Chevron Left
Volver a The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I por parte de Universidad de Tel Aviv

4.7
estrellas
824 calificaciones
202 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Principales revisiones

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 201 revisiones para The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

por Brad A

Jan 12, 2016

Professor Susser organized a very well done course on a topic with very complex regional dynamics. In addition, the notes for each module were excellent!

por Araceli P

Jun 11, 2017

It was an incredible syllabus and i learned a lot. The teacher was great, contextualizing everything and explaining all the concepts of the middle east.

por Emmett B

Jul 08, 2017

This course provided me exactly the level of detail and information I was hoping for regarding an understanding of the history of the middle east.

por A F

May 24, 2020

It explains everything so well and even uf I find the history of the Middle East, kind of complicated, with this course I got a great approach.

por FRANK A

May 06, 2020

A FASCINATING COURSE WHICH I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED TAKING. I LEARNT A GREAT DEAL ABOUT THE HISTORY OF THE MIDDLE EAST THROUGH TAKING THIS COURSE.

por Kamil S

Jan 29, 2017

Very informative, well-paced and objective course. Even more beneficial as it is the sole comprehensive course on the subject in the internet.

por Arthur H

May 22, 2020

Excellent course. Well presented, comprehensive and informative. Highly recommend for anyone with an interest in M-E history and politcs.

por Justine B

Dec 26, 2016

Clear, concise, objective. Asher Susser explains so much about the Middle East; helps make the present-day situation more understandable.

por 章義楚

Nov 14, 2015

I have lernt a lot about the history and tradition of Middle East from this lesson, which is good for my major, for I study arthistory.

por Agnes L

Mar 17, 2018

Really great course with a lot of really interesting information and datas. I would have liked it to be longer! Thank to the teacher!

por Krzysztof N

Jan 08, 2016

Very informative course, instructor was great and very thorough. I missed some way to review most important events and dates quickly.

por ABDULMUIZZ O O

Jun 12, 2017

I gained a better historical understanding of the contemporary Middle East. What it was and how how it became what it is today.

por shakiba b

Feb 25, 2016

Very useful and insightful course for anyone looking for the answers to the whys and roots of the conflicts in the Middle East.

por Ankit S

Feb 12, 2016

Excellent course especially for the uninitiated to understand the history of the Middle East region.

Eagerly waiting for part 2!

por Cesar A G Z

Jul 10, 2018

Realmente estoy muy contento de haber tomado este curso. Mis conocimientos sobre el medio oriente mejoraron considerablemente.

por shahera s

Sep 22, 2017

Thank you very much for your helpful information. I hope that there will soon be courses in order to teach the Hebrew language

por Johnny d s

Oct 12, 2018

the professor was great with him everithing was more easy, ok not that easy becouse i make my effort but a like it very much

por Khalil A M

Jan 20, 2018

I can't say 2 or 3 sentence the excellence of this course, highly equipped and best thanks Professor Asher Susser

por Duncan S

Nov 30, 2015

Excellently taught course with fantastic insights. I learnt a great deal throughout and look forward to Part II.

por Darcy R J

Oct 24, 2015

Really enjoyed this course. Learned a lot. Highly recommended to anyone interested in the history of the region.

por Rick M

Feb 01, 2016

Terrific overview of the emergence of the modern Middle East. Provides keen insight into the role of the West.

por Dina R

Dec 18, 2015

Very comprehensive course with complex happenings explained in a very clear manner. Extremely interesting.

por Kevin H

Nov 06, 2017

This is one of the most factual, organized, and well presented courses I've seen so far on coursera.

por Chilan N

May 09, 2019

This course really helped me to get a glimpse of the Middle East, and the origin of the problems.

por Glenn O

Jun 23, 2016

Extremely good course, with the ability to impart an abundance of information in a short format.