Chevron Left
Volver a Old Norse Mythology in the Sources

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Old Norse Mythology in the Sources por parte de Universidad de Colorado en Boulder

4.8
estrellas
19 calificaciones
8 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is an introduction to the religion of the Vikings as it is recorded in Old Norse and Scandinavian literature from the medieval period. You will learn about the different written sources and what they can teach us about pre-Christian religion in northern Europe in the Viking Age. The course surveys the primary collection of Old Norse poetry about the pre-Christian Scandinavian gods, the Poetic Edda. We will also work with the main collections of stories about the Old Norse gods in prose: Snorri Sturluson's Edda and Saxo's History of the Danes....

Principales reseñas

JH
23 de nov. de 2021

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

VR
21 de nov. de 2021

This was a most fascinating and interesting course that I completed on Coursera so far! Looking forward to complete it with honours as well! Skål and may Odin be with you! :)

Filtrar por:

1 - 9 de 9 revisiones para Old Norse Mythology in the Sources

por Paul G

2 de dic. de 2021

Useful intro with good course content, spoilt by errors in test questions and lack of responce from coursera to reported issues.

por Viking G R

4 de dic. de 2021

Good Introduction to Norse Mythology, definitely learned some interesting details especially regarding historical evidence of runic inscriptions, age of written records and how written compositions were influenced by the author and the dominant religious dogma of the time.

por Steven S

30 de nov. de 2021

D​r. Nordvig presents interesting information. It is not just the dates and places, it is the who and the why. I took everything I thought I knew, and flipped it on its head. I am glad I took the class and look forward to further classes presented by Dr. Nordvig.

por Justin H

24 de nov. de 2021

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

por Victor R

22 de nov. de 2021

This was a most fascinating and interesting course that I completed on Coursera so far! Looking forward to complete it with honours as well! Skål and may Odin be with you! :)

por JUAN C O C

1 de ene. de 2022

It's been fantastic to take this course, I can't wait for the next one of this compilation of courses

por Julie T

2 de dic. de 2021

A​ great way to get an overall view of Nordic Mythology. Good content!! Easy to understand.

por Sarah F

12 de ene. de 2022

Learned the real history of the Norse myths and the people behind them.

por Suzanne C

10 de dic. de 2021

A​n interesting course! I hope that the specialization mentioned in the introduction video gets made; I'd take it! The videos were perfect bite-size bits of information, and the as-you-go quizzes were helpful. There were some with answers that contradicted themselves though; that would be my only complaint! Nevertheless, a fun an interesting course!