Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Education

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Education por parte de HSE University

4.4
estrellas
92 calificaciones
31 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The processes of globalization are highly complex and influence the multi-layered structures of societies: economic, socio-cultural, political, linguistic and education aspects among others. A remarkable increase in global migration flows, especially over the last decade, required from the host countries to pay particular attention to the provision of equal education opportunities. Children of migrants, frequently not being (fluent) speakers of the official/national language(s) of the host country, need, and above all, have the right, to get access to good quality education. In addition, in today’s highly competitive labour-market, learning global/international languages (e.g. English) is seen as a necessity. How and at what age should children start learning an additional language (or languages)? Do bilingual/multilingual children perform better at school than their monolingual peers? Which language/education policies are successful and which are not? What challenges students and teachers face in a multilingual/multicultural classroom? What measures do educators, schools, communities need to take in order to make the multilingual and multicultural learning space more effective? The course Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Learning makes an attempt to provide answers to these and other related questions with reference to the latest research and discussion of different case studies. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - critically evaluate various teaching practices in multilingual and multicultural settings; - critically evaluate various language policies and planning programmes implemented in multilingual education settings; - obtain valuable insights to better understand the learning needs of students in a multilingual/multicultural classroom; - apply the knowledge you will have gained in this course, in multilingual/multicultural classrooms; - obtain essential skills to deal with immigrant/minority language students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Principales reseñas

JA
10 de feb. de 2021

This course was extremely helpful for a person that works with ESL students and needs continuos preparation to effectively manage a multicultural and multilingual classroom.

FP
8 de oct. de 2020

I learned a lot, thank very much to my virtual Professor, Denis Zubalov, Coursera, DOST Philippines - Caraga, and ASSCAT! Dugang kadasig!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 31 revisiones para Introduction to Multilingual and Multicultural Education

por Luz M S R

15 de ago. de 2019

The course offers important and interesting information, but the teacher limits to read the slides instead of explaining them. The topics and the tests are in disorder, and they contain some small mistakes. However, it did help me improve as a teacher and learn new things. It offered a new perspective on MME

por Chiara A

2 de nov. de 2019

Very interesting course that gives a very broad overview of the topic of multiculturalism and multilingualism.

por Isabella D S

13 de jul. de 2019

Great course! Thanks to Denis, It is perfect for those teachers that work in International Schools. Recommended!

por Valerie P d L

3 de ago. de 2021

The information was useful but REPEATEDLY the test questions asked about subject matter that had not yet been taught. This happened usually once or twice PER TEST, and I would later learn the answer/concept in a future unit. The course needs to be reviewed and edited. Obviously this course was active years ago, but the forums are completely dead now and there is no interaction. No additional assignments to apply the concepts. I would have appreciated recommended further reading. The mistakes in the quizzes, the lack of interaction, homework, and additional resources makes this course extremely dry. Considering the topic is EDUCATION, the course could have been much more dynamic.

por Marilyn

7 de ago. de 2020

I think the structure needs improving and some of the questions are grammatically confusing.

por 刘佳文

29 de sep. de 2018

This course is very useful in training a teacher's multicultural and multilingual consciousness, very practical in today's multicultural and melting-pot world. It really widens my horizon. Many aspects of this topic never occurred to me until I took this course and listened to the videos provided by the professor. M&M education is a very complicated cause, which demands careful thoughts, systematic operations and unsparing love for this field, with many things having to be taken into consideration. I highly suggest you take this course, no matter if you want to be an international teacher, whether you will participate in the educational field or not, because this course will open up your mind and facilitate your understanding of this world as a whole, in which diversity, pluralism and integration is the trend and ultimate goal of human society. It will be beneficial whatever walk of life you're from, as long as you are living in this multicultural world and continue interacting with other people, relatives, friends, teachers, classmates, bosses, colleagues...I promise!

por Oxana S

13 de may. de 2018

As a teacher of English and Spanish to all age groups in various settings myself, I am very glad I signed up for this course on multilingual and multicultural education. The material is completely relevant to my work, and I believe it will be very useful as I design my language curricula for the upcoming academic year. I am hopeful that what I learned here will help with individual learning as well as group cohesiveness, since my classrooms have diverse students with different backgrounds. The instructor, Denis Zubalov, was also very clear and concise, leaving no ambiguity in his presentation of course materials. I highly recommend this course, and I look forward to upcoming courses in this series.

por Asterilla J M

18 de jun. de 2020

This course sets a solid comprehensive, academic foundation for Multilingual and Multicultural Education through a examination of the most fundamental theories in the field. A great way to get your foot into the door into understanding the field.

por Titov D

12 de oct. de 2019

For me this course about multilingual/multicultural education is really interesting, because I work abroad now. The course has a good lecturer, structure and design, I recommend it to everyone who is interested in this topic.

por Gabriela T d S

22 de ago. de 2020

The videos are short and useful and my notes have never been this organized. I'm thankful to prof. Denis Zubalov and HSE for developing and offering this course that provided me the skills a language teacher must have.

por yael v g

4 de dic. de 2019

Excelente curso, aclaración de muchos conceptos y muy necesario para educadores de idiomas extranjeros / educadores que trabajan en sistemas educacionales multilinguales y multiculturales

por jessie a

10 de feb. de 2021

This course was extremely helpful for a person that works with ESL students and needs continuos preparation to effectively manage a multicultural and multilingual classroom.

por Abderrahmane L

19 de sep. de 2020

actually pretty good, i learned the deeper meaning of some terminologies that are commonly used by people left and right , thank you mr. zubalov denis

por Francis T P

9 de oct. de 2020

I learned a lot, thank very much to my virtual Professor, Denis Zubalov, Coursera, DOST Philippines - Caraga, and ASSCAT! Dugang kadasig!

por Baktiyar A

21 de jun. de 2020

if there were some self read material like other University course it will be more better, but I gained knowledge and thank you so much.

por Radia A A

28 de jul. de 2019

It has given me a new mindset and different perspective in the field of multiculturalism and multilingualism.

por Jessyca M

16 de jun. de 2020

This course gave me the opportunity of expand my knowledge about education in an inclusive pedagogical view.

por Innez M

13 de feb. de 2021

Really interesting and well developed course, not exactly what I was expecting but great nonetheless

por Shirley J

24 de nov. de 2020

Me gustó mucho este curso, porque abarca temas desde la pedagogía inclusiva.

por Cherry A V

8 de sep. de 2021

Excellent and thank you so much to our Professor

por APOSTOLIA F

10 de ene. de 2021

Very interesting course with top lecturer.

por Hamida M

22 de nov. de 2020

Thanks for this valuable course.

por Ronny V

7 de oct. de 2018

Great!

por Edmar O

11 de nov. de 2019

This course serves its purpose as an introduction to multilingual and multicultural education as it offers the historical, political, pedagogical, and practical perspectives of the language education in such setting. I just want to see the references integrated in the downloadable button of each week.

por Paul V d E

9 de sep. de 2020

Interesting course. Slides could be improved (max 6 lines with max 6 words per line). Instructor sometimes speaks too fast for this kind of course (even if you can stop and rewind). Some very creative pronunciation.