Chevron Left
Volver a Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life por parte de Universidad de Chicago

4.9
estrellas
1,908 calificaciones
618 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn how the nervous system produces behavior, how we use our brain every day, and how neuroscience can explain the common problems afflicting people today. We will study functional human neuroanatomy and neuronal communication, and then use this information to understand how we perceive the outside world, move our bodies voluntarily, stay alive, and play well with others....

Principales reseñas

PM
22 de mar. de 2020

This course has turned out to very profitable, especially if you are not an expert in anatomical and clinical terms as is my case. In my opinion, this course is extremely interesting, congratulations.

VK
26 de jul. de 2020

This course has been an eye-opener for me and has helped me to better understand the brain from a perspective of empathy towards those suffering from debilitating disorders, thanks to Professor Mason.

Filtrar por:

601 - 616 de 616 revisiones para Understanding the Brain: The Neurobiology of Everyday Life

por LEONARDO B C

31 de jul. de 2019

Muy buen curso! Solo que la producción podría mejorar.

por Adam K

18 de oct. de 2017

Great Course for people who are new to this field!

por Stuart R

14 de jun. de 2019

A good course that sometimes stalled a little.

por javeria a

13 de jun. de 2017

its gives us better info about our daily life

por Josiah S C

20 de feb. de 2020

Good format and interesting material!

por Ana M R

26 de abr. de 2017

very clear and ussefull... thanks!!

por MD S

12 de may. de 2020

Everything is well designed

por Sandipana C

27 de ago. de 2018

interesting!

por Desta Y

23 de may. de 2020

Nice

por Hannah M

21 de mar. de 2021

Dr Peggy was incredible. Personable, funny, engaging, and easy-to-understand. Her love of neurobiology was infectious, and it was a delight to be guided through the subject material by her. I couldn’t have asked for a better teacher.

My biggest gripe with the course is that it is entirely too dense. Each week contained far more information than, I think, should be packed into these short modules. By week 6, my interest levels were lagging behind my growing exhaustion. I just wanted to be done with it - which I felt guilty about given, again, how great Dr Peggy is and how keen I initially was. It might make more sense to split the course into two: an introductory course that takes you through the basics, and a second intermediate course that delves into the more complex topics which were not adequately explored.

Often, Dr Peggy would mention something, a quick aside that seemed not-too-important, only for it to show up in the final quiz. And on a handful of occasions quiz questions would refer to material not covered in the class, altogether. Other times the anatomy labs (which were optional to watch) would introduce new information, rather than simply support the primary video teachings. Furthermore, as the weeks progressed, quizzes became significantly harder to pass as no marks were given for individual answers in “Check all that apply” questions. Finally, many of the additional resources provided need to be updated either with working links, or simply newer content.

Overall, my experience with the course was mostly pleasant, but I would think twice before recommending it to others (especially if, like me, their last biology class was in high school).

por Paisley C

21 de feb. de 2021

This course is fascinating and I really love the professor. She has a great sense of humor and a very deep understanding that translates into practical descriptions that are relatively easy to understand. That said, this is not an easy course for laymen —I mean its neuroscience so I didn't expect it to be easy.

My biggest beef was with the testing. On at least two occasions there were questions in the tests that covered information from topics we had yet to cover. While it has been many years since I have taken college-level tests, I found these test to be incongruent with the lectures. Sometimes it was the wording that caused a challenge; professor would use one term in lecture and a different term in the exam. Even with copious note taking (sometimes I would write down her words verbatim in my notes) I would still not always be able to answer questions correctly. Other times I found the critical thinking jump between what I learned and how to apply that knowledge to a problem presented on the test just too big. Again, I'm not a scientist, but still.

Overall, an interesting course, but be prepared for the tests to be a little challenging!

por Dr. B S K

18 de jun. de 2021

Pros:

The instructor clearly has extensive knowledge over neurobiology

Cons:

a) The instructor was sexist in nature. It's all about "her"...

b) Assessment: Clearly whoever wrote assessments had no idea about assessments.

Assessments reflected a huge leap in contrast to the content presented through the videos. It is as if videos were presented for students, while assessments were written for doctors or experts in neuroscience.

At time multiple choice questions had 7 choices. 4 is the maximum. There are other ways to test a participant's knowledge.

Several of the multiple choice questions exhibited select all that apply. Give me a break.

Conclusion: Overall, I learned a lot. However, the assessment for this course needs a new outlook.

por DrGangadhar C

29 de mar. de 2018

goood information

por Jonathan G

25 de mar. de 2018

interesting course however, you can easily learn this in high school. It is unclear whether to have a written assignment or video bite. You cannot have both. It is simply too much work!