Chevron Left
Volver a Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why por parte de Universidad Duke

4.3
estrellas
568 calificaciones
147 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Principales reseñas

TT

May 17, 2020

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM

Sep 22, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 143 revisiones para Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

por Aoyu Z

May 21, 2017

that's useful, intriguing and fantastic!

por Alan d J G R

Jan 13, 2018

De los mejores cursos que he tomado.

por Bart S

Mar 01, 2016

do this course again, great course!

por Ekaterina K

Aug 03, 2017

Very good and interesting course

por Hanwen D

Sep 22, 2017

Very nice scheduled course!

por Tamara L

Jun 18, 2017

Amazing Course! Thank You!

por Claire G

Jun 17, 2020

very interesting course

por Stephanie T

May 20, 2017

Incredibly good :)

por Valeria S

Aug 09, 2016

Excellent course!

por David A M

Sep 04, 2020

Excelente curso.

por Harini

Jul 02, 2020

It's very useful

por Julio C G L

Aug 09, 2017

Excelente curso.

por Praveen K

Jul 27, 2017

A great Course !

por HERNAN S L

May 06, 2020

Great for me.

por Alfonso B A

Mar 06, 2020

very helpful

por Natouchka M F

Feb 26, 2020

Excellent 🤩

por Sarah G d S

Oct 03, 2018

Fantastic!

por Krisztian H

Jun 13, 2017

Very good!

por Juanjo R C

Dec 06, 2017

Genial :)

por Juan A C B

Nov 30, 2017

Excellent

por Hooman S

Mar 24, 2016

Fantastic

por Camila P

Sep 08, 2020

Accurate

por Miguel Á T

Jun 24, 2018

Great.

por Yana Y

Apr 28, 2020

The course was very interesting and created for me a new way of thinking about music. However some subjects were very difficult for me to understand. In simple words - things which I didn't know before (biology) I could hardly follow. And also the music theory - if I wasn't a professional musician, I couldn't have understood the explanations. I understood them, because I knew them.

por David B

Aug 03, 2016

Interesting and well presented. I completed the entire course, all lectures and assignments. However, week 1 is persistently listed as "overdue" even though it was actually completed ahead of time. Please remove from the "overdue" status which incessantly prompts me to join an upcoming new session. I enjoyed the course but this technical snafu is annoying.