Chevron Left
Volver a The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I por parte de Universidad de Tel Aviv

4.7
estrellas
923 calificaciones
225 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

Principales reseñas

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 222 revisiones para The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I

por Mahmoud E

Aug 24, 2018

very good

por EDUARDO A

Mar 09, 2017

Excellent

por Bárbara T

Jul 14, 2017

I like!

por Daan B

May 15, 2016

I very much liked this course. Iam reading this book:

http://www.amazon.com/History-Modern-Middle-East-5th/dp/0813348331

this course is a good addition. I think it is necessary to also read about the topics because the course covers a lot. Still without reading I think this is an interesting introduction to get an overview of the past centuries. One may get lost in some of de details but the teaching is very good so you will always get something out of this course.

Hopefully more courses on the middle east will be available on Coursera in the future.

por Gary

Apr 14, 2019

Informational and inspirational, the course was clearly illustrated by Prof. Asher Susser. In this first part, the history and establishment of every country in the Middle East are explained meticulously. I was amazed by Prof. Susser's comprehensive knowledge and sources of citation, and interested even more in every aspect of the Middle East.

por Karin H

May 08, 2018

Good overview. Wish we could have articles rather than books for complementary readings (from a time perspective). As well, would be great if, when showing and talking about maps, the professor could point to the area he is talking about. Sometimes it was really hard to make out what was on the maps.

por Kimberly K

Sep 10, 2016

The information is great and delivered in a way easy to understand. It is clear the presenter is passionate about the topic and presenting. The quizzes capture knowledge that is actually important to know. There are photos, literary sources, and many maps. However, slightly boring to watch.

por Richaundra P

Jun 14, 2016

The professor was very pleasant to listen to. The pacing was overall good, though the last few lessons have quite a bit of information packed in. My only real complaint was that I was hoping for more explicitly direct links to be made to modern events. Still, very enjoyable class.

por Euin C K

May 24, 2018

Information organized in an accessible manner and articulative of key points.

However, note takings are time consuming due to lack of presentational material during the lectures.

Perhaps extra addition of visual aid would enhance the educational experience.

por bethany l

Jul 15, 2017

Thorough and in-depth without being overwhelming. An interesting perspective with logical arguments. The final exam is reliant on remembering facts rather than the bigger picture, though the facts aren't simply directly copied from the lectures.

por Jennifer B

Mar 10, 2016

A good overview of middle eastern politics in the 18-19th century. The pace of the course is very brisk, especially if you're not familiar with imperial history, but if you do some of the readings it will be very easy to follow the pace.

por Samantha B

Jan 13, 2016

I very much enjoyed the thoroughness of Dr. Susser's explaination, the slow and clear manner of his teaching and the structure of the course into small, short videos. This allowed me to complete the course in small doses through my busy

por Weber L

Apr 17, 2016

Great intro to understanding the modern middle east, although some introduction to the history of Islam, it's achievements and culture and the ottoman empire would also have been useful to understand more of an overall picture

por Deleted A

Aug 01, 2018

Very interesting. Enlarged my understanding of how this region became what it is today and its current day events. Links events throughout modern history. Would definitely recommend!

por Chu T H H

Nov 02, 2016

I had an enjoyable morning to learn the modern politics of the middle east, thank you for giving me a chance learn by the course coordinators, lectureres and big thanks to coursera!

por Radi R

Nov 01, 2019

The Course is definitely recommended to those with interest in the Middle East. The course itself was pretty short and the reading material provided wasn't accessible

por majdi s

Oct 12, 2016

The information given is great so far. I would like to have some more questonnaire or summaries to further implement the learned content. Thank you for your services.

por Monica R E

Oct 31, 2015

Excellent course! Though sometimes I feel like the lectures can be redundant... But it's also good to really make sure the main points stick.

por Matthew P

Jan 15, 2016

Excellent course that really expanded my knowledge of the Middle East and historical drivers of conflict and friction. Bravo!

por Shalini A

Sep 01, 2017

Very informative course and dealt with very exhaustively. The maps given with the lessons could have been a little clearer.

por Ge X

Jan 21, 2016

Very informative course, but it would be better with more multimedia materials to make the history more interesting.

por Pucino N

Aug 22, 2017

Sometimes the language used by the Prof was a bit too technical, but in overall it is a great course!

por aarti p

Aug 02, 2020

well planned and gives information about the middle eastern history in a compartmentalized manner.

por Andrew L

May 26, 2020

Each lesson is well constructed with short "bite" size lessons and easy to keep attention to.

por Franziska D

Nov 30, 2016

The course is very interesting and has a lot of content, but it could be more structured.