Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus por parte de Imperial College London

4.7
estrellas
5,175 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Principales reseñas

DP

25 de nov. de 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

SS

3 de ago. de 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 928 revisiones para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por Umesh S

11 de dic. de 2020

Excellent course !! .. nice balance of mathematics and intuition building. Pace is fast but its fun. Some assignments are challenging but very rewarding once you get it right. Will recommend to all data science enthusiasts to go through this course to build right base before digging deep in ML algorithms

por Taranpreet s

17 de sep. de 2020

I was quite satisfied with the learnings from the course 1 of the specialization, this course amazed me about how the calculus and linear algebra are knitted together to solve optimization problems efficiently. Quizes are very helpful in reinforcement of the concepts. Instructors are great as well.

por Xin Y

16 de abr. de 2020

Excellent course! All concepts are clearly explained. On a difficulty scale of 10 with 0 being easiest and 10 being hardest, quizzes are around 4 and programming assignments are around 1. The lectures are very well designed, with quizzes helping to reinforce key concepts you learned in the videos.

por Nikesh K

16 de abr. de 2020

I loved this course. Instead of going deep into mathematical terms, the professors try to create an intuition of those terms and the geometrical explanations further improve the understanding. So if you feel that you lack an understanding of the concepts then definitely go for this specialization

por David Z

26 de nov. de 2020

Great layout of topics and amazing approaches of handling course materials. Provide a great feel of mathematics and its application. Wow, i can't say thank you enough. Having done the abstract Mathematics with computer Science, this has made meaning to the importance of the program i pursued.

por Rishav K

1 de ene. de 2021

The course is excellent and informative, but keep in mind that it is not for absolute beginners. If one has some experience or if one is willing to take reference from other sources available on the internet. Then, it would certainly improve one's understanding of the underlying mathematics.

por anurag

8 de abr. de 2020

Great foundation course on maths involved in Machine learning . Also such a refreshing view on calculus that is taught in bachelor degrees of engineering. I was able to visualize each concept taught here thus making the learning much more fun and easy to remember, thanks to the professors.

por Bui V H D

16 de dic. de 2021

Wowwwww!!! I didn't learn math for a long time, about 2-3 years, and this course help me to recall my knowledge and learn somethings new.

It help my skill in math stronger and have a foundations for machine learning.

Big thanks for this course, for teacher and the Imperial College London.

por Nguyen N D

13 de jul. de 2020

I learned a lot from the materials. I found the programming assignments in every module is really fascinating with some really cool outputs! The instructors had smooth explanations, easy to understand. But one thing to improve is to have more examples of its applications in real life.

por Renato

1 de may. de 2020

The class is great, give you the fundamentals of multivariate Calculus, made me remember a lot and I have learnt a lot as well. A lot of work with you do everything yourself but it is fun specially because they mix the math on the paper and the math on the coding (python) really fun.

por LayKuan L

26 de dic. de 2019

The focus on building intuition about why were are using a certain technique to approach a certain problem, instead of grinding on endless calculus problems in a traditional undergraduate class is very helpful for learning quickly - the class covers a lot of material in a short time.

por Mikhail D

24 de may. de 2020

As good as the linear algebra course. Lots of important concept in calculus explained in a visual, intuitive way, without bothering the students with too much detail but making sure that they actually understand the concepts well. Both instructors and great and passionate lecturers.

por Maksym B

20 de sep. de 2020

Great course with an emphasis on intuition. The course is not complicated if you have taken calculus at school. It was a good refresher for me for basic calculus concepts and it has provided with great high-level understanding of the mathematical objects like Jacobian and Hessian.

por Alagu P P G

24 de jul. de 2020

this is a great refresher course for the intermediary basic on multivariate calculus.what you would learn is the math behind data analysis-regression,hessian,Jacobian more of the application of multivariate calculus.AND DO VISIT KHAN ACADEMY +FORUMS FOR FURTHER CLARIFICATIONS

por Arka S

27 de may. de 2020

A great course. Engaging videos, understandable and solvable quizzes and assignments, and enthusiastic instructors. Gained a lot of insight into the topic, and this is coming from a person who has done Multivariate Calculus in University. Loved the part on Taylor's theorem.

por Rob O

31 de may. de 2020

This is an excellent refresher course on differential calculus emphasizing applications to machine learning. Exercises and quizzes are a mixture of solving problems by hand and completing Python coding challenges. I found this course to be very effective and worthwhile.

por Niju M N

26 de mar. de 2020

Multivariate Calculus - part of Math for machine learning is a good course to brush up your math skills or to learn the basics of Calculus behind ML. Its a introductory course that helps to understand Taylor series, Jacobians , Hessians. OverAll this is a good time spent

por John M

10 de abr. de 2021

I thought the first half was better than the second, but I have taken a couple of courses on this stuff, and often the teachers get bogged down in the coding and fail to really 'explain' why the math works. I thought this was one of the better courses in that regard.

por Kuldeep J

25 de ago. de 2019

All the mathematical constructs and deep calculus was explained in a very intuitively with the help of visually rich animations. It seems the course content creators have spent good amount of effort in creating animations for every little useful thing, kudos to them.

por Bryan S

19 de feb. de 2019

I began this course without any knowledge of calculus and I was still able to get along decently well. I did a bit of supplementary work using Khan Academy but that was more to ingrain the calculus knowledge gained (product rule, chain rule, etc) within this course .

por Siddharth S

28 de may. de 2020

Very Intuitive and well designed course. I just feel that covering mathematical intricacies could help in better understanding of the concept and its application. Also I feel that this course of the specialization being very application based lacked coding exposure.

por Carlo C

5 de sep. de 2020

Well done!!!

The course is interesting and well organized.

Lack of Pyton knowledge from my side is sometimes critical to solve some exercises...

It's my intention, as soon as I'lI have complete the three couses, to attend a Pyton course to complete my preparation.

por Dr. N D

28 de jul. de 2020

Nice designing of the course. The perfect combination of mathematics and applications. Nice videos, well explanation of concepts along with the application. A good bridge between mathematics and its applications. Thanks to professors and Imperial College London.

por Osaama S

9 de nov. de 2019

This course is perfect for those who prefer to understand the intuition behind multivariate calculus, visualize the power of gradients in optimizing functions, and apply calculus to machine learning with robust understanding of underlying mathematical concepts.

por Avinash K M

17 de feb. de 2019

This course delivers its promise it is very crisp and concise. After completing this course I just feel I have remembered all vector calculus taken in my engineering maths (which is almost 8 years back) :)

I highly recommend this course to getting started ML/DL.