Chevron Left
Volver a Mountains 101

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mountains 101 por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.9
estrellas
2,261 calificaciones
846 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Principales reseñas

DS
2 de nov. de 2021

Great course, full of useful knowledge, interesting facts, magnificent landscapes and surprises like mountains environment itself. It was just amazing! Thank you so much, I really enjoyed this course.

DA
11 de feb. de 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 845 revisiones para Mountains 101

por Gerard d

22 de sep. de 2021

L​ooking to expand my knowledge of mountains and climate, this course also became a small place of refuge from the monotany of negative news cycles and working as an RN in an ER. Thankyou to our Mountain Guides for sharing their knowledge.

por Max G

27 de oct. de 2020

Excellent course. I’m neither a newcomer to Mountains, mountain cultures, mountain climbing nor mountain safety, and I found this course to be exceptionally entertaining and informative and just fun. Made me want to visit Canada! Thanks.

por Charles G

31 de jul. de 2020

This is a great thorough course on all aspects of mountain studies! However, it needs some updating. Some information provided is more than 5 years old. Many of the references are also old and some require additional fees for access.

por Kapil E

15 de mar. de 2020

An excellent course, very inspiring to see the Canadian Government efforts in conserving mountains. The lectures were all informative and shot in beautiful backgrounds. The tech tips were useful and fun! Overall a most wonderful course.

por Elizabet T

30 de abr. de 2021

Interesting and comprehensive. Thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the mountains I love, and many I had never heard about. The lessons were engaging. I plan on delving deeper into plate tectonics, volcanoes, and glaciers. Thank you!

por Clifford C

29 de jun. de 2020

Very thorough discussion for an introductory course. Definitely whet the appetite for additional coursework dealing with our natural environment. Very well delivered and easy to follow along. Thank you for providing this opportunity!

por Nara

11 de jun. de 2021

Fantastic Course.

I learnt a lot of aspects about Mountains - geological origin, structures, bio- diversity, importance of glaciers, impact of climate, human and other anthropogenic activities. Overall,a well planned,executed course.

por Julia M

19 de dic. de 2020

Very information course, great regardless of your academic background! I love the style of the lecture videos which include great tech tips, interviews, photographs, and demonstrations of concepts. Overall a really fantastic course!

por Lisa C

13 de sep. de 2020

I would give this course 10 stars if I could. It's fascinating and fabulous, extremely well produced, and really an overall excellent experience. It's been a Covid lifesaver- I've enjoyed the vicarious travel and beautiful scenery.

por Miko T

5 de sep. de 2020

Incredibly enjoyable course for anybody with an interest in mountains or even just in the environment in general. The lecturers are cool and the different segments are engaging. The tech tips are a really good bonus to each week.

por Kerianne H

8 de ago. de 2020

One of the best MOOC I have ever taken. So wonderfully instructed, edited and presented. So much time and collaboration was used and the result is amazing! So proud to have content of this caliber come from a Canadian University

por Kathy P

31 de ene. de 2021

What an interesting course focusing on mountains but I learned so much more than just information about mountains themselves. Wonderful instructors and guests that shared their knowledge made this a really enjoyable experience!

por Michael W

10 de ene. de 2018

Very interesting course, with excellent presenters. Having grown up in the small mountains of Cumbria (The English Lake District) it was very impressive to see and learn about the big mountain ranges of the world. Thank you!

por Jody

7 de feb. de 2021

What a great way to present mountains of the world in a compelling and understandable way. Thank you for a wonderful course. What a great base knowledge of mountains that will serve me well in future adventures and education.

por Dr.Shailashree S

20 de jul. de 2020

Thank you professors, the videos are so awesome that I felt like I am watching them really, so beautiful scenes of mountains and all other pictures, really enjoyed and seen all the videos completely, hats off to you sirs.

por Eamon H

15 de jul. de 2020

Great course covering a wide range of topics concerning mountains from physical geography, climate and biodiversity to human perspectives. Would highly recommend this course for anyone with an interest in mountain landscapes.

por Lydia W

19 de jun. de 2020

Mountains 101 was a pleasure to learn during lockdown. The videos were well paced and informative, and the lecturers and guest speakers were all brilliant. I'm really sad to have finished! Thank you (from Manchester, England)

por Shubham S

23 de ago. de 2020

outstanding experience , should be made available in multiple languages across the world specially in Asian countries at school level to educate young students to join forces against climate change and increasing pollution.

por Brice P

27 de ene. de 2018

Really good content and very interesting. The tech tips are a little vapid for the average outdoors person, but a good try to add something different.

My favorite was the module on altitudes effects and adaptations on humans

por Matúš S

2 de sep. de 2017

Excellent course, it provides very good information about mountains from various perspectives. I will make sure to go through this course once again in the future and get the certificate! Thank you for making Mountains 101.

por Arenell R

22 de sep. de 2020

I have completed 8 courses from various institutions over the past year and have found this course by far the best! I enjoyed the variety of aspects covered in much detail and inputs from different experts in their fields.

por Robert S

13 de jun. de 2020

I only wish there were a Mountains 102, 103, and more from the same University of Alberta team. I may suffer from withdrawal symptoms.....though a run in my local mountains after passing the last test was some consolation!

por Jan E

13 de may. de 2020

great multidisciplinary information in a appealing package, paired with relaxing mountain vistas - almost like a small vacation including interpretative hikes with park rangers, while I'm physically stuck at home - thanks!

por Svetlana R

13 de mar. de 2017

Learned a lots of really interesting infomation about mountains. Thanks a lot, it was realy beautiful and breathtaking adventure and I was sad it's finished - like I always feel when my journey somewhere comes to the end.