Chevron Left
Volver a Moral Foundations of Politics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Moral Foundations of Politics por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
4,820 calificaciones
939 reseña

Acerca del Curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Principales reseñas

SS
1 de jul. de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de sep. de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 932 revisiones para Moral Foundations of Politics

por YASWANTH C

11 de sep. de 2020

i may be unclear about the entire course but the content i came to know is awesome and it gives me some enlightnment sir in this dark society in india.

THANK YOU SIR

por Santiago A T G

30 de jul. de 2020

This course is a wonderful opportunity to learn about current topics. Professor Saphiro is a very wise and clear teacher. The methodology of the class was exciting.

por Hernan R G

7 de jun. de 2020

Un curso muy bueno.Exposiciones claras y muy buena bibliografía. Una mirada con contenido académico y práctico sobre la política deSde la antigüedad a la actualidad

por Asli K

30 de dic. de 2020

it is good to learn a new ideas, a persons who owners thoughts that make up today. Thats meanings a lot for my lifeline. Thank you Yale University and İan Shapiro

por Petra P

16 de dic. de 2018

An excellent course. The lecturer was engaging, the course was well-paced and well-structured. Excellent readings, and useful revision quizzes. Highly recommended.

por yugantha a

3 de may. de 2021

great course i really enjoyed the lectures specially, liked the office hours. there is so much knowledge about politics packed in to the course yet easy to learn.

por Jonathan K

1 de mar. de 2017

Love the interview style format. Never felt rushed, but never felt redundant. Perfect pacing and gained many new insights and a respect for the political process.

por Reshmi S

19 de feb. de 2021

This course was very useful for me because I could understand the history behind the different political ideologies and became more aware of how politics works.

por Mohamed A

4 de dic. de 2020

I have learned so much about politics and there are so much information that is not possible to get the easily. I am really very grateful Thank to Pro. Shapiro

por razia m

9 de oct. de 2017

I learned a lot from this course - I am still discussing points raised within it. May return to do it again for a certificate as soon as I am financially able.

por Rita E

14 de mar. de 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable. Easy to follow. I especially liked the question and answer sessions with the two students. Thanks Dr. Shapiro, for an excellent course.

por Anurag D

2 de oct. de 2020

Excellent course. Provides a good understanding of different enlightenment and post-enlightenment philosophy including the foundations of democratic thinking.

por Ana S

26 de jul. de 2020

Great explanations and constant reviewing of past theory, which facilitates the comprehension of the evolution of the different political philosophy systems.

por Oscar A G V

19 de sep. de 2019

Súper completo, digerible y muy útil para quienes buscan consolidar conocimientos en teorías básicas o clásicas, de gran ayuda para entender conceptos clave.

por Barry M

17 de nov. de 2017

Engaging professor, who taught what could be seen as complex concepts in a digestible way. Very much enjoyed the course, and hoping that there will be more!

por Maryna S S

3 de abr. de 2017

Enjoyed course from day one to last quiz!!! Highly recommend taking this course to anybody interested in politics. It was extremely interesting and valuable.

por Francisco J L S

7 de dic. de 2016

Exigente, completo, novedoso para los Hispanoamericanos para entender la perspectiva Americana en oposición a la Británica de la que se concibe a sí misma.

por Shakthy P

20 de ene. de 2016

A real eye opener on the basics of political theories and the fundamentals of their real life applications. Engaging Q&A sessions and a top shelf lecturer.

por Paulo C A S

14 de mar. de 2017

A very good course, with an excellent presentation by Professor Shapiro, in a suitable and current theme. I was very accomplished in having it completed.

por Lucas O

25 de feb. de 2021

Through this course I was able to acquire more knowledge and dedication within my studies and professional areas, it was one of the best things I chose.

por Ted A F

5 de abr. de 2021

This was one of the best courses I've ever taken, anywhere. A truly informative and memorable experience. Professor Shapiro was superb on all counts!

por Gianluca P

17 de may. de 2020

great course..it refreshed me a lot of knowledge i've gathered during my master degree on international relations.. professor Shapiro is simply amazing

por Anita D

13 de abr. de 2020

A must learn! Prof. Shapiro really explained the materials comprehensively in an organized way with examples. Interesting and thought-provoking topics!

por Carlos E R B

10 de jul. de 2017

great course. It opened my mind and interests about politic theories and democracy. Great professor too, I don´t have any doubt left about the lessons.

por Khairunnisaa' B S

29 de sep. de 2021

The way the course was conducted could be differentiated. I appreciated the discussion between students but at times, it made the lecture too lengthy.