Chevron Left
Volver a Modern Art & Ideas

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Modern Art & Ideas por parte de Museo de Arte Moderno

4.8
estrellas
4,836 calificaciones
1,237 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Principales reseñas

AM

Jan 15, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT

Jun 08, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 1,223 revisiones para Modern Art & Ideas

por Guillermo D G

Jan 07, 2020

This is an amazing introductory Course that helped me to identify the Artwork Techniques and learn about the different Artist profile and their motivations to create this great artwork pieces, definitively one of the best I ever attend

por David G

Aug 13, 2020

This is a great course for those looking to delve in to the world of Modern Art. For a novice like myself, the slide shows, videos and reading material really opened my eyes to where and how, and by whom, modern art first came along.

por Karamjeet s

May 31, 2020

I really enjoy work on this website and thanks to coursera to give me some such of wonderful opportunity to learning different arts and artists their work main important thing is the principle of design work in art also thanks for it

por Meghna S

May 18, 2020

Loved it! It was great to learn more about that covers the walls of the MoMA. Loved that we got learn about the history of so many wonderful pieces of art and engage in assignments to better understand the themes throughout the week!

por Likhitha B

Oct 13, 2016

The multiple modules concentrating on a specific theme have enabled easier understanding and succeeded in grasping the attention of a student towards speedy completion of course along with complete comprehension of stated artifacts.

por Christine N

Jun 06, 2019

Every time I do a MOMA course, I deepen my understanding of art and indeed I generate new ideas. The course is engaging, full of new knowledge and inspiring in terms of the influence these courses have on the generation of new work.

por Kathleen R

Mar 20, 2018

This course was well-designed and extremely interesting. I've taken other academic courses on Modern Art and have spent a lifetime as an admirer of Modern Art and yet found this course informative and insightful. Highly recommend.

por Camilla B

Feb 27, 2020

MoMA is a guarantee. This is my second course after "Seeing through photographs" and it confirmed the first impression: amazing themes and infinite quality resources to study on. Thank you so much for sharing top quality content.

por Katherine v E A

May 15, 2020

Really inspiring course! Gave me a completely new appreciation for Modern Art which will totally change my museum experiences forever. It stretched my mind and I really enjoyed the written weekly reviews and end of course work.

por Tony D

Jan 31, 2016

Even though I'm not on the path of becoming a museum educator or art teacher, I found this course to be very worthwhile. I feel that it really deepened my understanding of art, both in terms of how to approach it and create it.

por sosi k

May 03, 2020

-really smart and interactive way to learn about modern art

-massive resources on the MOMA website

-very flexible , you can finish the course to you pace , no need to wait for scheduled lessons or stress about accumulated ones

por Dayane F S

May 26, 2020

o curso trás pautas importantes e nos ajudam a entender melhor sobre a arte moderna e como os artistas da época produziam arte. Como estudante de Artes Visuais o curso me ajudou a melhorar meu repertorio e entender melhor.

por aamira m

Nov 26, 2019

This has been an exceptional course where I have learnt a lot of expressions that could be derived from present art and how we can also convey meaning through everyday art. Brilliantly crafted course that has unique topics.

por ISKOV V

Jul 26, 2020

This is an amazing excursion to the modern art connected with the past and the present in on the same historical line that does not exist if we are talking about art in general. Thank you so much. The course has moved me!

por Hanna

Jun 16, 2020

When I started this course I couldn't even imagine that I got a such great information!

I never liked modern art. But now I know that I just didn't understand it. Modern art brings us ideas. It calls up us and inspired.

por Laura N

May 13, 2020

The course was so interesting to me. I like the way that the lessons are distribuited and the way that we aproved the course by the judgement of another student. That kind of things make the course dinamic and unique.

por Angela T

Jun 11, 2018

This was a very enjoyable course which gave me a lot of information on Modern Art. It has given me a whole new appreciation for art and I'm really looking forward to visiting some galleries with my new found knowledge.

por Polly O

May 26, 2020

A great introduction to Modern Art & Ideas. With no previous art experience and little knowledge on modern art, this course enabled me to learn about key themes, movements, and artists at an entirely accessible level.

por Sol F

May 18, 2020

I really liked the course, the interaction between the participants, but above all I liked the way each work is explained, and the reading material of the artists. I already recommended it to several people. Thank you

por Andreas

May 03, 2020

This has been an inspiring journey, it changed my perspective on contemporary art. I learned new things and really enjoyed the videos, readings and assignments. I highly recommend the course. Thanks to the MOMA-Team!

por Alison

Dec 31, 2018

Learned a lot about modern art & grew broader lenses; great course & aesthetically pleasing short videos!

> When the retro feeling of intro-videos they've made are brilliantly high-qualities, you know it's from MoMA ;)

por Divya N

Jun 25, 2020

Fantastic course with a lot of useful discussion prompts and activities. I would like to add this course to the list of recommended courses as an organisational admin so that my students can benefit from it as well.

por Maggi N

Apr 28, 2020

This is my first Coursera course and I have thoroughly enjoyed it! I would recommend Coursera to anyone looking for a MOOC that stretches the intellect with information quizzes and a final assignment.

Great stuff!!

por Valeria E D G

Sep 05, 2015

Great video lessons and extra reading material to expand concepts and ideas. The course has also very good rhythm and short tests at the end of each lesson are great to understand the important points of the course.

por Giulia M

May 15, 2020

An interesting overview divided in five, very easy-to-assimilate chapters with a good structure and nice "in depth" sections. For whoever wants to get inspired in their own work — even if it's not in the art field.