Chevron Left
Volver a Music Business Foundations

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Music Business Foundations por parte de Berklee College of Music

4.9
estrellas
2,172 calificaciones
578 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course has been developed to provide students with the latest instruction on the best way for creators, consumers, and facilitators to navigate the resurgence of one of the world’s most exciting industries: the music business. Three things are clear about today’s music industry: The consumption of music is expanding at the greatest rate in history and from the most portals ever imagined, the cost of producing music is decreasing, and the number of artists creating and seeking to expose their work and develop careers through the Internet has increased dramatically. Whether you’re a music creator, consumer, or facilitator of this process, you’ll want to understand the history, underpinnings, and basics of the music business. Course author John Kellogg—administrator, educator, entertainment lawyer, performer, and radio and television personality—offers students the opportunity to learn the fundamental principles of the developing new music business, for now and into the future. What you'll learn: -- The basic history of the music industry and today's business trends -- How recording agreements are formulated -- The basics of copyright law as it pertains to the music business -- The role of agents, managers, attorneys, and specific business entities...

Principales reseñas

BD
22 de oct. de 2017

This course was very useful and important to me, I plan on venturing in the music world very soon and knowing/ equipping myself with all of these will come in pretty handy for me. Thank you immensely.

DK
21 de feb. de 2016

I advise this great course to everybody who wants to learn more about music industry in general, music business principles and tricks, including all types of agreements and principal actors.

Filtrar por:

501 - 525 de 563 revisiones para Music Business Foundations

por ameya h

3 de dic. de 2018

A

por Eric M F

17 de feb. de 2016

E

por Adam M

11 de dic. de 2020

A great first step in a career in music business! Looking forward the the continued courses for the specialization. Area's of improvement: At many times I found that the course was too heavily focused on the American music industry. Throughout various studies in Canada we always try to look at industries globally, especially as the world becomes more connected. I would have liked examples and incite into what other countries are doing. The course is also a little dated (I would guess around 2013). I don't think a major overhaul is necessary, but even some footnotes under each video mentioning important changes since the course was published. Thank you Berklee for this fabulous opportunity, I really appreciated it!

por Laura J C R

8 de abr. de 2020

Es un buen curso si tu nivel de conocimiento es bajo o muy bajo. Personalmente, sin haber estudiado nada de producción musical pero entendiendo de la industria del cine y audiovisuales, para mí ha sido un aprendizaje demasiado básico. Pienso que el profesor se centra mucho en hablar de sus logros y de su carrera, casi como si se estuviera haciendo propaganda, y desde el punto de vista de alguien que no lo conoce y que busca más una formación que no una entrevista con él, es cansino. Esto no quita que haya aprendido mucho, y que ahora pueda decir que realmente entiendo las bases de la industria musical y su funcionamiento.

por Brett M H

14 de ago. de 2018

You learn a lot in a short amount of time. John Kellogg introduces you to his awesomely funky pass and it's very cool. He is an educator that provides you with a history of the industry and how to protect yourself. Ultimately, out of all these courses, I thought this was really helpful. My first course here at Coursera, and it allowed me to want to take more. John Kellogg provides a lot of tangible information and ideas based on his experiences and it's clear that his trajectory as an artist led him to pursue the legal and business side of music. He is awesome, so is this course.

por Mihir B

29 de abr. de 2020

The course was great in laying the foundations of the music business especially to people who are interested in learning about it. However, a lot of information belongs to how the music business used to work before 2015, before streaming actually took off. I think it's important for people to know more about streaming services, now that they are the most popular form of consuming music and since the consumption of physical media has declined a lot in music. Having some more information about the streaming services would offer a lot to people.

por Nishanth V

26 de oct. de 2015

Really loved the structure of the course.John kellog's lectures are even though they are a bit boring in the initial stages, they are very important and they create an life long impact on you if you try to focus.I love the way how berklee professors just carry the whole course just sitting with a black background.It needs great skills and experience to have such confidence in presenting a lecture like that..I'm always thankful to coursera for providing this educational courses. Coursera and Berklee college of music for life!

por Pranati N V

4 de jul. de 2020

The course was very information, and contained a lot of knowledge about the music business. It was very helpful in identifying all the roles various personnel play in the industry. However, the information is slightly outdated. While the course gives projections on the paradigm shift into the digital world, it has not been updated to include what these changes are. Beyond, that I am glad to have the opportunity to study this course as it did give a good amount of insight into the music industry.

por Augusto J B A

29 de may. de 2020

It´s a good course, definitely. Not being American, part of the content has little use to me. The instructor is great. His passion for music is authentic. It would have been useful having an experience, in the first person, of someone who is a job manager. The artist point of view is very well exposed. The business manager hurdles are somewhat forgotten. Anyway, I did enjoy the course and I hope I´ll take advantage of it in the near future.

por Eva F P

15 de jun. de 2020

It's a really good course. Lots of information, the teacher is very knowledgeable and engaging. I feel like I learnt a lot, and I feel like EVERYBODY who works in the industry should know what is taught here. My main issue with the course is that it's clearly old, so some of the content and examples should be updated. The forums are also old and there isn't much activity there.

por Sander V

7 de oct. de 2017

Very good overview of the current state and history of the music industry. Very eloquent teacher, but for max efficiency increase speed to 1.25/1.5. Only downsides is the major focus on the US market. Although somewhat applicable to European and Asian markets, I do believe certain aspects are different in these markets and could be pointed out in extra course material.

por Rogelio c l

2 de feb. de 2021

The course is really easy going, easy to understand and interesting. Of course, it is focused on USA's music industry and laws and for a foreign people is at some point a little bit frustrating because the differences between USA's music industry and the Spanish one are really significant. However, it is good to know the basics of such a big part of USA economy.

por David B K

30 de jun. de 2020

I enjoyed this introductory course from Berklee and the instructor. It would be a great course for someone who is looking to have a career in the music business as an entertainment attorney. I will consider taking the additional courses in this Specialization in the future.

por Leonardo C

23 de dic. de 2017

Interesting course. It gives you a wide notion of roles in music industry and how the recording and live performance market has evolved during the year. The only problem is that it is extremely focused on US market and it's particular laws

por Hermione S

10 de abr. de 2020

This was a well put-together course with lots of great real-life examples by the lecturer. One of the things that they could do to improve this course is to update the content (I think the latest update was somewhere between 2014-2016).

por Elysia S

8 de dic. de 2015

A very informative introductory course, providing basic knowledge and overview of practices in the music business. Particularly useful for artists who want to be educated on the financial and legal aspects in managing music career.

por Melissa L

2 de may. de 2020

VERY informative and extremely useful. It's slightly outdated in that it's a few years old and we're currently in the middle of a huge shift within the industry itself. The Do It "OUR"selves info is extremely important to know.

por Zachary M

19 de oct. de 2016

This course is very informative about the financial aspects of the music industry. It's sometimes hard to keep my eyes open during the videos, but I think that has more to do with the subject matter than John's presentation.

por Shubham C

10 de may. de 2020

The course is super informative and will give you great Insights about the industry but the syllabus are very old. Probably from 2013-2014 and the industry has grown exponentially after that and it doesn't cover that.

por Leonardo R

13 de oct. de 2020

Thank you for this great course. John is such a great Instructor! and I think I received great info. The only things that I would suggest to include are: more tools in this digital era to be succesful.

por Olga S

12 de jun. de 2017

The course is good. But I would like to hear something about rights in digital music, rights for cover versions. Is it possible to add this information to the course? Would be great.

Thank you

por EMILIO N

21 de nov. de 2020

Excelente metodologia de enseñansa y la informacion es inaluable, pero deben poner subtitulos en español, se supone que este curso se adapta al idioma español, por eso lo habia tomado

por Rufina P

2 de ago. de 2020

overall there's a lot of valuable knowledge being shared, but it seems like the curriculum could use an update so that it's more up-to-date for the global music industry in 2020.

por Jimmy T

3 de nov. de 2016

Very complete for artists, a little less adapted for professionals from outside US but gives you solid understanding of the industry.

por Mia H

8 de nov. de 2017

The information provided in this course is very straight forward and easy to understand. Having the text on-hand has been