Chevron Left
Volver a Mountains 101

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mountains 101 por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.9
estrellas
2,338 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Principales reseñas

DD

2 de nov. de 2021

Great course, full of useful knowledge, interesting facts, magnificent landscapes and surprises like mountains environment itself. It was just amazing! Thank you so much, I really enjoyed this course.

DA

11 de feb. de 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtrar por:

351 - 375 de 878 revisiones para Mountains 101

por Randy S

10 de ago. de 2017

This course was my perfect re-introduction to learning. I haven't taken courses for approximately 20+ years and Mountains 101 was fun and engaging. Recommended to everyone.

por Jennifer D

5 de feb. de 2021

Well planned, diversity of topics covered provided many insights, beautiful imagery and detailed discussions with experts all contributed to a fantastic learning experience.

por Pooja S

30 de mar. de 2020

I thank Dr Zac Robinson and Dr David Hik for teaching extraodinarly. I thank coursera for having this topic. I love mountains and after learning this subject i love it more.

por Melissa D

19 de may. de 2021

Very informative course that covered mountain geography, wildlife, culture, and preservation efforts. It was well presented with a great mix of lectures and on-site videos.

por William R N J

24 de ago. de 2017

Great course, the best I've seen on Coursera. I'm now starting University of Alberta's Dino 101 course and look forward to other offerings from the University of Alberta.

por kana k

18 de abr. de 2017

I really enjoed each lessons and I've gotten much more interested in mountains around the world. I'll review all lessons again to make my understanding more deep and solid

por Faiz A R

30 de may. de 2020

All in all, this course has been amazing! It is a well-made course that approaches mountains from various perspective. Would recommend outdoor lovers to take this course!

por Tatiany P V

9 de may. de 2017

Foi o curso on-line mais incrivel que eu já realizei!! Parabens a todos!! As videos aulas, o cenario, a musica, o conteudo e explicacao. Simplismente demais!! Incrivel!!!

por Annesha K G

7 de mar. de 2017

Brilliant course on mountain. Learned many things from hiking to living of animals & human beings. Thank you Coursera & University of Alberta. Thanks for the certificate.

por Jojo N P

6 de jun. de 2020

It was absolutely a fascinating experience. Highly recommended. Thanks a lot for everyone behind this amazing course. I cannot wait for my first mountain expedition now!

por Chris H

21 de may. de 2020

Really well put together with a great variety of content and contributions from experts. Good graphics to help explain points and a variety of ways to store information.

por Osama M W M

9 de may. de 2020

so far one of the best courses I have ever attended, it is well prepared and well explained as well and it always made me feel just like watching a movie .. AWESOME :D

por Monika K

25 de abr. de 2020

beautiful pictures. practical information. great players. thank you very much. I love mountains and hiking and this course allowed me to understand and feel them more

por Tara E

8 de oct. de 2019

I really enjoyed this course, especially leaning about plant and animal adaptations to mountain living, and the actions Parks Canada has taken to protect biodiversity

por Les O

10 de ago. de 2017

This is a very good course for everyone who loves mountains. It provides amazing view points and a lot of insight for mountains, not only in Canada, but also the worl

por Ricardo M

18 de abr. de 2020

Great course! Good introduction to the mountain environment, but you'll have to do more reading if you want deeper information on things such as geology and ecology.

por Laurens N

9 de sep. de 2020

In short: great course.

Perfect upgrade of previous knowledge, incentive to get back into academic approach of mountains once again as well as professional.

Thanks!!!

por Aaron D

12 de jul. de 2017

I enjoyed every aspect of this course! I used to be an avid mountaineer and climber and this has reinstated my love of mountains and my desire to get back to them!

por Gabriel t

21 de mar. de 2017

Great Course! had a blast listening to the interesting and interactive lectures. The quiz at the end provided a good way to recap the knowledge gained. Good work

por Ken N M

16 de dic. de 2020

Amazing and full-on guide unto how to appreciate and protect mountains. Kudos to the creators and educators who have collaborated to make such an amazing course!

por RADHA K S

16 de jul. de 2020

Intricate knowledge on mountains and and the adaptations of the various species. This is an extraordinary course. Thanks to the Instructors and course designers

por Stephanie S

7 de may. de 2020

Thank you so much, the course was great. I learnt a lot amount mountain safety, weather, and how to better appreciate the mountains that I call home and cherish.

por Paul S

22 de dic. de 2020

Awesome course. Exquisitely produced, the course instructors are excellent with a wide range of guest experts. Would strongly recommend this course to anyone.

por Lisa A

9 de abr. de 2020

Very interesting, wide ranging and easy to understand content. I learned a lot, and was reminded of a lot I already knew about mountains and mountain habitat.

por Leah D

2 de feb. de 2021

For a course title as simple as Mountains 101, the course covered a very diverse range of topics. I loved the inclusion of present day Canada Parks examples.