Chevron Left
Volver a In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting por parte de Museo de Arte Moderno

4.9
estrellas
1,080 calificaciones
484 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Principales reseñas

DB
25 de jul. de 2020

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

DC
6 de jun. de 2020

Really enjoyed this course, first course I have taken in this area of study. The course has given me an understanding of the artists covered and can't wait to see the artists paintings in person.

Filtrar por:

451 - 475 de 476 revisiones para In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

por Caroline G

2 de jul. de 2018

loved

por Jing L

23 de may. de 2017

Thank

por Diane M

15 de jul. de 2020

Until last week, I was extremely happy to be taking this course. Especially that it's online and available during these strange covid-19 times.

But I am experiencing another aspect of the course that's putting another light on taking it:

In the midst of my life tasks and responsibilities, and longing to simply get back to actually painting, all the many otherwise worthy Coursera homework assignments in the "In the Studio" course are becoming overwhelming to keep up with, or even to try. So I've mostly given up on doing the readings, and am right now just trying to watch as many of the videos as I can manage.

I'm trying to relax the tension I feel around the pink exclamation (!) mark that appears when I get an answer wrong on a test. And trying to just learn, and enjoy whatever I can manage to do in the course.

I have yet to actually do one of the painting exercises, which I thought would be great to learn from and the reason I signed up. I'm basically just trying to get off the computer so I can paint more, hopefully, with ideas and inspiration from Corey D'Augustine's instruction.

***I am wondering if all the artists we are learning about--Pollack, Milne and others--went through intensive academic instruction and testing, and whether they took intellectual learning of facts, and tests and grading as important, or even relevant to their work, other than as an intellectual restrictions to see beyond and go beyond.***

What I am suggesting is that you offer the choice of another way of going through the course, more experientially, without the intellectual demands and academic grading and punitive feedback; for artists and others who have genuine interest in the material. I'm sure Coursera is not aware of that as part of their art presentation, but it is. For anyone like myself, who did not have an easy time in school (and in liberal arts college and grad school programs), the grading and automated harsh feedback is unpleasant and counter to an artist's work and life. And it reawakens memories of how difficult a time I had in school.

I, like many other artists, used to think I must be lazy or unintelligent, and it's taken many years to realize I am intelligent and just need to be in and create an environment that suits my artistic style.

Academic punitiveness is not something that we should be having to deal with again as adults, and certainly not during these difficult covid-19 times. More spaciousness, choices and kindness are needed, in particular, around the Coursera testing feedback and homework.

I wonder if this academic conventional strictness is so ingrained in the culture that it might be invisible to those in academia?

Otherwise, it's a great course. And Corey D-Augustine is a great teacher.

I hope this response can be read and considered in future programming. Thank you very much for asking for feedback, and for this otherwise really excellent course.

por DIEGO F B G

25 de mar. de 2019

Se aprende mucho en cuanto al arte abstracto y su implicación en la sociedad y la forma de transmitir los que se siente y lo que piensa. Muy buen material y metodología del profesor D'Agustine. Me gustaría que pudieran poner el curso en español al menos por los subtítulos. Gracias.

You learn a lot about abstract art and its involvement in society and how to transmit what you feel and what you think. Very good material and methodology of Professor D'Agustine. I would like you to be able to put the course in Spanish at least for the subtitles. Thank you.

por Mary-Jane

25 de abr. de 2018

A very well put together course with great practical and theoretical information. I would have liked to see one or two of the women artists included such as Joan Mitchell and Helen Frankenthaler. I know it is difficult to include all the wonderful Abstract Expressionist artists, but my feeling is that it is worth increasing the length of the course to cater for these two artists. Alternatively, offer another Abstract Expressionist course - so have Part I (the current course) and Part II which follows on from Part I.

por Wil A

23 de nov. de 2019

great course, learned alot, in general though the online aspect is very confusing when it comes to grades and there seems to be no one to talk to about things... just email and that isn't solving things. still don't know if i will get my certificate and things look wrong in my progress on the computer to what it was supposed to be... no one seems to connect me to someone that can answer questions and fix things... i am really perplexed and will get very upset eventually, but no one seems to take responsibility!

por David D

3 de jun. de 2017

So much fun. I only wish I was ready at the time to stretch my own canvas, squeeze the tubes and start painting.

What really made this course was the difference it makes when a painting is described for you. It makes abstract art so much more enjoyable than it would otherwise be - at least for myself. Plus you have to say the 'teacher' was quite skilled in all the various techniques and exceptionally clear in his presentations. Bravo!

por Julie T

14 de sep. de 2020

While the course was good, I would have liked to have had some feedback from the instructor on my essay and my art instead of just peer responses. It felt like it was not really a true course without this type of response. I signed up for the course for purely a self interest so it really did not matter. However, if I had wanted the certificate, I would have felt short changed. I did enjoy the videos and the class overall.

por Ethna H

4 de jun. de 2020

I have no background in fine art or history of art nor am I an artist. I undertook this course because I have a passion for art and in particular a couple of the Abstract Expressionists. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and found the study format very easy to follow and the additional resources for extended reading very interesting.

Corey you have a great way of imparting knowledge.

Thank you

por Rose N

25 de oct. de 2019

Interesting and engaging course content with evidently knowledgeable instructor. Thoroughly enjoyable optional practical exercises. A pity that the peer review of the final 'assessed' submission took a long time and did not provide much useful feedback; as there is obviously not a huge cohort, perhaps the instructor or an assistant would be a more appropriate/useful assessor.

por Colleen K

8 de jun. de 2020

Would have enjoyed attending one session on any of the women featured in the book "Ninth Street Women"...Frankenthaler, Mitchell, Elaine deKooning, Krasner, Hartigan, Freilicher, etc. Other than that, great course. I am an amateur collector of abstract expressionist artists and now have a better eye and appreciation for the art.

por John R M

20 de jul. de 2020

I very much enjoyed this course. I found it very informative, and taught in a way that made learning interesting and enjoyable. I am impressed with Corey D'Augustine's teaching skills. His knowledge of the subject(s) and the way he lays out the information in the videos made his instruction painless and fun. - John Robert Myers

por Dionne W

17 de jun. de 2020

Really loved this course, the studio tasks really challenged me and led me to want to do more. My only annoyance is that I cannot get my grade because there is no other work for me to critique for my final assignment. Shame a flaw in the process holds up the rounding off of this for me.

por Jill B

23 de ene. de 2018

Really enjoyed this course, particularly the "In The Studio" content. It has completely changed by view of abstract paintings from 'a child could have done this' to a deep appreciation of the skilled approach and the artist's very deep knowledge and understanding of their chosen medium.

por Kelsie

18 de ene. de 2018

A very informative introduction to the methods, techniques, beginnings, and psychology to influential artists within the movement. The readings were succinct and engaging, but never too long. Lots of audiovisual supplementation.

por Thomas P

26 de may. de 2017

Fantastic course, very well planned and great mix of source material through the Career in Eight Artworks sections to the videos explaining painting technique in the studio.

por Joy S

11 de sep. de 2017

This is actually pretty cool. You could, by watching the painting demonstrations, actually reproduce the techniques of the artists studied in the class.

por Robert V P

18 de sep. de 2020

An interesting class. I wasn't interested in actually doing any of the paintings but it was fascinating to learn about the process.

por Fabiola D

5 de oct. de 2017

I have very much enjoyed this course, and I have learned a lot about abstract expressionists.

por Frederic M

26 de jun. de 2020

very interesting learning with practical aspect rarely included in online courses

por Cheryl E

8 de jul. de 2020

the course info is very good. I want only the info not a grade or certificate.

por Gerard M

6 de nov. de 2017

Excellent course for anyone who wants to learn more about Modern Art!

por Francisco L

29 de jul. de 2019

Excessively technical. It seems a course of learning to paint. It doesn't bring me much.

por Ann W C

8 de oct. de 2020

But submitting written work - impossible

por Eric J

9 de jul. de 2020

Information got too repetitive again. Course was too difficult to understand, and that I got bored immediately. This is another worst art course I have taken as well. Could have done better with the information and the videos. I give this course a 1 star out of 5.