Chevron Left
Volver a Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”) por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.9
estrellas
231 calificaciones
83 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! ModPo is open all year, so you can enroll now, or any time, and join us. Each year we host a lively, interactive 10-week session, in which we move together through the ten-week syllabus. The next live 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 7, 2019, and will conclude on November 18, 2019. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 7 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team any time at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. Much more information about ModPo can be found at modpo.org. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....

Principales revisiones

WC

Mar 21, 2017

best coursera class of them all. The instructor and teaching assistants are closely in the class + there is a lot more interaction with them and the rest of the students than any other MOOC.

DB

Sep 25, 2016

Great Course. Great Experience. Everyone Should at least One Course from Coursera. I highly recommend it to all my students, friends, colleagues living anywhere on this earth.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 81 revisiones para Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

por Treva S

Sep 14, 2016

More than a course. More than poetry. More than it's international community. More than edifying. More than inspiring.

por Lawrence T

Mar 20, 2019

Oh, where to start??? The community!!! Thank you just for being there.

If you wander far enough

you will come to it

por KayCee K W

Nov 21, 2016

Any one who loves poetry or reading, as in what you think about the words your reading will enjoy this class!

por Niels M S

May 29, 2017

Mind blowing and life-changing. Some of the best teaching I have ever received, in class or in the internet.

por Shabab N K

Nov 22, 2016

Simply the best course you will ever participate in. Online or in real.

Modpo is like a family to me now.

por Yaron A

Oct 24, 2016

Wonderful course! Very enlightening. It taught me a lot about reading poetry that I didn't know.

por Christopher F

Nov 28, 2016

In both its content and its pedagogy, this is the best MOOC I've taken. Highly recommended.

por Brian S

Jan 30, 2020

This class was challenging, enriching and it was worth every moment that I put into it.

por dina h

Nov 22, 2016

If there were more stars, I would have selected them. Highly recommend this course!

por Bin L

Oct 11, 2017

Wonderful course. I love all the discussions and interpretations of modern poetry.

por Juliana L B

Nov 14, 2017

I LOVED THIS COURSE AND IN MY OPINION IT IS A COMPLETE COURSE ABOUT LITERATURE

por Charles L

Nov 09, 2016

A great course to enhance one's curiosity in the art of modern poetry!

por Piyush S

Oct 06, 2016

Exceptional course content. Very creative way to make students learn.

por Bob B

Nov 15, 2019

It's 10 weeks of bliss.... this is what education should be like!

por Katia R

Jul 27, 2017

Fantastic community! Have been with ModPo since 2014!

por Louiza

Sep 21, 2019

One of the very best courses!!!!

por Kaushik B

Aug 24, 2018

I am simply loving it

por Daniela M V

Nov 17, 2019

Best thing in life!

por stanislava o

Jul 23, 2017

Best decision ever!

por Shinichirou K

Feb 16, 2020

Very good course.

por Sandy L

Jun 12, 2017

Wonderful course.

por Paccelli J M Z

Nov 17, 2016

Excellent course!

por Mônica M

Oct 03, 2017

Learning lots :)

por yumeng

Jun 03, 2018

das ist toll

por Ana P S A

Jan 27, 2020

Mind opener