Chevron Left
Volver a Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User por parte de Google

4.7
estrellas
13,333 calificaciones
2,563 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Principales reseñas

MA
23 de may. de 2020

A wonderful course of prevention that I learned a lot from,\n\nUsing commands with Windows and Linux\n\nHow to deploy and install operating systems through the network and Alot\n\nThanks GOOOOOOOOOGLE

JA
21 de jun. de 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

Filtrar por:

2326 - 2350 de 2,539 revisiones para Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

por Jason B

16 de sep. de 2019

Though I did learn quite a bit about command lines in PowerShell and Bash. I wish the presentation of the videos was a lot better. I would recommend placing greater focus on the commamd line interface than the instructor, and to display it a greater resolution. I would also like to see a greater emphasis on explaining the details and functions of the command lines as well.

por Earl N W J

2 de dic. de 2020

I had a problem with trying to understand the update VLC part of the lab. I'm not real happy about that an will probably go back to review the material regarding updating. Is it that I was suppose to install the VLC in both the Windows and Linux labs, this was unclear. I really need some help in understanding what I should have done to complete that part of the lab.

por Antony J

17 de ago. de 2020

I've done a few Google courses and this one seemed to have the most problematic labs. Perhaps it's something to do with having so many subscribers, but --- rightly or wrongly --- the bad experiences tend to be the ones you remember the most. I also felt that this course was over-reliant on the message "we won't cover it, but take a look at the attached reading".

por Jason B

27 de feb. de 2019

I only gave it 3 stars because the content was not that interesting to me (I preferred the networking course, and am looking forward to the security one). It was also 3 stars because of all the trouble and time wasted with Qwiklabs not working properly. They need to scrap that platform and start over. I would have been done with this course a long time ago.

por ANTON C

27 de dic. de 2019

Final exam on Windows need to be fixed. Because last task does not have enough information to perform it. Mean "Fix permissions" need to be done for specific file \ folder and there also lots of permissions to change. What exact task, I do not know?! Need to be magician to guess... (

Linux final exam has enough info. and I passed it on 100%.

por Tom

17 de oct. de 2018

Sometimes brushed over details for command line parameters and arguments. The Qwiklabs wasted a lot of time due to glitches and errors because they had to be completed yet sometimes lacked required content or wouldn't load. The lecture videos were sometimes awkward/unnatural but did get across the point and provided good content.

por Angel L

13 de mar. de 2018

I'm not sure how much I actually learned in this course and the labs were INCREDIBLY buggy. I think other future users would appreciate more consideration being put into the labs and testing into them prior to distribution. Additionally, I think having the videos mask the true lab experience would be helpful.

por Anthony D

10 de nov. de 2020

to much talking not enough hands on .. Doesnt explain enough about the commands , says them once and hopes you remember them. This type of course needs to make you enter the commands a lot more to have them stick with you instead they briefly talk about them once and expect you to remember them .

por Maria M L

11 de abr. de 2018

Other than issues with the labs the course was informative. I believe if the lab content got better later on in the course yet the labs all had the same issue. Would sometimes have to redo them in order for work to get graded by the system. It's the boat anchor of this series of courses so far.

por John K

7 de jul. de 2020

Have discussed at length with customer support regarding the final two labs for week 6. These seemed embarrassed at the situation and were as helpful as can be but the developers failed to thoroughly test and validate that the instructions (when there were any instructions) actually worked.

por Joe S

15 de abr. de 2020

I feel instruction was lacking regarding methods for updating programs for both Windows and Linux. For this reason, I was unable to fully complete the final labs. Additionally, the labs state there is a support tab, which I also could not find, in order to get support for these labs.

por Robert B

5 de mar. de 2018

I'm sure it was previously discussed, but I found it confusing to constantly bounce between windows and linux procedures. I believe it would have been much easier to focus on Windows, work through the entire curriculum, then, once completed, focus on Linux through the same curriculum.

por hidenori n

19 de oct. de 2020

I would appreciated more if the course can explain more in the video rather than let the reading material lead the course. Also, the it would be greater if they can explain the matter with the slide up longer rather than the instructors' face while they are explaining. Thank yoU!

por Jason T

19 de abr. de 2019

Could really use a lot more interactive, hands-on modules throughout the course so that the student can get a real grasp on the concepts and execution of the material. I would highly recommend more labs, preferably one or two immediately following each lecture on new material.

por Hillary P

15 de abr. de 2019

This coursework was segmented so that we went back and forth from Linux to Windows. The instruction seemed choppy when using this approach. I understand comparing the OS's, but perhaps finish explaining a full process or function in one OS before moving to the next.

por Chadrick A E

30 de mar. de 2018

The assessment tool used for the course is buggy, unreliable, and often difficult to access, requiring multiple attempts just to get it to work. Considering this is how you pass the course, this is a critical issue. It was an issue in course one as well.

por David J

18 de oct. de 2018

I felt like it left something to be desired in the assignments. also some things that we were told to do was not clearly covered in the course material. I know that It is also a self learning environment but a bit of better direction would be appreciated.

por Jakiela H

20 de sep. de 2018

I learned a lot of valuable information about running commands in Windows and Linux, but the Quiklab tool was difficult to use at times. I had to complete an assignment twice ti receive a grade even thought I made a 100% on my first attempt.

por Jones, D L

8 de nov. de 2019

I liked the labs. The labs gave me hands on experience. The labs allowed me to verify if I accomplished my objectives instantly. I learned more utilizing youtube instructional videos than I did watching the instruction provided.

por Jasmine M

30 de oct. de 2018

The course started out really great, but when it came to the final assessment and their Qwiklabs things started to fall apart. In the end I was able to learn how to navigate both the Linux and Windows Operating systems like a boss.

por kamil

1 de may. de 2018

I thought that there was way too many times of. 'We won't be covering it in here, check the suplemental reading', I kind of hoped for better explanations on some topics :( All in all I guess it was a good overview for us though.

por Javier P

14 de jun. de 2020

Connection from my computer to your servers were slow and so I did not realize that the test results were excepted on your end. It kept giving 0 points on my end when I clicked the green score square. In the end it worked.

por Paul J

15 de jun. de 2020

It was difficult to complete the work in the allotted time. The transcripts helped. I wish I had noticed that these were available earlier. I suggest a quick start module outlining the features of this course.

por Nicholas S

5 de nov. de 2019

I've never been more frustrated with a test. I knew what I was doing, but I feel it had to be to the standards that you taught. There is more than one way to skin a cat, but the result should still be the same.

por Miller, T

26 de may. de 2020

I loved this course don’t get me wrong! But I think there needs to be some more hands on work. I thought I was doing very well until I reached the very last quizzes or tests, they were very difficult for me.