Chevron Left
Volver a Parallel programming

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Parallel programming por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.4
estrellas
1,801 calificaciones
279 reseña

Acerca del Curso

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

Principales reseñas

AL
23 de abr. de 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC
24 de ago. de 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 267 revisiones para Parallel programming

por Du L

2 de jun. de 2018

Very challenging course, the assignments are more about practising using parallel programming, would be better to design an assignment to implement the parallel programming.

por Gregory E

29 de mar. de 2018

For this course you should have Advanced English level. Cause sentesce construction is so difficult and words so unusual that i had to some times google what i have to do.

por Benoit P D

20 de dic. de 2016

Very good course overall on the basics of parallel programming in scala. Would have been nice to talk a bit more on the low level setup (parallel and task construct code).

por Tim G

22 de oct. de 2017

Really good course covering some of the fundamentals of parallel programming, though for me I was hoping it would go into some of the Scala specifics a little more

por Erkin U

7 de oct. de 2016

Assignments are focused on problem-solving rather than the importance of parallelism, missing the point of the lecture. It is a Scala course, so it is always fun!

por Rahul W

11 de dic. de 2016

Good course but scala understanding is required for this course. So please register for prior course in the certification task to easily complete this course.

por Роман В

2 de jun. de 2018

Assignments are too easy compared to 2 previous courses. I've been asked lot less than been given. And did not grasp everything in the lectures at the end.

por Solodovnikov G

17 de sep. de 2016

Good explanations, relevant assignments.

But too small, too little graded assignments as for subject. Be better if the assignments has less starter code.

por Zhenduo D

14 de nov. de 2017

I can be further improved if the class can touch on design patterns using Future and Actor, in addition to the data structure oriented materials.

por Enrique G R

19 de ago. de 2017

Time to complete exercises might not be completely assessed. Some lectures seem to technical without any correspondence with real problems.

por Pascal A

23 de sep. de 2016

Really a great course but with a heavy work for the duration. If others courses are followed in parallel, there's no time to loose

por Romain G

28 de jul. de 2017

Very good course. Conc-list was brilliant.

Automated correction tool could do with more verbosity on failed test cases.

por Steven T

26 de sep. de 2016

Presentations were presented well and the assignments were interestingly varied but quite challenging for the newbie.

por Alan A

6 de oct. de 2019

Interesting course but math part is too academic and boring. It'll be more useful if focused only in real use cases.

por Ville M

22 de jun. de 2020

After a rather confusing and dissatisfying first week, the course picked up pace nicely in the latter weeks.

por joshua

9 de jun. de 2017

Overall the course was really good. I think the first 2 courses explained things a little bit better though.

por Carlos C B

6 de abr. de 2017

The course is good but is not focused on scala features. It is more generic parallel programming approach.

por Adianto W

24 de oct. de 2016

Insightful, though I am not sure if in non R&D/Academia settings the knowledge here can easily be applied.

por Marc K

9 de abr. de 2018

The homework assignments are a bit hard, they require a lot of concentration time to make some progress.

por Shuo Z

27 de jun. de 2016

Good course. The assignments should focus on the parallel programming itself instead of language stuff.

por Nikola P

1 de nov. de 2016

Very interesting course, I would recommend. I always wanted to learn about Scala parallel collections.

por Chet W

29 de ene. de 2018

Good class but sometimes the exercises seemed unnecessarily complicated for explaining the concepts.

por Hong C

2 de abr. de 2020

Lectures are very informative. I like all four assignments. They are well-designed and interesting.

por Atsuya K

8 de feb. de 2018

Good topics and assignments. Wasn't as impressed by the course as the ones taught by Odersky.

por Alexey K

31 de ene. de 2019

It would be great to add some popular frameworks and some basics of reactive programming