Chevron Left
Volver a The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I por parte de Universidad de Tel Aviv

4.7
estrellas
919 calificaciones
223 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Principales revisiones

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 219 revisiones para The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

por Luz A L O

Sep 08, 2020

En general el curso es muy bueno. Lo único que que se tenga una variación de los videos, so siempre el mismo formato.

por Khalil A M

Jan 20, 2018

I can't say 2 or 3 sentence the excellence of this course, highly equipped and best thanks Professor Asher Susser

por Duncan S

Nov 30, 2015

Excellently taught course with fantastic insights. I learnt a great deal throughout and look forward to Part II.

por Darcy R J

Oct 24, 2015

Really enjoyed this course. Learned a lot. Highly recommended to anyone interested in the history of the region.

por Rick M

Feb 01, 2016

Terrific overview of the emergence of the modern Middle East. Provides keen insight into the role of the West.

por Dina R

Dec 18, 2015

Very comprehensive course with complex happenings explained in a very clear manner. Extremely interesting.

por Kevin H

Nov 06, 2017

This is one of the most factual, organized, and well presented courses I've seen so far on coursera.

por Chilan N

May 09, 2019

This course really helped me to get a glimpse of the Middle East, and the origin of the problems.

por Glenn O

Jun 23, 2016

Extremely good course, with the ability to impart an abundance of information in a short format.

por Richard M

Mar 10, 2017

Great, detailed history of the middle east. Easy to grasp, well delivered. An excellent course

por Anne D

Apr 04, 2020

I found this course to be really informative!! I took it for fun and learned a great deal :-)

por Ben G

Apr 07, 2020

Very well explained and hugely interesting. I highly recommend to any history enthusiasts.

por MHW

Jul 24, 2017

What a clear, didactic and balanced discussion about such a difficult topic ! Thank you !

por Fabián V A

Jan 19, 2016

Excellent lectures! An in-depth look at the subject handled in a very understandable way.

por Alexander K

Nov 30, 2015

Fantastic and very informative course. I heartedly recommend it to all coursera students.

por Deborah B

Dec 08, 2015

Fantastic! It has another perspective about the damages that interventionism did there.

por OUDJEHANI R

May 15, 2019

Un superbe cours pour tous ceux qui veulent comprendre la géopolitique du Moyen-Orient

por Adwait B A

Mar 31, 2019

Brilliant depiction of Modern Middle East. Definitely going to cover second part too.

por Eden H

Dec 26, 2015

Great course! I would have preferred quizzes at the the end of every lesson, however.

por Jorge E M A

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you for bringing a glance at the wicked Middle Eastern history. Very useful

por Bruno M

Nov 18, 2016

Excellent course to understand a little bit more about the history of Middle East

por Daniela

Jan 28, 2016

Very interesting and with very clear explanations.

It left me eager to learn more!

por Tural M

Apr 10, 2020

Perfect course for whom interested in this topic. I will rewatch lessons, too.

por Michael K

Jan 27, 2016

Excellent course. Joined so many dots for me. So informative and accessible.

por Радослава Н

Jan 28, 2018

Amazing course! Thank you for the interesting topics and point of view!