Chevron Left
Volver a Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why por parte de Universidad Duke

4.3
estrellas
568 calificaciones
147 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The course will explore the tone combinations that humans consider consonant or dissonant, the scales we use, and the emotions music elicits, all of which provide a rich set of data for exploring music and auditory aesthetics in a biological framework. Analyses of speech and musical databases are consistent with the idea that the chromatic scale (the set of tones used by humans to create music), consonance and dissonance, worldwide preferences for a few dozen scales from the billions that are possible, and the emotions elicited by music in different cultures all stem from the relative similarity of musical tonalities and the characteristics of voiced (tonal) speech. Like the phenomenology of visual perception, these aspects of auditory perception appear to have arisen from the need to contend with sensory stimuli that are inherently unable to specify their physical sources, leading to the evolution of a common strategy to deal with this fundamental challenge....

Principales reseñas

TT

May 17, 2020

This course helped me to see music from a different angle i.e through history and biology. Prof. Dales is a wonderful human being and has a beautiful gift of explaining things in a much simpler way.

MM

Sep 22, 2016

This course has helped me to understand biological psychology of humans towards music. Based on this knowledge i am confident to create music which will seem good to the ears of humans.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 143 revisiones para Music as Biology: What We Like to Hear and Why

por john d

Oct 19, 2018

I enjoyed the course even though it seemed to raise as many questions about music as it answered. As a song writer, I am constantly searching for that special melody which combines both voice and guitar, a combination not mentioned in the course. It seems like voice and music instruments for a unique relationship in music that I love.

por Tim M

Dec 21, 2016

A well presented course introducing good background material regarding the physiology of human sound perception. It loses marks from me because of its seemingly obsessive fixation on the vocalization similarity hypothesis as the basis for aesthetic preference in music without a rigorous presentation of supporting evidence.

por Helen W

Jun 23, 2020

As a student currently studying music, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It has given me a greater understanding of why we enjoy music from a perceptive that is not usually covered from a musicians perspective. I am sure that this will make me consider many things differently in the future.

por Ana L M T

Oct 16, 2017

Para una persona que se dedica a la educación musical, este curso es de suma importancia , muestra las cuestiones biológicas que son el punto de partida para aprender sobre este maravilloso arte, esta completísimo y explicado de forma progresiva.

por Didier J

Apr 06, 2018

Musica como biología....Esperaba más biología. Como y porque nos afecta la música y como podemos utilizarla para sonoterapia. En términos generales, musica como biología es un buen inicio para tomar conocimientos del tema. Gracias.

por Mäynard S

Jan 26, 2016

The content is great. But there's not a lot of activity on the discussion boards, and there are some technical issues with the quizzes (using future lesson material on current quizzes). But the content is really fascinating.

por Tal K

Sep 11, 2017

I learned a lot from this course! So interesting! Not having a scientific background, I found some concepts a bit challenging and took some effort to get. But once understood I was amazed and was well worth the time put in!

por Ognjen Š

Oct 01, 2016

Quite an interesting course connecting various fields such as mathematics, physics, brain science, music and music theory. I am giving it 4 stars as I feel that some explanations are weak and need more elaboration.

por Robert D

Dec 13, 2017

This is a very fascinating view of the origins of musical intervals and scales and harmonies that I had never considered before. There is a lot I will follow up. Thanks to Dale Purves for making this available.

por Raymundo A

May 28, 2019

This course works fairly well for those who look forward to quenching their thirst of knowledge. It is not only useful for those who study a program related to the are, but also for inquisitive people

por Fabian A I M

Jun 14, 2020

It is a really useful course to know the most primal factors determining our inclination to like music. It has a lot of good empirical examples, and really good topics for each individual interest.

por Sandra A K

Aug 16, 2020

The technical aspects were a little difficult for me, and the tests didn´t always reflect the material taught, but it was an interesting class and gave me a new perspective on music.

por Jenifer N R N

Oct 20, 2017

It's a really good curse to learn and discover different facts about, music,biology (sense of hearing) and emotions. How is the mood sense affected by music.

por Margaret F

Sep 17, 2016

This course was fairly interesting. The argument that the notes of our scale are linked to human vocalisation, not just in the West, but the whole world.

por Christine

Jun 05, 2020

The course materials, videos and lectures were great. The quizzes were a bit odd - strange wording and sometimes out of order with the teaching units.

por Claire C

Sep 11, 2016

The very dull voice of the teacher makes him sound as if he is bothered about teaching the course.

interesting info otherwise.

por Linda t B

Aug 18, 2016

An interesting course about some biological aspects in music as well as some comparing examples between cultural styles.

por Jeong K

Jun 05, 2017

It was an interesting course and thought something novel. There was some difficulty in understanding scales.

por Julian B C

Dec 06, 2016

Very interesting, specially in evaluating how necessary the complexity in music is for composers.

por Rakshak T

May 02, 2016

Very informative and interesting. However the quizzes didn't coincide well with the lectures.

por Kimiko S

Sep 19, 2016

I enjoyed learning this class. I was interested in the scientific aspect of music.

por Vladimirs Z

Mar 06, 2016

Good video content, but quizzes need to be revised.

por Yuliia S

Jun 25, 2017

Thank you for this course.

por MIGUEL A C G

Jul 11, 2017

Muy bueno

por Kristin H

May 27, 2017

Good course, and a very interesting overview of the human auditory system, the significance of the harmonic series, and a biological perspective on what attracts us to music and how we have developed a musical language. The instructor is very narrative in his lecture style, so I found it helpful to follow along with the transcriptions - he tends to talk on about a point, and it is easy to miss the main point in all of his clarification. I was not a fan of the quizzes; I found them to be confusing in verbiage, often focusing on obscure points within the lectures, or using terminology not addressed in the lectures at all. I also think the course would benefit by the inclusion of a Music Theorist to explain the musical concepts, as the Instructor is a Neuroscientist, and misspoke on music theory a few times; it also would have broken up the uniformity of mostly one speaker throughout a 6-week course. But overall, I thought that this course was very good, and covered some very interesting material, and that the Instructor was very knowledgeable on a variety of topics, and very engaging. He did a great job explaining difficult concepts until you GOT it, even without a scientific background.