Chevron Left
Volver a Social Norms, Social Change I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Social Norms, Social Change I por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.6
estrellas
1,886 calificaciones
487 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Principales reseñas

EC

21 de feb. de 2022

This course opened my mind as to understand what moves people to do and/or think the way they do -and how to measure it- in order to be able to correctly intervene for social change. Simply amazing.

PE

5 de mar. de 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

Filtrar por:

451 - 475 de 477 revisiones para Social Norms, Social Change I

por Yahia A

27 de ene. de 2021

Goooooood

por Mohamed A

24 de jun. de 2017

Thanks

por Idoko D S

18 de oct. de 2020

Good

por Simon C

4 de nov. de 2020

The material is very interesting, if somewhat hypothetical. I enjoyed it - thank you.

I would have appreciated more real life examples (in number as well as in nature) to help me understand the concepts.

The lecturer and the contributors all have strong accents which made following them difficult. The transcripts quite often didn't help as they also failed to catch what was being said and also failed to correct mistakes in the English and the grammar & punctuation were not always correct. All in all, it was difficult for me as a native English speaker to understand at times, so must be very difficult for non-native English speakers. I suppose could create a survey to discover what other students thought and see if they were following a social norm or not...

por Koko W

30 de dic. de 2020

The course was very useful and interesting. However, week four could have been divided into two or more weeks--the material became significantly more technical and lengthy, which was like a "speedbump" to to my learning and progress. Distributing the materials more evening and assigning more application homeworks would be useful.

por Catherine H

22 de dic. de 2018

This is material that you're not going to use directly, but can use indirectly in your work later on. It's pretty dry material, but I honestly learned a lot of valuable information. I would recommend it if you're willing to put in the work. If not, you wont learn much.

por Anton Z

2 de ene. de 2018

Subtitles need to be reviewed, a lot of errors and they are necessary because the speakers all have strong accents. Sometimes the transcript itself doesn't make sense at all.

por Harry J J

2 de sep. de 2021

A fairly simple approach to complex components of society. It's a good way to become familiar with the terms used by sociologists for societal behavior.

por Josef A F

30 de jul. de 2022

I​ think this course is very good, BUT too repetitive.

T​exts and videos often cover the exact same questions and topics, things are explained too often.

por Sharon S

21 de sep. de 2021

Interesting but: too much jargon, hard to follow and missing examples in western world. Would like to see more the limitation of this theory

por Lujain A

28 de jul. de 2019

it was so confusing but I tried my best, not cause the instructor is bad, just cause there were too many similar concepts

por Rishabh S

28 de abr. de 2020

The course is not that interesting but I really like the example from the different countries that was given by UNICEF.

por Gilbert H

15 de ago. de 2020

I think this course in very important for researchers in order to get the right answers from the communities

por Bassel M A A

5 de jul. de 2017

Quizzes are very confusing and English translation is awful and full of mistakes a

por Anja J

20 de feb. de 2022

Overall a good course, however quite repetitive which was often frustrating.

por Jan S

10 de feb. de 2018

Ok course, the further you get into the course th better the lectures,

por Ni N

7 de ago. de 2020

the pace is too slow, even for the introductory level.

por Annie

3 de abr. de 2020

Easy and fun!

por Lucia K

27 de oct. de 2017

Good course!

por Ibrahima

22 de mar. de 2019

Excellent

por Sharmin K L

26 de jun. de 2022

Helpful!

por Suraj k

13 de may. de 2020

I learnt to critically question how peoples behaviors are motivated. Examples from different communities were good. The language jargon could be lesser so concepts could be understood more easily.

I wish the course could have been more valuable in terms of teaching us how to measure behaviour and also in terms of the hours spent.

por Mohamed A

15 de jul. de 2017

Very very boring course and old English to understand , i don't recommend it to anyone who isn't interested in those things , if you are not , you will just stuck in it and cannot go through it , hard to understand , lake of info and lake of teaching ability , i really didn't like it , the worst online course i have ever had

por Heather G

20 de jun. de 2022

The material is interesting. However, the course is very badly presented and very badly written. It was extrodinarily frustrating to complete, so much so that I am not doing part two.