Chevron Left
Volver a International Leadership and Organizational Behavior

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a International Leadership and Organizational Behavior por parte de Università Bocconi

4.8
estrellas
1,697 calificaciones
454 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Leaders in business and non-profit organizations increasingly work across national borders and in multi-cultural environments. You may work regularly with customers or suppliers abroad, or be part of a globally dispersed cross-functional team, or an expatriate manager on an international assignment. You may be a member of a global online community, or a development aid worker collaborating with an international network of partner organizations. In all of these contexts, your effectiveness as a leader depends on how well you understand and are able to manage individual and collective behaviors in an intercultural context. In this course – together with a team of Bocconi expert faculty and Bocconi alumni – we’ll explore the theory and practice of international and intercultural leadership and organizational behavior. Social science research has revealed systematic ways in which our behavior differs across cultural contexts – enabling us to more effectively work across borders. Insights from psychology, neuroscience, sociology and anthropology, from communication studies and from management scholarship allow us to understand what shapes individual and group decision making, what enhances or weakens team performance, and how we can build and use our social networks. And the shared practical experience of international leaders allows us to identify concrete steps to enhancing intercultural leadership competence, and to be cognizant of common leadership challenges. Learning about organizational behavior provides a great opportunity to develop your leadership skills and to reflect on your own behavioral tendencies. How do you usually make important decisions? What motivates you and how do you try motivating others? How successfully do you leverage and integrate diverse skills and views in a team? Do you prefer professional relationships with a close-knit group of trusted colleagues, or with a far-flung network of acquaintances from all walks of life? If you really want to learn how organizations behave and take decisions and at the same time develop leadership skills, then this is the course for you. We are looking forward to welcoming you and supporting you on this journey of learning and discovery. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1 - Leadership Acumen. International perspective on leadership, common traps & challenges, and opportunities of intercultural leadership. Week 2 - Navigating Culture. Impact of cultural differences on organizations, decoding culture, culture classifications and stereotyping, developing intercultural intelligence. Week 3 - Communication. Communication and its impact on leadership identity and relationships, managing communication to improve decision making, steps for developing your intercultural communication skills. Week 4 - Motivation. Views on individual motivation, cultural differences in motivation, developing motivation and commitment in teams. Week 5 - Networking. Patterns of interpersonal relationships in/across organizations, strategically developing social networks and social capital, norms for networking across cultures. Week 6 - Conflict. Effective / defective conflict management approaches, dealing with ethical dilemmas. Thanks to the participation of our alumni and of the Bocconi Alumni Association, participants will have practical insights on international leadership. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND All are welcome! Some prior exposure to basic issues of organizational behavior (communication, decision making, motivation, etc.) is useful, but not required....

Principales reseñas

AY

Jan 07, 2017

I completed this course while working abroad and I loved it. The course helped be to have a better understanding and respect for different cultures in life and in the work environment.\n\nThank You!

GC

Aug 13, 2018

Very interesting course. Alumni viewpoints, pop-up questions, and interactive dialogues all made the course more engaging. Each video was a good length for informational content and attentiveness.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 450 revisiones para International Leadership and Organizational Behavior

por Delaine M B

Jul 28, 2020

This course is divine! The team really put everything into making the idea of cultural navigation digestible: discussion group settings, interviews with alumni and professors, funny bits, case studies with real cases-- it's the complete package. I will always go back to the course materials when I need guidance on management in an intercultural setting, even in my local one! I resolve to foster responsible leadership culture with my followers as well. Thank you, Università Commerciale Luigi Bocconi!

por LEELA H K

Aug 27, 2017

Good course to stimulate your thoughts on international leadership and cross culture communication, aspirations and conflicts,. Covered the motivation and conflict resolution topics to a certain extent but is fair considering the duration of the course. Franz was amazing with clear cut thoughts and making things simpler for everyone to understand (thinking of regular courses now). Many videos can be shortened as they are repeating the points. Links are amazing and I will watch one TED talk everyday.

por Andrea I

Aug 21, 2016

It is a five star course. When I signed up I thought it might be interesting but it gives more than I expected. The style of the course is really great and easy to follow. I am working across cultures as a leader and although I know a few things about the subject it can still give me deeper understanding and a better overview as well. I wish this course would have been available when I started my international position, I might have avoided some mistakes. Still it is not too late to learn:-)

por Pierluigi D

Jun 09, 2017

Very interesting course, Prof Franz is very clear and always stimulating to think at your role in an international framework to which you are not very familiar with, however giving right advices on how to move avoiding some pitfall.

Very nice sections on research and the tips coming from the interviews to the professionals involved, so yeah, thanks a lot, I feel to suggest this course to others. Best regards Pierluigi Dentale

por Karthikeyan N

Apr 10, 2020

This is one of most intriguing courses that I have done so far. Kudos to Instructor Franz and the team. The learning was pleasurable, balanced and gave a fantastic experience while imparting the knowledge on the ILOB topics. The best thing I like about this course is the interweaving of multiculturalism in all the topics of discussion which made it more practical and enjoyable. Thanks and I would highly recommend this course.

por Chiara F

Jul 28, 2020

This course is led in a very professional way, still with a sprikle in the eye which keeps your attention always high. I highly appreciated the course structure, with different people contributing, different settings and a very effective class lenghts. The content itself gives a wide perspective on the subject, and the material includes also extensive links to additional material for further reading. Very highly recommended!

por Gunita L

Mar 21, 2017

This course was really useful for my personal insights due to move to another country for living, and also for my master thesis, which is connected with cross-cultural communication. I would strongly recommend this course for everyone out there.. the world is becoming more and more interconnected, so we need to learn to better communicate with everyone on this planet. Excellent course for that! Thanks a lot!

por BATOUL A

Jul 02, 2020

Such useful course not only for being international leader, it's also useful and imoprtant for anyone's life especially if he's living abroad. Amazing teacher that keeps you active all the time, and that motiveted me to finish the course within 5 days. All the significant elements for a complete course are there, great teacher, real leaders' interviews and experiences , clever quizzes questions. Thank you

por Sandra R

May 10, 2020

An enriching course from which I learned a lot about leadership, more specifically, international leadership, and how it relates with an organization. It also taught me a lot- although, I'm sure we were only given the basics (but that was very enlightening already) about culture and its interactions in human relationships and leadership. Thank you for making it available and for free on Coursera.

por Lina R

Feb 23, 2020

This was practical, concrete and yet extremely insightful course. It goes beyond what we all think is important for international leadership. It gives practical things that you can apply immediately. I loved the format of interviews, cases, interactions with all kinds of alumni and members of the university.

It was really outstanding! Thank you very much and all the best in expanding this further

por Lakshmi N N

Aug 15, 2017

Wonderful course and the instructor has used many different ways to drive the point for better understanding. I have learnt a great deal from this course and i also get the feeling that i m just scratching the surface. I look forward for the courses from Bocconi. Thanks a lot for the wonderful course and I am sure that this is course is going to create a great impact in my career and life.

por Otto H

Jan 13, 2016

This was an excellent course. The delivery was engaging and well presented and the concepts covered provided a fascinating insight in to the impact of international cultures on all aspects of organisational interaction and behaviour. There was an excellent mix of academic models, case study discussion and real life examples from international leaders. I thoroughly enjoyed participating!

por Sara D G

May 03, 2020

Extremely useful and interesting course. It gave me more insights on effective communication, cultural understanding, motivation and conflict management. It will surely have a positive impact both on my professional and private experience. The lessons are well structured. Professor Franz Wohlgezogen is an outstanding professional and teacher, always very clear and entertaining.

por Anjali

Jul 06, 2020

This was a wonderful course and I have learned so much from it. The way it was organised and planned was the best thing about it. The lecturer was really good, he knew how to present the knowledge in a fun, applicable way and always gave us different examples and sources from where we could learn a lot more about the topic in hand. Thank you so much it was very useful for us.

por Paula B

Aug 20, 2020

Very informative and interesting. The professor of the course taught in a way that engaged me in the course and made me want to learn more. I would recommend this not only to a person who wants to learn about organizational leadership but to anyone who is interested in group work and developing a sense of how individuals or a group works, communicates or resolves conflicts.

por Massimo C

Sep 23, 2019

I really appreciated the course. Lessons are study material are of very good quality. I saved them and I am sure I will go thrugh them again and again. After a couple of weeks I already started to pay attention to details in my behavior with international contacts that I was not considering before. I liked the focus on netwrok a low as well as the conflic resolution week.

por Pawana S

Apr 18, 2020

The course is quite helpful in todays context of globalization where you have to interact with cross cultural behaviors and work values it gives good insight with case studies ,However it would be more helpful if there is live examples of role play not just descriptive but also like in real term as an example to relative directly.

por Venkatesh

Jun 20, 2017

Really loved the course and learnt a lot. Thanks to Assistant Professor Franz Wohlgezogen for giving this MOOC a wonderful structure. Thanks to Università Bocconi and all the others who contributed in making the last 6 weeks very engaging and interesting. Hope to be an alumni of this prestigious institute one day and share my learning with the future generations :)

por ESMERALDA M F C

Jun 28, 2020

It´s been really interesting and easy to follow. I have enjoyed all the readings videos and I have got quite a lot of information to be read and followed from now on. The topics are very well explained and presented so that even a person out of the business world can fully understand it all. A very good approach, a good practice for what they preach :) Grazie!

por LF E

May 12, 2020

This course gives you a theoretical understanding of leadership in transcultural teams or followers. It helps you understand the importance of motivation, engagement, networks and conflict resolution strategies a leader should work on when dealing with a transcultural teams. I really enjoyed it! thank you so much for giving us access to such amazing material.

por tzenh.nana

Oct 16, 2016

it wat the first course i manage to complete and i'm very exitied about that! Nevertheless i found this course very helpful and even though my current job has nothing to do with leadership or something intercultural i was actually pleased to learn all this and i will definitely start to use them when i finally work on this field-which i would like to do.

por Anne C

Sep 07, 2016

Professor Franz Wohlgezogen delivers this course with excellence and precision, as well as making it interesting and interactive. He is an engaging and charismatic teacher and seems to be able to cater to several learning styles. The content, delivery and layout of materials is such that the student is well supported through to success.

I highly recommend.

por Filippo C

Jun 04, 2020

A very complete overview of the main pillars of International Leadership. The participation of many Bocconi alumni was really effective in order to exemplify how these concepts are applicable in the everyday life of an international leader or of a manager in a multicultural organization. Last but not least, a very kind and effective professor and host.

por Pawan A

Mar 05, 2018

It is a nice introductory course. It provides insight to many leadership qualities. It also provides exposure to many common challenges and solutions to the scenarios in international arena. There are links to many resources for further exploring the leadership qualities which provide additional information. Overall it is a money well spent course.

por Dina V

Apr 03, 2020

This course is my first window to how the corporate culture and international leadership really work, as I come from a Technical/Natural sciences background. You can gain a lot of insight into Leadership (especially on an international level), Principles of managing people, Working in a multicultural setting, and much more. Strongly recommend.