Chevron Left
Volver a The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I por parte de Universidad de Tel Aviv

4.7
estrellas
764 calificaciones
191 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Principales revisiones

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 187 revisiones para The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

por Stacey S

Jun 26, 2017

excellent class, great lectures!

por Theresa T

Mar 28, 2020

very well done and informative

por Alex G

Sep 13, 2017

The professor is very knowledg

por Bobrov M

Feb 19, 2017

Кратко, информативно, полезно.

por Roberto D

Aug 18, 2016

Great teacher, great course !

por Giuseppe

Oct 14, 2017

Very very interesting!!!!

por Muhammad i R

Nov 10, 2019

Amazing learning it was.

por Therese R

Sep 30, 2016

A superb in depth study!

por Emerson M A

Jan 26, 2018

Excellent. Thank you.

por Dilshod M

Feb 18, 2017

Very good explaining

por Joy S

Jun 04, 2017

super informative

por John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Excellent Course

por cheryl b

Mar 17, 2016

Excellent Course

por Hamid S

Feb 18, 2016

excellent course

por Alex R

Dec 06, 2015

Very informative

por Jakub S

Feb 29, 2016

An eye opener.

por Gijs v S

Nov 18, 2019

Very thorough

por Tayfun K

Sep 16, 2018

Great course!

por Dan O M M

Aug 31, 2017

Great course!

por Ioannis V

Nov 18, 2019

Excellent!

por Mahmoud E

Aug 24, 2018

very good

por EDUARDO A

Mar 09, 2017

Excellent

por Bárbara T

Jul 14, 2017

I like!

por Daan B

May 15, 2016

I very much liked this course. Iam reading this book:

http://www.amazon.com/History-Modern-Middle-East-5th/dp/0813348331

this course is a good addition. I think it is necessary to also read about the topics because the course covers a lot. Still without reading I think this is an interesting introduction to get an overview of the past centuries. One may get lost in some of de details but the teaching is very good so you will always get something out of this course.

Hopefully more courses on the middle east will be available on Coursera in the future.

por Gary

Apr 14, 2019

Informational and inspirational, the course was clearly illustrated by Prof. Asher Susser. In this first part, the history and establishment of every country in the Middle East are explained meticulously. I was amazed by Prof. Susser's comprehensive knowledge and sources of citation, and interested even more in every aspect of the Middle East.