Chevron Left
Volver a Economics of Money and Banking

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Economics of Money and Banking por parte de Universidad de Columbia

4.9
estrellas
1,056 calificaciones
287 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The last three or four decades have seen a remarkable evolution in the institutions that comprise the modern monetary system. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 is a wakeup call that we need a similar evolution in the analytical apparatus and theories that we use to understand that system. Produced and sponsored by the Institute for New Economic Thinking, this course is an attempt to begin the process of new economic thinking by reviving and updating some forgotten traditions in monetary thought that have become newly relevant. Three features of the new system are central. Most important, the intertwining of previously separate capital markets and money markets has produced a system with new dynamics as well as new vulnerabilities. The financial crisis revealed those vulnerabilities for all to see. The result was two years of desperate innovation by central banking authorities as they tried first this, and then that, in an effort to stem the collapse. Second, the global character of the crisis has revealed the global character of the system, which is something new in postwar history but not at all new from a longer time perspective. Central bank cooperation was key to stemming the collapse, and the details of that cooperation hint at the outlines of an emerging new international monetary order. Third, absolutely central to the crisis was the operation of key derivative contracts, most importantly credit default swaps and foreign exchange swaps. Modern money cannot be understood separately from modern finance, nor can modern monetary theory be constructed separately from modern financial theory. That's the reason this course places dealers, in both capital markets and money markets, at the very center of the picture, as profit-seeking suppliers of market liquidity to the new system of market-based credit....

Principales reseñas

BG

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

PM

Jun 27, 2020

Extremely helpful is understanding the money view of banking system. One of the best courses. A small suggestion - it can be interspersed with more examples especially from the emerging markets.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 283 revisiones para Economics of Money and Banking

por Renan G M

Sep 26, 2020

Curso que fornece uma visão geral do que é realmente o dinheiro e como o sistema financeiro funciona (principalmente os bancos centrais e os dealers). Entretanto, para aqueles que pensam em se inscrever, tem que realmente gostar do assunto e estudar com paciência.

por Herve Y

May 19, 2018

Thank you professor Mehring for this great course. Understanding Economics under the lens of Money is not very taught. This course gives us a starting framework analyze money impacts on Economics, based on number of years of experience and studies. Thanks so much!

por Varun C

Sep 19, 2020

It is a very informative course, dealing with the evolution of bank and the mechanism at which they worked in different phases. I would recommend people to take the course if they are interested in knowing more about finance and economics in money and banking.

por Carlos H

Dec 03, 2016

This is one the best curses that I ever taken, it is a wonderful oportunitie to understand the money view, and how the monetary system realy works, with very preciseness and accuracy lessons, if you take this course, you are going to learn amazing knowledge.

por Sheraz K

Feb 05, 2019

Simply the best. A well constructed course with some excellent reading material. Professor Mehrling was excellent. Thank you Professor, Columbia University and Coursera for making this wonderful course available to thousands of students all over the world.

por Ryan C

Oct 22, 2019

Professor Mehrling is outstanding. Such a well structured and cogent explanation of the plumbing and funding markets that too many market commentators do not wholly understand. He has started me down a path of further exploring these concepts. Thank you!

por Iulia A P

Nov 03, 2017

I'm grateful that I had the chance and inspiration to take this course online (even if only the free version of it) because it was one of the most fascinating presentation of original thinking I ever witnessed. Intellectual, convincing and inspiring.

por John M O C

Feb 15, 2020

This is very insightful on how banks and dealers are the ones who make the world go round. It also showed me how shadow banking is actually very useful and how the history of using money has developed over time and affects how we use money today.

por Bertrand K

Mar 07, 2017

Probably the best economics course I ever had in my life. Mr Mehrling's take on the economics of banking is vivid, modern, broad and does not leave the finance aspect of it aside, which is too often the case in typical economics courses.

por Kee Y S S

May 31, 2018

The course lectures and materials are excellent that they explain the real economic situations in clear and simple ways. They help the students to understand the complex real world of economy without difficult quantitative models.

por Qi W

Aug 28, 2020

I enjoyed learning Prof. Mehrling's money view. During this class, I am impressed most by the importance of the lender of last resort during crisis and the impact of liquidity constraint has on both shadow banking and dealers.

por Filipe S R

Sep 12, 2020

O curso é excelente. Os aspectos do mercado bancário abordados pelo professor Mehrling não são aprendidos facilmente em outros lugares, além de sua "Money View" ser uma metodologia interessante para aprender sobre o sistema.

por Oonagh R

Sep 21, 2020

I really enjoyed getting a real world explanation of the 2008 financial crash but also an insight into how the 21st century banking system works. Would highly recommend, thanks Prof Perry - loved your passion and knowledge!

por Jose R N D

Jan 27, 2017

Amazing experience! I had study finance and banking all my life during BS, MBA, and management consulting and by far the perspective of Perry Mehrling is truly inspirational. This course is a must for every professional.

por Sachit K

Aug 20, 2020

"Economics of Money and Banking" is a comprehensive and well-presented course with detailed study materials. It connects the theoretical aspects of academic literature with practical aspects of the modern banking system.

por Doruk K

Aug 13, 2020

The teacher is really passionate about teaching and teaches the course with great and simple examples. Also the pop questions in the videos are effective to ensure that you learned the topic. An excellent course overall.

por Nadav A

Jun 20, 2020

Super intersting and relevant subject, Prof. Mehrling explains the subject matter in a way that is easy to grasp while not losing any depth and I find it quite useful in analyzing current events in the global economy.

por David V

Sep 19, 2018

Professor is incredibly knowledgeable, class is taught at a good pace, and videos are broken down into an order which makes sense. I really enjoyed my time with this course, despite not having a math background.

por David G H

Dec 04, 2016

Without any doubt, this is the best course I have taken in coursera. Both because of the contents, the approach and the professor. Surprising approach to the economy, and IMHO, one that once taken, is prevalent.

por Paul C

Jun 30, 2017

I am working on understanding the Global Financial Crisis. This course helped me understand the banking system as it really is. This course is one of the best courses, if not the best course, I have ever taken.

por Jace T

May 17, 2020

One of the best course that i had in coursera that made me have a different free in the banking world moving away from finance and economics view, giving me a much fresher and wider perception of the world.

por Panayiotis A

Sep 06, 2020

Difficult course for an individual like me with no academic background in Economics. My understanding now of the field and some its major terms has advanced. Utterly an enlightening month full of learning!

por Barbara G

Jul 17, 2017

An intellectually engaging course opening a debate about how we think about markets and how we should tackle the current challenges. Accessible to non-economists. I warmly recommend it to everyone.

por Petar P

May 29, 2020

The "Economics of Money and Banking" course provided an inspiring look on the modern international finance system. Definitely, recommending it for both newcomers and already experienced students.

por Santanu K

Nov 18, 2017

This course is really useful to me ... I was always interested on monetary and fiscal policies and associate mechanism in Macroeconomics and this course covers the Monetary part in good details.