Chevron Left
Volver a Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User por parte de Google

4.7
estrellas
20,037 calificaciones
3,866 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course -- through a combination of video lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on practice -- you’ll learn about the main components of an operating system and how to perform critical tasks like managing software and users, and configuring hardware. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● navigate the Windows and Linux filesystems using a graphical user interface and command line interpreter ● set up users, groups, and permissions for account access ● install, configure, and remove software on the Windows and Linux operating systems ● configure disk partitions and filesystems ● understand how system processes work and how to manage them ● work with system logs and remote connection tools ● utilize operating system knowledge to troubleshoot common issues in an IT Support Specialist role...

Principales reseñas

JA
21 de jun. de 2019

Great course, lots of very challenging and useful information. You'll learn about Linux and some of the inner workings of Windows, plus lots of tools and programs that are really useful. Great course!

JB
27 de dic. de 2020

This course was very informative and challenging. I really appreciate the way the course was put together. It would be ore helpful if the links to the readings were from material other than Wikipedia.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 3,898 revisiones para Operating Systems and You: Becoming a Power User

por Jonathan O

15 de dic. de 2020

Enjoyed the course. Wish there was some more hands on training, but the notes I took definitely helped me on the graded assessments. I really liked to learn about commands, especially on PowerShell since I feel that's a good skill set that bridges IT support for both Windows and Linux without being too dependent on a GUI. It makes you appreciate the convenience of a GUI and simplicity and intuitiveness of Linux Bash.

por Mayur G N

31 de oct. de 2020

Love the journey with this course. Thanks to Cindy and other Instructors through this course. It was so existing, handling and troubleshooting Operatings Systems, not just that but how to Install OS, how manage Remote ,Virtual Machines, Cloning,, and lot more stuff. It was super great experience. And I loved the last task of Qwiklabs to troubleshoot problems by our own what we learned in the course. Truly Awesome.

por Dani W

9 de abr. de 2018

Great to learn more about PowerShell (which I've used a bit in my current job) and really nice to learn about Linux. I previously had very limited experience with Linux and Bash but now feel much more comfortable with it. While I don't know a ton of commands yet, I know enough that I feel confident in playing in a Linux sandbox. Planning on either running a virtual machine or installing Linux on my old laptop.

por Vaibhav S

1 de nov. de 2020

It was an amazing journey going throughout this course. Very useful and knowledgeable experience. Our instructor Cindy did an excellent job by teaching very useful OS concepts in a very interactive learning way, So thank you very much. Qwiklabs very helpful. Know I feel very confident when working with windows and linux, all what I have learned will be very helpful for progressing my career into IT field :)

por Munira Z

27 de jun. de 2020

Thanks a lot for this course and opportunity. Really interesting, especially to grab understanding and fundamental skills on having control over OS. Yet, there are a lot of things to learn, but I heard somewhere that this is a long journey, that never ends, each time you conquer a step, there are more to learn. So thanks for this strong foundation and excellent new skills. Special thanks to Cindy Quach.💕

por Nicholas B F

15 de oct. de 2020

Learnt a lot of stuff from this course, especially when it comes to skill development. This is something I feel most industries need from candidates, rather than risking yourself going through a 4 year degree program and shelling out that kind of money, and finally ending up in debts, just to eventually get a piece of paper from that university, which would still not be good enough to be job-ready..

por John B M

14 de mar. de 2018

Before this course all I knew was that I needed an operating system on my computer in order to get my work done. Now I know how to deploy an operating system, build and edit filesystems, manage users and groups, modify permissions, install and update software, manage processes, connect remotely, and monitor my systems – all from the command line! What?! I can't wait to find out what else I can do!

por O R

29 de jun. de 2021

I​ enjoyed learning I thougt the teachers of this course gave me step by step and really held my hand and wanted me to improved in my learning and I went from basic knowledge to a advanced learner, I literally saw a change and I improved my skills greatly, Thank you to all the lovely teachers at Google, I loved this course and I appreciate being able to take this course and grow as a human being.

por Carter O

14 de ago. de 2021

This course is amazing, when I began I was scared of CLI even though I was very interested in it. But as Cindy said, at the end of the course we would be more comfortable using CLI, I am now very very comfortable using PowerShell and Bash even though I would still have way to go.

I know know about logging and where to go an find issues with a system.

I have learnt so much more and I am very glad

por Hans

9 de ago. de 2018

I came from a background of heavy GUI use so going into command lines for me was like being asked to murder kittens at first but actually then you find out that in fact command lines can turn kittens into ultra deadly and fast tigers so it was awesome when you get the hang of it. Teacher Cindy is very good at teaching also she seems to own 100+ different laptops that she uses for every video.

por Jose C R

23 de jul. de 2020

This course was incredibly satisfying and being able to experience different OSes and their different system tools and commands. For me, it was particularly fruitful to learn more about Windows System Management and Powershell. The supplemental readings are a great way to engage as much or little as you want and even for people with some knowledge or experience, there's still a lot to learn.

por Eugenio P

2 de ago. de 2021

This course has been so interesting thus far. I learned a lot. I can say that before I was a simple user. But now I feel a sense of accomplishment, an enhance as how I feel prepared for administrate Windows and Linux. And it doesn't matter if I don't know everything. I can always search in the Internet what I need in order to be a successful IT support specialist. ¡Thanks to all the team!

por mahesh b

11 de dic. de 2021

Very lengthy course but for a reason , Windows and Linux does need that kind of time. Extremely helpful course with detailed description of Powershell and Bash commands. Instructors offered many useful tips which can come handy for an IT/Helpdesk professional.

Using Qwiklab was funful way of practicing the theory part, really enjoyed i.

All in all great experience with great instructors.

por Venkatesh k

23 de ago. de 2020

I really like the course because it give you real feel of operating system how on the micro level it works. I mean when you read about operating system theory how it manages every thing like process, memory, blah blah that is necessary but we don't get hold of every thing but this course was wonderful awesome it get you dive deeper to deeper along with extra info all was boom boom boom

por William R W

30 de nov. de 2020

This module is excellent. The instructor knows the material and demonstrates the work. It is very different from the network module where the instructor reads from a teleprompter. The instructor for the mobile apps seems to be doing the same. The network and mobile apps instructors need to follow the manner in which the OS instructor teaches. That would make the course a lot better.

por TeSan E H

9 de abr. de 2020

I thought this would be the easiest course to complete being that I knew how to install an operating system. I was wrong . This course actually broke down software from an equally challenging perspective as hardware. Great work for all involved. I think I like This course the best. I managed to complete without having to rebuild another accidentally smashed laptop. A Joke. Thanks.

por Yousef S

13 de dic. de 2021

the BEST and probably the most important course in the program, 4.5/5 the reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because the course didn't briefly talk about environment variables specifically the PATH environment variable and what happens behind the scenes when the shell runs different commands, also it would be beneficial if the course included more info about shell scripting.

por Frederick K

4 de nov. de 2019

This course offered a lot of information. However, I had to also employ YouTube and supplemental reading to give the needed information and skill to complete the various grade assignments. I was not able to complete any on the first try. Yet each "failure" pushed me to review the videos, study, and seek further references until I had the skills required to complete the tasks.

por PJ C

31 de ene. de 2021

This course was awesome for providing me the experience and tools I need to be successful as I approach the IT field. I love the entire course load and am looking forward to course 4. I highly recommend this to all looking to enter the IT field. I would suggest to make sure you take notes all the way through INCLUDING: when you do your labs as they will be referred to again.

por Arri D

17 de abr. de 2018

This is an excellent course for beginners to learn about Windows and Linux OS. This will really help you start your journey. Be patient, I can't stress that enough, and you will persevere. The lessons are very detailed and they go really in-depth to help you really understand what exactly is happening. I recommend taking detailed notes to help you refer back to the lessons.

por Toni H

1 de oct. de 2020

This course is very engaging and contains a lot of information about different operating systems one might be dealing with in the real work place. I really enjoyed going through all the labs and getting hands on experience with PowerShell / Linux Commands. It's really useful to know how to do things from the Command Line rather than the GUI. I highly recommend this course!

por Samyak J

1 de jun. de 2020

It was really a great experience learning this. The parallel study of Linux and Windows actually made it so interesting. But obviously Linux won :-) Moreover, got an opportunity to learn so much and that too in an efficient manner. Qwiklabs were also too good. It was my first time with them and it was a great experience.

Thank You, Google

Thank you Cindy ma'am

Thanks Coursera

por Tian Q

6 de nov. de 2018

This course gives me a brief but solid introduction to OS. I learned to use commands to navigate in the system instead of using GUI and learned why this way is sometimes better. The assessments require me to type the commands I just learned in VMs, which is amazing because it gives me a taste on what it feels like to use these commands and skills to tackle real IT issues.

por Fabio D

18 de nov. de 2021

This course will get you involved in Command Line Interface troubleshooting. The Linux exercises will build your confidence but you better pay attention. The last course will put your skills to the test by perfroming tasks from the 5 previous weeks without much instructions or information. You need to figure it out based on previous labs. Overall, the course was great.

por Efraim S H

18 de ene. de 2021

Excellent and challenging. I enjoyed the journey, especially because I knew little about using commands in Linux to do anything. I'm glad I took this course because now I have a good idea about how to start with the basics of using commands in Linux Ubuntu Bash LCI. Thank you, team, for putting together all the resources and materials to train the students. Keep it up!