Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus por parte de Imperial College London

4.7
estrellas
5,178 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Principales reseñas

SS

3 de ago. de 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

DP

25 de nov. de 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 928 revisiones para Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

por ash g

18 de mar. de 2019

I am enjoying this course massively. I am on week 5 and the lecturer has been great so far. Some of the programming assignments are a bit easy as in some cases the blanks to fill in are rather self-explanatory.

The exercise questions progress in difficulty nicely and are sized well. References to tackle more questions to solidify the understanding could be good, however I recognise that the aim is to teach the intuition and then move on and apply it in Machine Learning examples, rather than being a mathematics course alone.

por Luiz G d R C

13 de mar. de 2021

This course is very important for a deep understanding of the main optimization algorithms used in several machine learning techniques, such as gradient descent with practical examples of fit linear and non-linear functions, in the course is shown also Lagrange multipliers for optimization with constraints and Raphson-Newton numerical method for to find the approximation of the roots of any math function. Recommended for people with or without a Calculus background.

por Nelson F A

22 de mar. de 2019

Very intense course. However, now that I have moved on to Andrew Ng's ML course, I am so glad I finished it. Understanding the math behind ML makes learning it so much more enjoyable. Before it was like shooting in the dark. My python code wouldn't and ML-concepts would take a lot of time and effort to sink in. Sometimes not at all... This course armed me with the tools to succeed in a career in ML and AI. Looking forward to finishing the specialization!

por 周玮晨

6 de jun. de 2018

his course really meet expetation.It really help understand a lot multivariate Calculusand build me intuitions.Now i'm confident in learning ml.

The content is abundant,i really love the visualization and programming work.The programming work is fascinating,elabrated-designed,fully explained,i want more and harder programming work.

Sam is very passionate, creating a excitied study atmosphere, i really like his stress when speaking.

por Kwame A G

28 de jul. de 2019

I'll call this course, Multivariable calculus made easy!!! Like the first course in this specialization, the lecturers tried to appeal to my intuition. Avoiding the very precise technical presentation in the traditional multivariable calculus course. Another impressive feature is how the applications were introduced. No need for any memorization as usually required everywhere else. Thank you coursera!!!

por Juan P M C

31 de ago. de 2020

Wonderful course! The teachers explain everything in such a clear way that if you pay enough attention and take notes throughout the videos you won't have many problems understanding the subjects. Also the assignments and tests help a lot in reinforcing what you just learned with all the clear instructions that guide you step-by-step through the several methods and algorithms of the course.

por Arnab C

3 de sep. de 2018

I found this one to be probably one the best courses on neural network if someone is keen to learn the underlying mathematics of it. The content of the course is very concise, enough to cover the most important parts that are required to learn machine learning and just enough depth. The quizzes and assignments are of excellent qualities. Overall, I will highly recommended this course.

por J A M

11 de mar. de 2019

Excellent class! Understanding the math "under the hood" of the Python, Matlab, and R libraries is indeed the missing link holding back many data scientists from truly achieving competence and excellence. This course addresses such lacunae squarely by tackling a robust menu of relevant mathematical methods. Well done and kudos to Imperial College for taking the initiative.

por Frank N

10 de feb. de 2021

This is excellent ! The instructors are awesome. You could tell they are ready to help us learn. I did not have a technical background and had no prior knowledge. Just have your basic math skills intact and you would have a great experience with mathematics.

Note: I have already moved on to other higher level courses in data science and have come back to testify.

por Aravind T E

15 de nov. de 2020

If you are beginner or came here to know about how math is applied in Machine Learning, this course is for you. The instructors are technically sound and the video quality is great. The assessments are intriguing and literally I fell in love with math after this course. Thank you Imperial College London and Coursera for providing this course.

por John F

1 de may. de 2020

Great course. In my view students need to supplement their learning with material from the Kahn Academy and 3Blue1Brown youtube channel - as recommended in the resources section of the course. Thanks to David and Sam.

por Preetam S R

17 de jul. de 2021

Samuel J. Cooper is one of the best teachers I've been taught by till date. His ability to build an intuition about concepts and more than that his desire to do so really helps to get a strong grasp over the concept.

por Lorenzo

23 de oct. de 2019

Very clear and concise course material. The inputs given during the videos and the subsequent practice quiz almost force the student to carry out extra/research studies which is ideal when learning.

por Ashish S

15 de abr. de 2018

Excellent course!

I studied multivariate calculus during engineering. I hardly understood the concepts at that time, this course helped me understand and visualize what is going behind formulas.

por João S

17 de abr. de 2019

I liked the course specially because I finally understood Backpropagation, an old frustration from Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course. It covers the main topics for Mathematics for Machine Learning as promised. Two weak points: (1) the Newton-Raphson convergence problems, superficially covered in the lectures, but has a challenging test, no forum support, no other source indicated for helping us. (2) The forum is abandoned. I've set two problems, one of them about an error in a lecture and the second about the problem with Newton-Raphson lecture. No responses from the lecturers or mentors.

por Cesar E B G

29 de abr. de 2022

T​he course was ok. Specially the first four weeks. However, on week 5 and week 6, there is a change of instructor. He talks very fast, and do not stop to explain with greater detail the concepts, nor he visualise with examples. He just declares what's happening. with now emphasis on the underlaying concept, which makes the subject, already complicated, more challenging. Conversely, the first instructur has a gift for teaching. He really knows how to portray calculus in an easier way to visualise.

por Khai T

5 de mar. de 2022

I do not recommend this course for anyone who are true beginners in calculus. Although the course states that it is for beginners, it is not. You must have a strong background in calculus, numerical methods and mathematical optimization to understand what the instructors are saying. There are also a huge gap between theory and exercises (for example, none mentioned about the convergence condition for Newton - Raphson method, but in the exercises, you have to cope with this condition). The resource sheet is quite oversimplifed, beginners cannot get any useful information from the sheet (as you mentioned in the beginning of the course, you want the learners to capture the intuition of the problem, but there are no intuitions fact in the sheet). Overall, if you are a veteran of Calculus, Numerical methods and Mathematical optimization, this course will help you revise your understanding about the fields; otherwise, you should take "true beginner courses" by watching 3Blues1Brown on Youtube or take Khan Academy courses before enrolling for this one.

por Benjamin F

1 de nov. de 2019

Relevant content. Great instructions. Likable instructors. Very bad coding assignments.

por Maprang

1 de jul. de 2020

I'd have loved to give a 5 or at least a 4-star but really the explanations on each topic have gaps, which make it super hard to know what really was going on. One could have never completed this entire specialization with only the materials in the course. A lot of further research is required to understand the concepts and to complete the assignments. The 2 stars I gave are mainly for the assignments which help to reinforce the learning and the help that other students provide in the forum. However, I don't regret having taken this course. I'm just little disappointed because I thought I'd have gotten more out of this course than I actually did.

por Ong J R

23 de jul. de 2018

Course videos and quizzes are good and content is clearly explained. However, too many concepts are covered with too little depth. For example least squares and non-linear least squares involve fundamental concepts that should be covered and alone, would at least 2 weeks to teach. Lagrange multipliers and Taylor series are barely introduced with very little mathematical derivation involved. I had the impression that I would learn more mathematical theory than machine learning in this course, it didn't turn out to be so.

por Oliverio J S J

26 de may. de 2020

This mathematics for machine learning course is not a mathematics course. It starts well, explaining mathematical concepts and, suddenly: neural networks, python programming, numpy, scikit... The speed at which the concepts are explained makes it impossible to assimilate anything unless you already know the concepts beforehand, which means this course only serves as a refresher course.

por Steve

5 de ago. de 2020

The ideas the course hopes to present are good and relevant but the presentations are so poor that most of my learning of the material came from finding outside sources like Khan Academy. Often, important new ideas were roughly and quickly explained with not enough detail to give the student the intuitions needed for understanding. Often the practice quizes asked questions that were not properly covered in the videos so you need to go to the forums or elsewhere to gain the understanding needed.

por Sven A

7 de oct. de 2020

Extremely well built course. The quality of materials is excellent and practice exercises really help to deepen the understanding. But what I did like the most were programming assignments, where students are asked to implement mathematical equations as python scripts. The reason I liked such assignments so much was that I needed to build a general understanding (and sometimes come up with general solutions on paper) before writing the code. I did not need any background knowledge of python, because I only needed to write arithmetical equations, pretty much using python as a calculator. In that way I had a chance to focus on the subject matter while leaving python do all the calculations. Now, if I screwed up something in my equations, there were tests written for me, where I could check my solution (e.g. presenting visually how well my script did etc.). That really helped the learning process.

por Iacopo C

26 de ago. de 2020

Although the course doesn't cover all of the details of a traditional calculus course, it helps you build an understanding of the fundamentals in the language of calculus, as well as some intuition as to where it might be usefully applied in machine learning.

The lecture videos are top notch and overall both instructor do an amazing job in teaching and developing the intuition required to understand the meaning of the tools used in multivariate calculus. The quizzes are strongly related to what's taught and even what's best, the programming assignments (for which is not required any programming ability) show how to use in practice what you learned.

I think the enthusiasm of the instructor is the cherry on top since it makes a huge difference when it comes to delivering the content precisely and effectively.

por Magesh J

23 de may. de 2021

The course gives an in-depth knowledge of vector calculus and how it used for fitting data by software programs like MATLAB and PYTHON. The course videos themselves may not suffice to complete the course and the tasks. I had to refer to KHAN ACADEMY and other internet resources to understand better the concepts being taught in the course. The assignment questions range from medium to hard type and require additional time and resources to complete them. The Python codes included in the assignments may look strange if you haven't done any courses on Python. Overall, the course meets my expectations, and I strongly recommend it to anyone looking to move to data science careers.