Chevron Left
Volver a In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting por parte de Museo de Arte Moderno

4.9
estrellas
1,080 calificaciones
484 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Principales reseñas

DB
25 de jul. de 2020

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

DC
6 de jun. de 2020

Really enjoyed this course, first course I have taken in this area of study. The course has given me an understanding of the artists covered and can't wait to see the artists paintings in person.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 476 revisiones para In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

por Barbara K

21 de may. de 2018

Great experience, I learnt a lot about artists, techniques, composition and more. I already recommended this course several times! Barbara

por Megan E

28 de ago. de 2017

loved this course. Even though they show how to do one painting of each artist's, I wish they did a couple from different periods. So good

por maria f l

24 de jun. de 2017

muy buen curso ... ayuda a adquirir conocimientos mas especificos sobre los artistas , como son los videos en estudios . me ayudaron mucho

por KIRSTEN M

4 de nov. de 2017

Excellent - one of the most interesting courses I have done. The practical demonstrations make this a very unique experience - thank you!

por Mary C

20 de jun. de 2017

A fantastic course that is greatly presented and instructed. A fantastic way to discover and learn the techniques used by the artists.

por Stanislaus G

3 de abr. de 2017

I learned so much in this class-- about the artists we studied and about how they actually created their work. It was pretty amazing!

por Joan S P

19 de feb. de 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Very informative. I loved in particular the videos demonstrating the techniques used by each artist.

por Brittany T

27 de dic. de 2017

From both the art history side and the studio side, this is a simply amazing class! I learned so much and enjoyed every minute of it.

por Jacopo

1 de may. de 2019

This course is well structured. Contents are accessible and insightful. Hopefully MoMA will do more similar ones or expand this one.

por James S

12 de jun. de 2017

Excellent course! Having the opportunity to paint like the artists adds so much insight and meaning to the experience. Thanks Corey!

por Danielle L D

18 de jul. de 2020

it was awesome taking this class waiting for certificate. I received the Certificate this morning I learned a lot from the class .

por Marion T

9 de ago. de 2017

I loved this class, I learned a lot. Just read my essay, you will understand! thank you again, I will certainly take another class

por Lisa M H

22 de may. de 2017

Enjoyable course. Postwar Abstraction is fascinating and this course does a great job presenting these artists in an exciting way.

por Paul

17 de ago. de 2020

The studio art section was a lot of fun, I would advise you try to do a least some of the exercises and for sure watch the videos

por Raquel V

11 de ago. de 2019

It is a thoughtful approach to post-war Abtract Expressionism, perfect balance between theory and practice. Thank you very much!

por Hal S

22 de may. de 2020

Excellent course! I really enjoyed it and learned a lot. It was laid out well and always kept my interest. Highly recommended.

por Carla P

25 de may. de 2020

molto interessante e stimolante ringrazio tutti gli insegnanti e il moma per aver reso possibile questo percorso

carla pistola

por Emilio M

20 de dic. de 2017

This is a very interesting course! I made and painted my first canvas with acrilic, I'm very happy about all this experience.

por Alessandra G B

28 de may. de 2020

Es un muy buen curso, que te ayuda a darte cuenta de la historia detrás de muchas pinturas así como las técnicas utilizadas.

por Manuel C V X

27 de abr. de 2020

Excellent course, congratulations to all: members of staff and colleagues.

Hope to see you in another course from COURSERA.

por Alberto A E

18 de may. de 2017

Wonderful Course. I have been recomending it to all may artist friends. It will certainly have an effect in my own practice.

por Hitomi K

1 de abr. de 2019

This course was very meaningful to me. If you are interested in American modern art, I highly recommend taking this course.

por Enrico D C

6 de jun. de 2020

Very accurate and professional course, I learned a lot of things and loved and concept I never thought I would. Excellent!

por Emma M

28 de jul. de 2020

Amazing! I really really enjoyed it and learned a ton! I would definitely recommend this course to family and friends! :D

por Valerio V

29 de abr. de 2020

Awesome course on Abstract Painting and Arts in General. I was able to learn much from our instructor Corey D'Augustine.