Chevron Left
Volver a Mountains 101

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mountains 101 por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.9
estrellas
1,383 calificaciones
511 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Principales revisiones

SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

TY

Apr 21, 2020

Awesome content and video production. Very interesting and covers a wide range of topics. As some that enjoys mountain recreations, it is a good primer on the environment I spend so much time in.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 509 revisiones para Mountains 101

por Benjamin A

Feb 24, 2018

Great diversity of topics. Awesome collaboration between professionals in the scientific community. Fully appreciate the knowledge and inspiration acquired throughout the course. Thank you!

por mp

May 10, 2020

I had to return and submit a clearer review, as now I have more experience with Coursera and have come across some suspicious reviews xD

1. I still believe this is, so far, one of the best courses because Zac and David have such a good engagement with the audience, it does feel like they're having a conversation directly with *you*. Each word is really clear, while the flow and ease of how they're speaking demonstrate their definite knowledge on the topic; while their personal inflections demonstrate their passion (and not like a robotic talking at you).

2. Production of the whole course is really high-quality with many intermissions; there is a British voice reading quotes, the practical tips with on-site demonstrations, on-site with relevant national bodies, interviews/snippets with other experts; not to mention all the vista shots with its location (and sometimes additional info). This makes it all feel like an in-person course, or as if you're travelling the global mountain landscape with Zac as your guide.

3. Fundamentally, the quizzes are completely relevant to the lecture info. The modules are clear and thoughtfully indicated of their relevance. The entire course reviews facets that may not be obvious to all (historical, ecological, social, cultural, technical).

4. At the end of it all, if not only as an expression of their passion and knowledge, but this is a really good reflection on UofA! Such excitement and engaged professors are so valuable to the learning outcome. If this was available way back when, perhaps I would've changed faculties xD

SUMMARY:

My only complaint is that there isn't a Mountains 102. Yet...? =D

por Annie C

Nov 11, 2018

I've always liked the outdoors, and Mountains 101 provided me a lens with which to view and appreciate mountains. The course delves deep into everything to do with mountains globally, focusing on the Canadian Rockies as a home base. Topics cover the history of mountains in literature and society, biology and conservation, geology and the climate impact of mountains, and even tips on how to explore mountains safely and comfortably. The visuals are stunning and I appreciated the well-rounded approach of this course. Zak and David are articulate, engaging, and easy to understand, and the many on-location interviews with experts only added more to the course. I'm already planning a trip to the Canadian Rockies!

por Sofia K

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

por Kyle C

Apr 27, 2019

Absolutely loved every second of it! Reignited my love for geography and the outdoors with sleek, informative- documentary styled lectures. I found the course holistically enriching and fun!

por Alan B

Jun 22, 2017

This is a very comprehensive and interesting presentation of the place mountain occupy in our social, economical, and spiritual life. I definitely would enjoy visiting the Canadian Rockies.

por Sara S

Dec 02, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. I recommend it to anyone that has any interest in learning more about mountains. Every lesson is jam-packed with great information. Thank you!

por Wasima E

Dec 13, 2018

amazing lectures with spectacular video classes which provide adequate knowledge with exact visualization !

por Gládiston d S C

Nov 27, 2018

Excellent Course!

por Yves S

Aug 04, 2017

Good intro course, I just hoped that the focus would have been more on the geological part and a bit less on the cultural part. But still, those parts enhanced the variety and completed the view one has on mountains, so I can live with it :-)

All in all quite a complete intro on mountains - recommended!

por Diana T

Jul 02, 2018

This is a really well done and amazing course, with a wealth of knowledge gained about mountains, their ecosystems and people living in and using mountains. Thank you for the organizers and participants in making this wonderful course. I thought the information about biodiversity, geology, climate, people, etc., all related to mountains, were well intertwined and well organized. Excellent instructors, with a great connection to the mountains they work in. An excellent addition to the course were the guests that brought new perspective to the topic in question. I highly recommend this course. It is really fun, interesting and overall exceptional.

por Louis B

May 18, 2020

Mountains 101 is an excellent introductory course.

por C P

Feb 27, 2017

Thank you, kindly, for an outstanding interdisciplinary introduction to mountain environments. I am a senior citizen so, obviously, participated out of interest versus a grade or credit. My husband's curiosity got the best of him as he was looking over my shoulder for every lesson! The course content was excellent and well balanced with outstanding presentation by both Zac and David. Appreciated the presenters' objectives of focusing on key concepts rather than every miniscule detail for this introductory course. Of particular interest were the numerous on location interviews with field experts relating to the many aspects of mountain geology, landscape, biodiversity, climate, populations etc. I very much enjoyed the scenic backdrops from all over the world and highly recommend this course in order for each new learner to, in some small way, contribute as a steward of the fabulous world in which we are privileged to live. We have a road trip planned for the Canadian Rockies for summer 2017, making this a very timely course presentation for us. The end of lesson tech tips will come in handy for our adventure this summer...and a real plus given that Parcs Canada's Discovery Pass offers free admission to Canada's Sign up and enjoy the course!

por Curtis B

Mar 20, 2017

This course has opened up my eyes to how beautiful and fragile mountain landscapes are. I have a great appreciation for the vegetation, wildlife, and climates which surround and inhabit the mountains. I will look to my time outdoors with greater enthusiasm and sense of adventure, as I try to put some of the lessons into practice and perspective. The lessons on global warming were particularly new to me, to now grasp the importance of monitoring climate change, limiting the change and understanding that mountains themselves could be endangered to various degrees if nothing is done. Thank you to everyone involved in producing these lectures. Both Zac and David have a passion for the outdoors, which is evident in their callings. Matt and Laura's tips are very helpful, and if there is a future MOOC followup to Mountains 101, I hope they would still be involved, with longer seminar length videos, which could explain setting up a bivouac, using crampons with an ice-axe to ascend mountain peaks, as well as more in depth training from the ACC. I imagine Dr. Robinson would love to incorporate a few ascents into any class curriculum. :)

por Ronald J A

Jul 05, 2020

A well-designed course that was not just about the geological characteristics but spanned sociology, chemistry, history, and geography stitching together well-known, but generalized facts with specific, awe-inspiring information. Even though I don't intend to do a vigorous activity of hiking/camping for days in the mountains, the course gave me an appreciation of mountaineering with the 2-4 minute clips about various aspects about going into the mountains. Being from the United States, it was especially exciting to learn of non-U.S. geography and to hear from the Prime Minister himself to cap off the course. I'm sure not every lesson may appeal to everyone, but there is always something in each week for you to delve more upon. I have no educational or professional background in mountains, so this course will appeal to you whether or not you ever go into the mountains. The course gives you the educational foundation to understand and better advocate for maintaining the mountain environment whether or not you've ever been in the mountains and they are the first tangible sign of the impending risk of climate change. Bravo!

por Deborah M

Aug 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. I have learned a lot from this course. I am starting Intro to Physical geography at Wilfrid Laurier in Sept 2017 and surface of the Earth - geology course in Jan 2018, though a program called Access to University, with the faculty of Arts and The working Centre for non traditional students to pay for 5 courses and books. I will be 53 this year and most courses I took were medical courses, biology, anatomy... some engineering and electronics. I took this course to prepare myself as I go into an area completely unfamiliar to me. Who knows perhaps I will develop a new passion and continue on in Geography and possibly do the geomatics option. I think this course is a wonderful course to help prepare a student, everyone was very knowledgeable and all looked excited to share their knowledge. I think the only complaint I would have is that after 12 weeks I was getting tired of the opening music and wished for something different; therefore if that is the only complaint I have you know that you will enjoy this course. I have never been out west and now I more then ever want to travel there.

por Pat B

Apr 03, 2017

If you enjoy the great outdoors, stunning scenery or learning about a variety of plants, animals and geological processes, this course could be for you! Not only does it explain how mountains are formed and degraded, it also teaches us about glaciers, the water cycle, and why mountain habitats change as the elevation increases. Mountain ecosystems are visited and adaptations of plants and animals to life in the cold, rugged landscape and sparse atmosphere are described. The effect of climate change on the world’s mountains is discussed. As well, each week features a short video with practical tips on a different aspect of hiking and camping in the mountains.

An interactive world map is available most weeks to locate mountains and ranges discussed in the course videos, and the weekly course notes are a handy memory-jogger of many main points. Specialists in many fields provide short segments and there are even visits from two well-known public figures. Although it is a 12-week course, the weekly time commitment is not large.

I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

por Adrián G G

Nov 26, 2017

It is an interesting course full of the best proffesional about each aim or them. I apreciate a lot the tips section because all the people who want to explore the mountains by themselves must to know everything which was explain in that section.

I would like to tell you one advice (from my point of view): I only want to highlight some questions about the final lesson quizs because I think you have chosen good questions but they could be even better. I want to mean questions more focus on mountains science and not in what was the date of some event or something like that.

Congratulation to all the groups what have been working so hard to do such a good job and refresh-teach society how important are those colosals and georgeous parts of the Earth Mother The final comment is that I could understand so well the English even being Spanish talker.

.

por Jean-Francois N

Mar 24, 2017

This was an absolutely outstanding course. Professionally delivered, thoroughly researched content and recognized experts, engaging and very interesting. I have learned so much and actually finished the course in a week. I have always been attracted to and loved mountains, but never knew much about them. or their surrounding environment. This course has broadened my understanding greatly and has given me a base to further learn and educate myself. The world map of mountains and important sites was a great tool that I appreciated. I would have liked to see more of the tech tips and perhaps an overview of the technical gear needed to explore the mountains. I wish this course would have been available 25 years ago, it may have changed my career choice! I am left with an even larger appetite to get out, explore, and learn! Thanks so much!

por Haleigh L

Jul 12, 2017

EVERYBODY SHOULD TAKE THIS! This is honestly one of the best classes I've ever taken. I am a student at the University of Alberta and my program didn't allow for more space to take this class. I love how Coursera makes it possible to take university courses for certificate (or for free!). I have always been captivated by mountains. This course provided some general information that I had already been familiar with, but it also taught much more than the basics. The format of the course is beautiful - the videos are stunning and the partnership with Parks Canada provides some excellent commentary/interviews from people at the top of their field. I have deepened my appreciation for mountains and geography alike, and would love to see a part two of this class - I'd sign up in a heartbeat!

por Alicia M W

Jun 16, 2020

I found it amazingly interesting. From the presenters who were clear and straight to the point to photos of mountains which captured perhaps the essence of the mountain right down to the literature of past writers, poets and artists.

The course ignited my fascination in how everything is connected to its finest detail of colour in butterflies to the flower moving with the sun.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your time, effort and putting in the delicate details of music everything and everyone who worked together formed the perfect ecosystem😁. Thank you for also making it available free increasing the chances of everyone to enjoy and understand that when they stop and pause and have those "moments of appreciation" it all makes sense.

I thank you

Alicia Williams

por Stephanie S

Jul 05, 2020

I love this course! I live in Edmonton and love visiting the mountains. After taking this course I now have a different view and appreciation for them. The volcanoes and glacier sections were among my favourite lessons however everything I learned here has made me feel smarter and more able to discuss this topic with friends and family.

I really hope the U of A continues to do more courses like this. The presentations were very well rounded so anyone with interest can get something out of it. I even enjoyed hearing about mountains from an English professor.

I have been looking at other courses like this and asking about careers that could come from this.

Thank you to everyone involved with this course and I plan on buying the certificate so I can review some topics in the future.

por Deleted A

Oct 18, 2017

From: John Muir. (2011). The Yosemite. My First Summer In The Sierra. New York, NY. Barnes and Nobel. (pg. 10).

“Perched like a fly on this Yosemite dome, I gaze and sketch and bask, oftentimes settling down into dumb admiration without definite hope of ever learning much, yet with the longing, unresting effort that lies at the door of hope, humbly prostrate before the vast display of God’s power, and eager to offer self-denial and renunciation with eternal toil to learn any lesson in the divine manuscript.”

Oh, and to whom it may concern, I'm available as a volunteer to correct all the spelling and grammar mistakes that I found in the video transcripts. I've already provided a few samples in the 'Content improvement' messages that I've sent, and I assume you have my e-mail address.

por Jill W

Mar 22, 2017

Excellent course! Enjoyed it immensely and learned a lot! It was great to visit other mountain places around the world that I'll never see as well it was equally fantastic to see and learn about the mountains around my home. I had no idea about the Banff snail. I understand better the chinook systems that brighten my winter days. I am thrilled to see the return of the bison and saddened by the expedited loss of our glaciers. I loved the history, the poems and the pictures! You guys were great at explaining and showcasing, in understandable terms, some of the most majestic of earths creations as well as underlining the importance of stewardship and protection. Kudos to the University of Alberta for, as always, producing top notch research! Proud to be an Albertan! Thank you! :D

por Jakub M

Nov 08, 2019

I like this course very much. Mountains is my passion and thanks to this course i learn a lot of new things about mountains. From people who obviously like mountains and nature too. There is very much professional informations as well as lightweight tips for mountains trips. Videos which are made with various profesionals in different national parks in North America on various topics is very refreshable and interesting. I like finding the mountains on interactive map of the world in nearly every lesson. English language is on a perfectl level. I spent a great time in the company of these people who are professionals and love mountains. At the end of the course I was almost sad that the course ends. I really recommended this course to the people who loves mountains.