Chevron Left
Volver a The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910 por parte de Universidad de Virginia

4.8
estrellas
849 calificaciones
230 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

Principales revisiones

MN

Sep 24, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

RM

Dec 08, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 230 revisiones para The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910

por Charles D L

Mar 07, 2017

b

por Abiven J C

Sep 12, 2016

W

por Bobby B

Nov 14, 2017

An ambitious and informative summary of the most relevant events that shaped our history over the past 100 years. This takes us from the early 20th century up to the financial crisis of 2008. Highly recommend this course if you are wanting to refresh your understanding of this time period.

por Cem D

Oct 14, 2019

I enjoyed listening to Prof. Zelikow's lectures. This course has shown me a historians perspective on events of past and present. It is empowering to see how much humanity has achieved in such a short time and how many mistakes were done during the process.

por Julie C

Apr 12, 2016

I found Part Two much easier to follow because I stopped taking notes. The professor's speaking style is so informally formal that it's easy to understand and remember. His passion for history is obvious when you combine looking and listening.

por Ahil K

Jul 07, 2019

The course was excellently built for both beginners and scholars. The questions and quizzes were really stimulating. Thank you.

por Clifford L B

Mar 11, 2017

Well presented with reasoned arguments, some of the slides needed to be clearer especially the maps

por Πιστοφίδης-Χατζηδημητρίου Α

Mar 31, 2016

The teacher was rather informative, he analyzed the subject to its detail i am very satisfied.

por Iris v S

Apr 04, 2016

Very enjoyable and informative. I'd certainly take other courses by the same professor!

por Vipul A

Jan 20, 2017

Better way of showing how finance,politics and war can interact with each other.

por Prasanna V R

Nov 19, 2015

Deep views. The why part o things is something very special.

por cuneyt a

Feb 25, 2016

I think the course content is global history US in center.

por Alfredo T

Oct 01, 2015

It´s a very excellent course of history!

por Derick T

Sep 28, 2015

Well created lectures with clear ideas.

por Mariam

Aug 08, 2016

Very interesting and engaging

por christophe s

May 18, 2016

Excellent course, simply.

por Nishant S

Nov 23, 2016

Worth your time !

por Jon G

Aug 06, 2017

Very informative

por Karla S C S

Mar 01, 2018

Muy interesante

por Brianna Z J

Oct 11, 2015

A

por Johann Q

Sep 02, 2015

We need less lectures and more application based courses.

por Evangelia A

Nov 21, 2015

Very few o no information about the Latin America

por Karthik N

Mar 02, 2019

The lecturer was slightly monotonous and really has missed out on key factors such as Weimar Republic etc in this course. Moreover, the course seems very opinionated and ends of the wars seems to be just glossed over into economic terms rather than historic facts. Battle of Okinawa, death of Hitler, battle of somme and verdun seem like key parts not tackled efficiently. Quizzes rely too much on rote knowledge and the lecturer's opinion rather than what one should take away from the presentations. Also, coming from India and also having stayed for long in the Middle East, the entire picture given by the lecturer of these regions seem to be quite flawed as the picture is very narrow.

por Simon H

Aug 18, 2019

The course offers a traditional mainstream view of global history biased towards the US. Western perspectives, empires and realism are emphasized. The Global South and cultural and social history are largely neglected. The course could be improved for example by guest lecturers coming from different cultural contexts offering diverse perspectives and local expertise.

por Basel

Mar 22, 2016

Might be an instructive course but the guy who presents it is really creepy. And knowing he was involved in the official 9/11 report makes him hard to believe on any issue.