Chevron Left
Volver a Mountains 101

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mountains 101 por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.9
estrellas
2,409 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Principales reseñas

DD

2 de nov. de 2021

Great course, full of useful knowledge, interesting facts, magnificent landscapes and surprises like mountains environment itself. It was just amazing! Thank you so much, I really enjoyed this course.

GV

22 de oct. de 2022

It was a wonderful lerning experience for me. The content was great, the videos and lessessons were very enjoyable and enlightening. Bravo to the teams who created this couse, well done and thank you.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 899 revisiones para Mountains 101

por Guilherme R

9 de nov. de 2020

Fabulous! A must register for mountain lovers. Such a pleasure to complete this, it even makes me sad that it is over... videos are super well done, material is great. What a fabulous work to put this together, congratulations to University of Alberta and all those who worked on this wonderful program.

por ARLUCIO C R F

4 de may. de 2020

I enjoyed taking this course sooooo much!!! It's interdisciplinary approach of mountains made me broaden my views on these incredible landmarks and gave me ideas of how could I teach such and incredible subject in class in clever and innovative ways. Every minute learning about mountains was worth it!!

por Sulojana B

18 de nov. de 2017

This was my first MOOC and I really enjoyed the course. The material covered had a lot of diversity yet tied everything back to mountains, and it was really enlightening. I also appreciated the course notes at the end as it was a challenge to recall all the information that was shared in the videos.

por Benswing

10 de jun. de 2020

As a hiker and casual outdoorsman who recently visited Banff, Jasper & Yoho this was an incredibly interesting course! I teach environmental science and will definitely use much of the material here in my class. But it's also just really interesting to know. Thanks for such a fascinating course!

por Sophie P K

28 de jun. de 2018

I absolutely loved Mountains 101 and I recommend it for anyone that is pursuing a career in orology, or wants to appreciate mountains for their beauty. It gave me great insight into what can be done to save the mountains and their biota, and I also now appreciate mountains more than I did before.

por Kathy G O

16 de oct. de 2017

Great overview of mountains. I took the course to learn more about mountain geology after visiting the Rockies, but I stayed for the whole course because it was so interesting. he instructors were great and obviously passionate about the topics presented. I enjoyed it a great deal. Thank you.

por Juan S F C

28 de oct. de 2020

Already more fascinated than before about the mountain world. Also, I have to say that I'm a bit jealous for not being Canadian, but hopefully one day I'll be there, in such a beautiful country that you guys have.

Greetings from Colombia, and thanks for sharing this amazing amount of knowledge :)

por Dwight H

30 de mar. de 2021

The content of this course was exceptional. Both of the professors presented the material in a concise and interesting format. The photos and videos were of high quality. I learned a great deal about the world s mountains and the effects of climate change on the environment. Bravo.. well done .

por Bob R

23 de abr. de 2020

A very unique course that covers a spectrum of mountain related subjects. From geology, geography, biology, sociology and cultural issues, the course blends these together in an informative and synergistic approach that provides a unique understanding of the mountain environment. Great job!

por Matt I

29 de abr. de 2018

What a great course. I never knew mountains could be so interesting. Ever week I would learn some amazing new fact or resource to learn from. The scenery in the video were well done and now I want to visit Banff Nation Park.

I'd like to thank the entire team who put this course together!

por Sasha L

12 de ene. de 2018

This online Mountain 101 course is awsome! A great platform and excellent explanations on all of the topics covered. This is a perfect way to motivate people that are in love with the amazing outdoor nature and life to get going and learn on it! I highly recommand this course to everyone!

por Luisa F

26 de dic. de 2020

Excelente este curso, muy bien estructurado y encantador, desde el contenido fotográfico, hasta el académico. Felicitaciones a los docentes y gracias a todas las personas que hicieron parte de él y que nos enseñaron aprendizajes valiosos para complementar nuestros estudios profesionales.

por Victoria E

13 de may. de 2020

This has been an outstanding course. As someone who knew little about mountain environments I have been able to develop an understanding and appreciation for the complexity of mountains, the biodiversity of mountain environments and the contribution of mountain systems to everyday life.

por Aileen F

14 de nov. de 2020

I have taken a number of online courses over the last 10+ years on a wide variety of subjects. This has certainly proved to be one of them most interesting and informative ones! My first experience with an interdisciplinary course has certainly been a most positive one!

Aileen Fisher

por Jackelyn U

9 de ago. de 2020

Extensive scientific concepts were explained succinctly and neatly. I remained engaged throughout and especially appreciated learning about my own backyard in Alberta. A special thanks to everyone who made it possible. We shall have a refreshed perspective next time we hit the Rockies.

por Steven M

22 de ene. de 2017

Great course! Really impressive collaboration with other universities, government agencies, and cultural institutions (and MEC). Wish another week or two could be devoted to social and cultural themes, but really good to see historical content from beyond Western European perspectives.

por Pratik P B

19 de jul. de 2020

Exceptional course! Prof. Zac and Prof. David's video lectures along with the very important Tech tips were a treat to learn. The history, geography, geology, impacts, biodiversity, end lesson quiz, and also interactive map were very engaging and informative. Overall a great session!

por Sally S

6 de jun. de 2021

Loved the course. It covered a wide variety of topics and gave such a fascinating insight into many aspects of mountain life. Its a shame more of the references were not open access but there was still plenty of material to go through. Probably the best MOOC Ive ever taken. Thank you

por Carey T

3 de may. de 2021

Mountains 101 was a pleasure to participate in. It was great to see all the things people are doing to share the importance of Mountain places. This course has refreshed some of my own perspectives on the Mountain environment I call home and reinvigorated my sense of stewardship.

por Andreas A K

1 de may. de 2020

It's a great course! The best I have so far in my entire life, trust me! I'm a little sad that I finished the course already, because with that good quality of teaching materials I will never get bored with the entire course! Thank you for the professors and the other contributors!

por Steven S

31 de ago. de 2017

This course has been very interesting, engaging and very easy to follow. It covers a great range of topics and subtly puts across an important message about environmental protection. I'll likely complete it again shortly because there's a lot of useful information to take on board.

por Michel B

29 de mar. de 2022

¡Primero que nada agradecer por entregar este curso, he aprendido muchísimo y reforzado lo que he visto en terreno acá en Chile, país de montañas, pero sin cultura de montaña, mis saludos a quienes hicieron posible este curso y a quienes se esfuerzan por cuidar nuestras montañas!

por Ryan C

14 de may. de 2020

A very informative and thought out course. The videos are great and along with the transcript is perfect.

Love the little guide videos as well. Your attention may start to wander in some of the lengthier videos, but its a great course. worth the time and effort of completing it.

por Katie C

11 de oct. de 2020

Very clearly presented covering a variety of topical environmental and cultural issues, encouraging good practise in the mountains and an informative learning tool. Highly recommended for first time learners or as a refresher for those who already have a mountain background.

por Desislava D

19 de may. de 2020

Truly wonderful experience in the mountain world. Interactive teaching method with a lot of examples and expert opinions the course is suitable for mountain lovers regardless of their educational background.

Take your time and enter this illustration of the world we live in.