Chevron Left
Volver a Economics of Money and Banking

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Economics of Money and Banking por parte de Universidad de Columbia

4.9
estrellas
1,118 calificaciones
309 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Principales reseñas

BG
16 de jul. de 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

AK
17 de nov. de 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 304 revisiones para Economics of Money and Banking

por Jesus S

17 de sep. de 2018

Great course, substantial breadth. Explains many details usually left out in standard International Finance/Money courses. Thank you Profr. Mehrling

por Kolybina A

28 de mar. de 2017

I was impressed by the manner of professor to tell this money story! It was really fascinating to view complicated money schemes as an amazing quest

por Steven R

13 de feb. de 2017

This course blew my mind. Our professor was interesting, lessons well planned and content important. I now read the Financial Times daily. Thank you

por Agustin P

10 de may. de 2019

Excellent course, new and insightful approach on the subject matter. Highly relevant for modern day finance and economics and the challenges ahead.

por Rajya M

20 de jul. de 2020

Prof. Perry Mehrling has presented the course with linkage of traditional and shadow banking and loved taking his classes. Thank you Coursera :)

por Roman S

31 de may. de 2020

A mind-blowing course that helps you build an intuition about the nature and the current state of money (and to some extent capital) markets.

por Pramanshu R

29 de jul. de 2017

Quite exhaustive course covering details about banking and finance. Amazing Professor, good content. The focus on current events is good too.

por Mahmood A K E

3 de ago. de 2017

Really amazing in terms of views and knowledge to be acquired.

I would highly recommend the course to anyone looking to expand in the domain.

por Min M Z

1 de ene. de 2021

Very structural and high-level view across finance, economic and money market. And I like how passionate the professor is when he teaches:)

por Yechen H

5 de jul. de 2017

A different way to look at today's Financial World. The material is well structured and easy to understand. Thank you Professor Mehrling.

por Miquel B L

27 de may. de 2020

Excellent course with very enlightening explanaitions of how the modern financial system works thorugh the lenses of monetary economics.

por Michele C

6 de sep. de 2020

Very interesting and unusual course on banking system held by a good professor who is also inspired by the history of economic thought.

por Thoshitha

2 de ene. de 2017

The basics were well taught and understandable in 1 time view of video and the standards of the university are great! Thanks coursera!

por Sushant G

8 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course by Professor Perry G Mehrliing. Learned a lot on money and banking. I can read FT now.

Thanks to Columbia University.

por Atulya S

11 de jun. de 2017

Amazing insights into the evolution and working of money markets.Last chapters tying to economic theory could have been more detailed

por Ilias M

10 de ene. de 2018

Professor Mehrling will make you connect the dots. Masterfully conceived and delivered. Many thanks and much appreciation Professor.

por Juho V

3 de ago. de 2020

Enlightening stuff and really well presented! The second half was occasionally hard to follow without without economics background.

por Ian M

14 de jul. de 2020

Fantastic work by Dr. Mehrling, this course should be a priority for anyone looking to develop a profound macro view of the world.

por Pablo S

6 de oct. de 2018

Incredible teacher. A lot of useful information that provides you with an eagle view of monetary and financial markets as a whole.

por Frederic L G

1 de abr. de 2020

Very progressive, interesting, maybe too complex for my goals in the last weeks. Highly recommended to understand today's world.

por Parth G

20 de sep. de 2017

Mind Blowing approach to teach. Got the new angles of the economy and banking. Expanded the vision significantly on the subject.

por Erik M

6 de sep. de 2018

Really interesting. Sometimes a bit difficult to follow and vague, but yes, certainly a pleasant and worthwhile experience.

por Jiao S

7 de abr. de 2018

Probably the most amazing course I have ever taken in economics and finance. I would definitely recommend to every student!

por Salmina A

11 de ene. de 2021

Brilliantly paced, explained and integrated lessons all throughout the course. I am an absolute fan of Professor Mehrling!

por Pavlo L

20 de oct. de 2020

Great course overall

It gives you insight into what is banking about as well as what is considered to be money and credit