Chevron Left
Volver a Mountains 101

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mountains 101 por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.9
estrellas
2,304 calificaciones
863 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Principales reseñas

SK

22 de dic. de 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

DA

11 de feb. de 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtrar por:

826 - 850 de 865 revisiones para Mountains 101

por Corey B

15 de abr. de 2017

Awesome content. Really inspired me to bring out my love for biology, chemistry and nature. The downside is that in order to fully absorb the content, its necessary to take notes while watching the lectures. This added effort turns what says is a 20 minute lesson into an hour at the very least. Besides the time consuming nature of this course, it was awesome. I love the awareness that it brings to people from all disciplines about the potential harms that we are creating for our environment.

por Peter

18 de may. de 2019

Excellent course, interesting and wide-ranging in the selection of topics. As a student from Africa I would have liked a bit more of an international flavour, particularly around the dependency of populations on rapidly degrading mountain environments. The course is a bit Canada-centric, which is also very interesting for us foreigners, who envy the resources you can bring to the protection and study of mountains.

por Andrea G

6 de abr. de 2021

I found it to be a great way to learn and expand my knowledge of mountains. However I sometimes found the videos or additional information a bit distracting at times. But maybe I was also expecting something a little more scientific or focused on the building, formation, and science of mountains from a strictly geological aspect. Anyways still very happy I participated and experienced this course!

por Sue C

19 de mar. de 2022

Really enjoyed this course. As a visual learner would have been beneficial to have diagrams during the dryer parts so as to envision what instructor was saying. I will recommend to friends as we live so close to the mountains and spend alot of time there. Ths class containss important and interesting information. Thank you for offering it for free

por Elena M

10 de feb. de 2017

This was a great course. I am retired so I do not want extremely high level courses with quizzes that are very hard to pass. I feel this course was respectful of learners intelligence without going over the top. Well presented topics made it enjoyable. Also liked the interactive map learning, and tech tips. Thank you.

por Kevin J C

15 de ago. de 2019

Was very interesting until the last lesson. Don't agree with the whole man made climate change theory so it seemed to detract from the course, as did the cameo from our poor excuse for a prime minister. Skipping those parts made no difference in the course outcome so all good. Thanks for the rest of it tho.

por Yusuke S

12 de oct. de 2020

I had learned about much of knowledge and words of mountain, nature, and environmental.

The words what are learned in the class are sometimes specialized, so it might be feel difficulty at the class.

If you have interesting or curiosity about mountaineering, I 'll strongly recommend to take this class.

por Maxime L

30 de nov. de 2019

Very instructive and interesting. Didn't think it would cover so many different aspects of understanding. Especially the part talking about society and mountains.

On top of that it helps getting a better geographical culture of the world and may give you ideas for your futur vacations!

por Darren

5 de feb. de 2021

This course has an excellent variety of content, that is well-presented, and made very interesting. I really enjoyed the ways that academic and research knowledge was integrated with practical tips and suggestions. I also really enjoyed the guest speakers.

por Himal k

30 de abr. de 2020

I'm very thankful to mountain s101cousera to give me this kind of opportunities,and online courses ...it is very useful to who are free or studying students to burden their knowledge, skill capacity...thank u very much

😊😊😀🥰

por Deleted A

26 de feb. de 2019

Besides giving you a thorough explanation of mountains, it opens your eyes to all the famous places ( mountains) in the world. I think you look at the world differently after this course.

por Wally W

28 de jun. de 2021

Very informative with respect to the impact of mountains on our civilization. The lectures were presented very well and added greatly to the learning environment.

Well done.

por Jessica S

12 de ago. de 2019

The course is set up well with the videos (along with the text), quizzes and notes. A couple of the lessons are a bit dry but, overall, I truly enjoyed this course.

por Keira W

27 de mar. de 2020

I found the study and explanation of plant and animal biology and anatomy in alpine environments to be both fascinating and enriching. Thanks for the course!

por Brayden J

14 de may. de 2020

This was my first course on Coursera, and it was wonderful. I'll be looking forward to continuing Coursera in the future.

por Samuel R

15 de sep. de 2020

El curso está realizado de manera exquisita, buena calidad visual y con ejemplos reales en parques naturales de Canadá.

por J M

7 de mar. de 2017

Really interesting course and well done. Was really impressed with all the ressources and even guest speakers.

por Deleted A

3 de feb. de 2022

excellent presenters with great visual components...program ran smooth..learned a lot of inter related stuff

por GREG G

16 de mar. de 2017

Leave out the politics and controversial science stated as irrefutable fact.

por JEREMY C

7 de mar. de 2017

Fantastic course! Audio needs some re-mastering, was frustrating at times.

por Sanjana T

8 de feb. de 2021

A very engrossing and deeply engrossing course. Loved my classroom!

por Kenny C

4 de feb. de 2017

Highly recommand it to do it if you love Canada and its Mountains!

por Andrea G

21 de feb. de 2021

Very interesting and informative course on mountain environments.

por Edgar B

5 de may. de 2017

Buen curso para iniciar en el conocimiento de las montañas.

por Ian L A

28 de oct. de 2020

A fascinating overview of all aspects of mountains.