Chevron Left
Volver a Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
819 calificaciones
195 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

Principales reseñas

JM

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

MK

Apr 08, 2020

Anyone beginner can take this course and be 100 times more understanding of information via any media while also perhaps understanding what is the best choice in some give scenario IRL.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 194 revisiones para Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age

por Jameel C

Apr 02, 2019

A very Practical and Real life skiIls course. I found this course very well structured in terms of organising the way to use the thinking tools that I discovered in the course This is a must course for everyday thinking. Also Professor Nisbett brings a very warm and engaging way to his lectures that makes you come back for more.

por Danica B

Apr 28, 2017

It's an amazing course designed to help us think better in the world we live in. I'd recommend it to everyone as a basis to start evaluating your own ways of thinking, finding the flaws and creating new ways and healthier habits when making decisions.

It's fully worth the time. Thank you for such quality content.

por Vera

Jul 17, 2017

It's really great! It's my first course I've completed so far, and I admit I just scratched the surface. I will learn more about logic and principles of making choices on my own, but this course gave me the initial spark of interest.

You should definitely consider it useful for your life!

por Harinath V

Jun 11, 2020

This is a distinguished course. Very practical, simple, and lucid. The course opens you to several new perspectives and sure to enhance your decision making. If you ever wonder, why you are hurting someone or loosing money or making poor decisions, check this course & stick to the end.

por Narita R

Jan 10, 2019

Excellent course. Everyone should know the basics of the critical thinking especially in today's world when most of our decisions are influenced by news and social media. This course gives a new perspective of thinking critically about the big and small decisions in our lives.

por Alexandre Z R

Apr 25, 2017

This course was very successful in bring to light many concepts we need to carefully understand to don't evaluate everyday problems. It's based on explanatory examples that are much more acessible to everyone that complex mathematical notations. It worth to do.

por Sharena R

Jun 11, 2017

Thanks, Dr. Nisbett! This was my first Coursera course, and I am happy that I came across it when I was planning on reading the book "Mindware" anyway. I enjoyed the book very much and took this course as a companion to the book, rather than vice versa.

por Deepali D

Apr 23, 2020

Extremely insightful with great examples and applicability in daily life. Special take away for me is the statistics on mean and deviation from the mean and probability also the standard 2 *2 table to best judge based on data available.

por Arya D

Apr 09, 2020

The course and the instructor is really amazing. The knowledge gained through this course can be applied to academic as well as personal life which is very impressive about this course. Thank you Mr. Richard Nisbett!

por Aravindh C

Sep 27, 2018

Stick through the entire course and you'll definitely be better at making decisions. The first videos I saw I was a bit bored, but the questions, simulations etc was nourishment to the mind. Thank you, Prof Nisbett.

por Christopher S M

May 11, 2018

Loved the course! It is a comprehensive review for those of us working with data every day. The pace of the course provides a comprehensive refresher of the fundamentals of critical thinking, logic, and reasoning.

por Seweryn M

Apr 08, 2020

An interesting and engaging course. Extends the picture of many issues. Comprehensive and optimal in terms of time and content. I recommend to everyone, regardless of the profession. Sympathetic lecturer. Regards!

por Giang T M A

Aug 22, 2020

This course is great. I've found the way to think about many problems around me, such as what the best thing to buy when I have many choices. The teacher has many example for me to understand the course easier.

por Heber H B M

Jul 29, 2019

Hace tiempo que venía buscando un curso sobre pensamiento crítico. Este curso es muy bueno, no sólo porque provee de herramientas para razonar, sino también por las explicaciones y los ejemplos que se dan.

por Dan

Sep 19, 2019

This course was very useful. It went over concepts which come in handy when we are sifting through the bombardment of information in our current age which we need to process to arrive at sound decisions.

por Елена В

Sep 04, 2020

This course will be very useful both in school and in life. Concentration of super-useful ideas and knowledge that can greatly simplify our life and improve the quality of our judgments and decisions.

por Nikhil P

Aug 07, 2017

A very good course prof Richard has explained very difficult to understand concepts in a very simple language and made it easy for students to grasp the subject matter easily.

por Sucharita R P

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent course. I learnt a lot from this course. It has changed my thinking and I hope to be able to use it in making decisions both at home as well as at work.

por Manuel O A

Jul 11, 2019

Thanks for the course, very illuminating. Our society needs to educate his Mindware to be better, especially now with the environmental crisis in we are.

por Edwin G C

Jun 17, 2020

I have learned a lot and I am inspired to learn more. Thank you so much, University of Michigan, Coursera, and to the very insightful Professor Nesbitt.

por Venu

Oct 01, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was very well designed with lot of examples to easily understand the topics in the course. Thanks to the Professor.

por Hawra F A

Sep 11, 2020

Awesome course! Definitely teaches about critical thinking. Uses case studies and examples which are fun :) Some maths too so good for math lovers :D

por Robert F

May 04, 2020

Excellent combination of logic, statistics and psychology which is the minimum amount of understandings you need to make accurate business decisions.

por Gary L

Jan 27, 2018

This is a fantastic course.

Even with two masters degrees I learnt a lot and have recommended it to my colleagues.

It should be taught to all students.

por Виктория Е

Mar 04, 2019

I just finished my first week, but I already can say that it is changing my mind! These skills are extremely helpful in our lives. I am so grateful!