Chevron Left
Volver a Modern Art & Ideas

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Modern Art & Ideas por parte de Museo de Arte Moderno

4.8
estrellas
4,815 calificaciones
1,231 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Principales reseñas

AM

Jan 15, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT

Jun 08, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 1,222 revisiones para Modern Art & Ideas

por Anfal f

May 27, 2020

I am more interested in modern art after completing this course than ever before.I really enjoyed this course and the way art was discussed based on theme rather than chronologically. now I love the museum it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

por Tonya

Jun 05, 2016

This was a thought provoking, tip of the ice-berg, inspiring and simple course appropriate for nearly anyone with an interest in 'the arts'. I will say also that crucial to 'getting' this topic and the most out of the course content you must do the final project. That is where the aha! moment awaits. Great course.

por Amelia H

May 21, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and the subject was both interesting and engaging. I also appreciated the feedback and discussions held with my fellow students, this helped with understanding the subject better with a different perspective. I would definitely pursue other subjects with Coursera in the future.

por Tingting W

Jan 26, 2020

Courses designed according to thematic perspectives make learning more than a single understanding of genres, painters, and techniques. Throughout the learning process, I kept thinking about art and expression. The combination of rich art forms and themes inspired my new understanding of art. Favorite course

por Robin A

Jun 23, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! I learned quite a lot, but for me the best part was to do the initial reading and video-viewing and then meander through other materials at MOMA. My only complaint is about the technical glitches I have already reported in doing the final assignment. Those should be fixed.

por Fernanda C C

Feb 11, 2020

Este curso es realmente útil para cualquier persona que desee entender mejor el arte moderno. Es un tema que independientemente del conocimiento académico, llega a ser difícil de entender y por lo tanto de apreciar, el sistema de unidades a través del cuál explican las obras ayuda a valorizar y entender.

por Corinne S

Feb 17, 2016

As Art History Major I thought this course would give me a little insight but did not expect much. I couldn't have been more wrong. I learned so many things my degree never taught me. I was even introduced to artists I didn't know existed! Great class and super interesting and well put together lectures!

por Jen K

Apr 28, 2020

This course was a great art history refresher. I feel inspired to take more MoMA online courses to learn about MoMAs permanent collection and about modern art in general. The last art history course that I had taken was about 15 years ago! I feel energized to visit MoMA when it reopens post-pandemic.

por MJ L

May 25, 2020

The materials and readings are supplementary for the topic. Really enjoyed being able to discover so many works of art and understand it using the various themes of the course. Reviews and discussions are thought-provoking and I can say my interest for modern art has grown after completing the course!

por Khadija S

Feb 28, 2019

I gained new information about contemporary art. I leart so much about it. Highly recommended course for art lovers. But you must have enough informatoion about art and movements, otherwise you can be awkard about the pictures which you will see in courses. Art is everywhere, juts try to capture them.

por Ginger M

Mar 14, 2020

If you want to be able to appreciate modern art and have a deeper understanding of works of art that you are familiar with and those you are not familiar with from different perspectives, this course, given by MOMA educators, is for you. You'll get a lot out of this course if you put a lot into it.

por Joanne H

Jun 01, 2020

This course was so enjoyable ! The units are well spaced , there is ample information and more if you want to read more deeply about a subject or artist. I loved the videos that introduce each week's theme. It enhanced my understanding of modern art and made me want to try another course from MOMA.

por Kirti P

Apr 17, 2020

This course has been very engaging departing a in depth and very apt knowledge on the topic and the themes within it. An era of entire Modern Art is consolidatd and put forward with precise content for all the genres learners. Its been an experience that i am glad i took during this quaratine time.

por Jeffrey D

Sep 01, 2020

This course was a great overview of Modern Art and related concepts. It introduced a lot of artists that I was not previously familiar with. The presentation was a good mix of video and text. Reviewing other participants work provides a more "classroom" feel that some online courses tend to lack.

por Daniel H

May 31, 2020

An absolutely marvellous experience! Taking this course has expanded my appreciation of modern art, given me tons of ways I can put to creative use what I've learnt, has introduced me to artwork I really regret not having known about earlier. It's been a transformative trip, and a very good one!

por Scott56

Feb 17, 2016

MoMA provides an organized, wonderful, and easy to understand course that is often called art appreciation. This course differs from ones I took in college, thankfully, by pleasantly presenting methods and themes for analyses. I'm downloading all the presentations so I can watch them again.

por Zhaohan W

Aug 18, 2017

The course is really thought provoking and it brings the modern art to me. Though this course, I understood some modern artwork I didn't think I could. It also arise my interest in this area and I'd like to learn more. Really looking forward to the other course provided by MOMA in the future.

por Tina L

Jun 20, 2020

I really enjoyed learning about modern art through this course. There were so many artworks I've never seen before and each had a very significant meaning behind it. I particularly liked the written reflection and the image curation project at the end of Week 5. Overall, I had a lot of fun!

por Dr. D H

Jul 09, 2020

Modern Art course by MoMA exceeded my expectations. It is well organised and keeps us engaged throughout the course. It is a good introduction to modern art for beginners and helps generate interest in modern art. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and look forward to other courses from MoMA.

por Gonzalo C

Dec 01, 2018

The course is absolutely awesome. The material is really interesting (specially the videos) and the approach is very innovative, as you approach the art through topics (society, identity...). After doing this course, your perception of modern art will change completely. Highly recommended!

por Matthew O

Mar 25, 2018

This course was enjoyable and inspiring to take. I was able to learn about works that I had previous knowledge about in ways that I had not thought to look at them previously, as well as learn about new works. This has opened up many areas that I wish to continue studying. Thank you.

por Laura E B V

Jul 30, 2017

I am so pleased, satisfied and proud of taking this course. It has taught me a lot about modern art, contemporary ideas and how art means more than just beauty. I know how to start seeing more behind the art, to try to understand the ideas and the different ways they can be expressed.

por Juliana M A

May 20, 2020

Este curso me ayudo a aprender mas sobre la historia del arte moderno. La información que nos proporciona este curso esta muy bien complementada y se entiende fácilmente, los quizes y las reflexiones personales nos ayudan a reunir esa información y complementarla de una manera única.

por Helena K

Jan 23, 2019

Well ''curated'' and organized, very informative and thought provoking. A very interesting modern art course for art, photography and architecture enthusiasts. Being a hobbyist or an art related professional this course will definitely give you resources and present you to new ideas.

por Dylan D

Oct 29, 2019

The course was well designed, and the themes served to highlight the different roles and achievements that art can take on. I'd only wish that there were more Eastern artworks featured, for a more holistic view. Overall a fantastic course, and I'm thrilled to have been a part of it!