Chevron Left
Volver a Moral Foundations of Politics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Moral Foundations of Politics por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
5,100 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Principales reseñas

SS

1 de jul. de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

16 de sep. de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

276 - 300 de 978 revisiones para Moral Foundations of Politics

por Srinjay M

19 de jul. de 2022

Had fun participating in this online session taught by Professor Shapiro! Enjoyed it a lot as well as I learnt new topics which I never did before, thank you!

por Vitória A D S C

26 de jun. de 2022

Excellent lectures, well structured, and I enjoyed all the classes. I recommend this course for everyone interested to know a brief introduction to politics.

por Ana S

26 de jul. de 2020

Great explanations and constant reviewing of past theory, which facilitates the comprehension of the evolution of the different political philosophy systems.

por Oscar A G V

19 de sep. de 2019

Súper completo, digerible y muy útil para quienes buscan consolidar conocimientos en teorías básicas o clásicas, de gran ayuda para entender conceptos clave.

por Barry M

17 de nov. de 2017

Engaging professor, who taught what could be seen as complex concepts in a digestible way. Very much enjoyed the course, and hoping that there will be more!

por Maryna S S

3 de abr. de 2017

Enjoyed course from day one to last quiz!!! Highly recommend taking this course to anybody interested in politics. It was extremely interesting and valuable.

por Francisco J L S

7 de dic. de 2016

Exigente, completo, novedoso para los Hispanoamericanos para entender la perspectiva Americana en oposición a la Británica de la que se concibe a sí misma.

por Shakthy P

20 de ene. de 2016

A real eye opener on the basics of political theories and the fundamentals of their real life applications. Engaging Q&A sessions and a top shelf lecturer.

por Paulo C A S

14 de mar. de 2017

A very good course, with an excellent presentation by Professor Shapiro, in a suitable and current theme. I was very accomplished in having it completed.

por Lucas O

25 de feb. de 2021

Through this course I was able to acquire more knowledge and dedication within my studies and professional areas, it was one of the best things I chose.

por Ted A F

5 de abr. de 2021

This was one of the best courses I've ever taken, anywhere. A truly informative and memorable experience. Professor Shapiro was superb on all counts!

por Gianluca P

17 de may. de 2020

great course..it refreshed me a lot of knowledge i've gathered during my master degree on international relations.. professor Shapiro is simply amazing

por Anita D

13 de abr. de 2020

A must learn! Prof. Shapiro really explained the materials comprehensively in an organized way with examples. Interesting and thought-provoking topics!

por Carlos E R B

10 de jul. de 2017

great course. It opened my mind and interests about politic theories and democracy. Great professor too, I don´t have any doubt left about the lessons.

por Khairunnisaa' B S

29 de sep. de 2021

The way the course was conducted could be differentiated. I appreciated the discussion between students but at times, it made the lecture too lengthy.

por Thomas O

16 de mar. de 2021

Very interesting and engaging lectures. Useful reading and materials. An all-round excellent introduction to politics and associated moral philosophy.

por Toh P Q

18 de ago. de 2020

Interesting and exciting course that challenge points of view and explores major theorists of morality politics and economics over the past centuries.

por valorie h

28 de ago. de 2016

This is a thinking man/woman course. Extremely interesting and enlightening. Professor Shapiro explains everything very concisely. I learned a lot!

por Dylan J Q

8 de jun. de 2022

One of my favorite courses ever on coursera. It is so fascinating to dig deep into this history and theory. Great presentation and great instructor.

por Mykola S

1 de feb. de 2021

A very informative course that will be useful to anyone who is working in the public sphere. It is a great pleasure to learn from Professor Shapiro.

por Emilia V

20 de abr. de 2020

I feel in love with the history and the culture politics have. I wasn't sure if I would like these amazing topics but they turned to be interesting.

por Ga-Eun K

9 de ago. de 2020

It well structured that you can understand the basic thoughts of political arguments and thoughts even you have not learnt about this topic before.

por Ricardo G C

25 de may. de 2020

Excelente curso, es comprensible completamente, aunque no se dicte en mi lengua materna. El profesor Shapiro muy claro en sus conceptos y ejemplos.

por Gethro O

28 de abr. de 2020

Awesome. Great instructor, and the intimate setting of the instructor and the two students makes me feel like I'm learning with them by their side

por Deleted A

1 de oct. de 2019

Very interisting course to understand the roadmap of politics. This course can be taken by any person, even if you are not interested in politics.