights about teaching. Every single time the "I" came out in your talk, we students were drawn into that realization -- our Professor is one of the most honest individuals we have seen in our lives. Perhaps this is serendipitous, your life and this MOOC concepts dancing to the finest music. Music to our hearts. Please continue to take care of all of us. We are honored to walk with you.

por Tung N

18 de mar. de 2020

I joined this course right after finished the " learn how to learn" course. Both of them are great and beneficial for me. It provides many new and useful tools and methodologies to improve my learning and development. It also gives me some breakthroughs and motivates me to explore new activities that I have never experience before. Key concepts are introduced in this course can help me to solve a problem I face during learning effectively and efficiently. The quality of materials is advance and very convenient. We also saw what happened behind the science and understand how the course was prepared. Thanks Barbara for dedication, passionate and humanities

por Thanh N L

2 de jul. de 2017

I have learnt a lot from this course, just like the new way in thinking and learning effectively. As a result, I get inspiration and motivation to pursue my dream. I love the way how professors sympathize our obstacles and help us feel better by analyzing and interpreting them. We know that we are not that bad and some traits considered as bad could also be our advantages. The discuss forum is an ideal place for us to express and share our stories, feeling and somehow see ourselves in some people from all over the world through their stories. Some bonus videos about memorizing are interesting, too. I really have got mindshift. Thanks a lot.

por Kaylyn L

5 de jun. de 2020

I truly enjoyed this course. It showed me other ways of looking at things that I previously thought of as weaknesses. Like learning at a slower pace is not all the time bad because being slower actually helps us learn a material deeper as to when we learn it quickly. Also, the value of poor memory but at the same time, it showed really creative ways of keeping facts in mind. The illustrations and analogies to explanations on how the brain works when learning happens gave insights on how I can help myself learn. The tips on MOOCing were also great. This course gave me great encouragement to embrace learning anything I may be interested in.

por Kevin M

9 de may. de 2020

I especially recommend this course to people who have never really researched about learning, learning techniques and how to learn better. This course will give you a good overview about how your brain works when learning new things and how you can become a better learner. It can really shift your mind, when you are new to the topic of learning. But even if you already have some knowledge about things like focused/diffused thinking, procrastination, focus techniques or the importance of reading, you still might get some new information out of this course. And you can go through it very fast, so it's definitely not a waste of time.

por Linda A B

28 de abr. de 2021

I took this course because I am going back to school and was having some anxiety, as I am middle aged, and haven't been to school in many years. However, I love reading. This course has made a huge impact already. Dr. Oakley is phenomenal. She was easy to understand, used pictures, has a sense of humor and shares her personal stories. I enjoyed the stories of her guest speakers as well. Dr. Oakley, eased my anxieties. I totally understand that school will be somewhat of a challenge, this course has made me realize my expectations of myself were too high, unrealistic. I am not as fearful of school. Thank You so Much Dr. Oakley!

por MARLINE D L

23 de jun. de 2020

YES! Definitely 5 STARS. The Course supports improvement of educational system in every part of the world, not just throughout college also for adult learners who would want to learn more.

The course mentors, DR. BARBARA OAKLEY & DR. TERRENCE SEJNOWSKI are greatly responsible for discussing all the details bit by bit, from one video to another, from start to finished very consistent in sharing the topic. The best part is, its not boring at all. I enthusiastically listen, watch and even write notes for added learnings throughout the program. I just love MOOcing!!! Learn, adjust, apply and share! Thank You for the Mindshift!

por Joshua J

25 de jun. de 2019

This course is very inspiring and helpful to anybody who are in a career rut and have been struggling how to continue their career life. This course gave me many new insights on what to do next while in a boring career for 17 years and "jump-starts" again my motivation to learn new things and not to limit myself within my job specialization. The professors were very encouraging and explained the course ideas in a very simple but effective way. I would recommend this to anybody who has a passion on learning and to anybody who want to know some new insights to get them motivated to explore new things beyond their current job.

por Ricardo S C

1 de abr. de 2019

It was very enriching to do the second course with Barbara Oakley as an instructor. After 'Learning how to learn', 'Mindshift' helped me to better comprehend the concepts presented in her first MOOC and is currently serving as an inspiration to orientate my professional career. As it is taught throughout the course, only by an active learning/active approach, it is possible to change your path (of any kind). So I intend not only to use these MOOCs, but also search for new MOOCs and books, to continue finding information, technical knowledge, concrete examples, in order to have a more pleasant and successful life and career.

por Olga G

18 de jun. de 2020

This is the second course I take created by Prof Oakley. "Learning how to learn" was a game-changer for me. I was a straight-A student during my school years but left my country and relocated after matriculating. Having to learn a new language from A, B took me some time and my attempts to study were mostly unsuccessful. 30 years later, after completing both Prof Oakley's courses, I am excited about learning again. I have enrolled in a new course and looking at upskilling and learning new disciplines. Thank you once again for making "Learning how to Learn" and "Mindshift" informative, encouraging, and very interesting.

por Laura I M G

5 de jun. de 2017

I really enjoyed this class!

It is very useful regardless of your expertise, background, or age. You can apply what you learn in every aspect of your life, and I feel that it will transform it if you follow the wise advice given in it.

I definitively recommend taking this course. It is very engaging, with multiple animations, and very valuable information. The professors have conducted a good amount of research to help you feel more secure about exploring new horizons, in terms of learning. After taking this class I feel much more motivated and I also feel a great desire to continue learning new things.

por Shonal R

23 de abr. de 2020

It has been the most wonderful MOOC journey for me. You can expect a drastic change in your mindset, your personal development, growth and you'd yearn to learn more in no time! This MOOC taught me how to broaden my passions, learn something to its fullest, little tricks, and nooks to go through with your learning and academia. The part about Career was not applicable to me, as I am still quite young and a student. Overall, this is an essential course that I would recommend everyone to take. Its a once in a lifetime opportunity to learn something so great! That too from the best of the mentors globally.

por Ong Y L

22 de sep. de 2020

A powerful course with many actionable tips and advice for a fulfilling life of learning and career (re)invention. I love how Prof Barbara cares for her learners by sharing her real-life story of stress and its health consequences, along with concrete strategies on how to manage our emotions better. Prof Terry is amazing too as a walking example of a senior adult who learns and grows: he tried his best to be animated and humorous in this MOOC, as compared to his serious persona in Learning How to Learn. Thank you, Profs Barbara and Prof Terry for another brilliant MOOC that's so relevant and timeless!

por Justyna D

27 de ago. de 2017

Great course, way more interesting than I have anticipated - helps to keep you optimistic and motivated, provides good methods for reframing your mind and changing your attitude. 'Problems' become 'challenges' and nothing is as grave as it is when you put into practice some of the 'emotion labelling methods. The course also puts emphasis on importance of lifelong learning. To sum up - great teachers, who present material in an interesting way that attracts your attention. I would recommend everyone for a start (it was also my first MOOC and I am even more encouraged to take up more of those, but do i

por Marianne E

12 de abr. de 2021

This was a fantastic course in follow up to the Learning How to Learn Course. Barb Oakley is an authentic, down to earth, passionate scholar! She was very relatable and honest in her approach and shared insights and knowledge that will change my life (even at age 51...and having 13 yrs of post secondary education! ) I thoroughly enjoyed both she and Terry,but Barbara really shaped the course and respectfully made it her "own" so to speak. I even showed some of the videos to my 16yo daughter about the "passion trap" and broadening one's passions ;) Wonderful! I will re-watch some of it in the future.

por Kieko S

13 de ago. de 2020

During this course, I can solve a lot of mysteries that happened to me but I do not find the correct reason. For example, when I took a certain lesson I thought that I perfectly understood the contents of the lesson. Few days after the lesson I could recall some part of the lesson but I did not understand that main concept of the lesson that I thought I perfectly understood. I thought that it was caused by my poor working memory. That is not true, I did not questioned me if I understand the concept of the lesson on the next day. Thank you for letting me discover such lot of mysteries in my brain.