Chevron Left
Volver a Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why por parte de Universidad Duke

4.3
estrellas
568 calificaciones
147 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Principales reseñas

TT

May 17, 2020

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM

Sep 22, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 143 revisiones para Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

por maria e b m d

Jan 28, 2020

muy didáctico aun cuando no seas médico ni músico. explica bien un analsis de la música como parte de la expresion del ser humano

por Jooe D V

Mar 30, 2020

M encanto el curso porque pude aprender muchas funciones del habla generado por la música y sus distintos Orígenes culturales

por Fernando V

Apr 12, 2018

It was a nice experience to learn about the Biology of the music. Very complete and explained course. Thanks

por Manuel P Y

Sep 14, 2020

Excelente curso. Creo que no se ve la música desde un sentido biológico, si no también físico y matemático.

por Ian E C A

Nov 20, 2017

Supremamente interesante y completo. Dio respuestas a varias preguntas que me formulaba frecuentemente.

por A.k.m. N H ,

Apr 16, 2020

If u wanna learn about Music Theory, Evolution & Neuroscience at the same time, hurry up and enroll...

por Ebraheem S

Aug 10, 2020

I have really enjoyed learning through this course and I wish to take my PHD about the course's topic

por Noel A

Aug 22, 2020

It was well organised, and I learnt more than what I expected myself to learn from this course!

por Peregrine H

Jan 02, 2018

Muy buen curso, bastante interesante y muy educativo. En otras palabras esta muy completo.

por Renny G L

Aug 29, 2018

Very interesting course! especially if you are musician or you like Physicis and Biology

por Samara S

May 29, 2020

Great course! Helped my further feed my interest in music and biology!! Thank you! :)

por Lluis G T

Nov 29, 2016

I learned awesome things on that course, things that I never imagine

por Eduardo A

Nov 27, 2016

Awesome course! I really liked it a lot, it has been very usefull!

por Pablo C

Nov 13, 2017

Awesome. This is probably the best online course I've ever taken.

por Marilen A B

Sep 26, 2020

Demasiado interesante, te abre la mente de manera sorprendente.

por Julián A G M

Jan 12, 2018

¡Excelente curso, gracias por la oportunidad de aprendizaje!

por Miguelina G

Aug 29, 2019

Excelente curso, entusiasmada para aprender más. Gracias!

por Sergei R

Apr 28, 2017

Great theory about music origins! thank you) was enjoyed!

por mtakara

Aug 27, 2020

very interesting and enlightening. great instructor too

por Erich C

Oct 03, 2016

Very interesting, a stimulating and in depth course!

por Shivani R

Jul 19, 2020

GOOD EXPERIENCE TO LEARN A NEW SUBJECT. I LIKED IT.

por Walerson S C

Mar 29, 2016

Nice approach of great issues! Highly recommended!

por Karen B

May 21, 2017

Excelente curso, me encanto.

100% Recomendado

por muntassir h

Sep 16, 2019

It was an amazing experience studying this.

por Theo L

Apr 23, 2018

Really informative and superbly in depth