Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Personal Branding

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Personal Branding por parte de Universidad de Virginia

4.4
estrellas
6,618 calificaciones
2,118 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Principales reseñas

SI
29 de ago. de 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

MM
10 de sep. de 2018

An amazing stuff to address lot of the confusions related to personal attitude towards different things in this era of digital presence. Enroll if you really want to a lifelong learning experience!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 2,096 revisiones para Introduction to Personal Branding

por Luis M

26 de jun. de 2019

While you will learn how to develop personal branding, I found the reading material somewhat outdated. Kimberley's videos are brief, engaging and interesting though.

por Felipe P d C

2 de oct. de 2018

It is a great course, but I think it could go deeper. I found it somewhat superficial.

por Erica W

27 de jun. de 2017

I found the material was really outdated when discussing social media. There is no way you are going to get noticed if you are only posting 2-5 times a day. Twitter is the smallest social media platform and more time should have been spent covering Facebook as it is the largest social media platform by far with more than double the amount of monthly users. Teenagers are still on Facebook and its not just for "older people" and businesses. The most valuable part was creating my own mission statement but the rest seemed like outdated information. The instructor was great in all the videos though and I really did enjoy her humor.

por Jane L

20 de ene. de 2016

Entertaining course, but only for those who are totally new to personal development and branding.

por Aija V

29 de may. de 2017

Was an easy to follow course. Would look for deeper content. Good as an intro.

por Mohamed A T K

4 de ene. de 2016

Course is OK, not too informative and not too poor.

por Leonardo S H

18 de mar. de 2018

It is not a bad course, but it's very basic.

por Gustavo P

8 de jul. de 2018

Good, but quite basic.

por Oxana H

29 de may. de 2017

It's hard to me to name it a "course". It looks like an entertainment with some useful information. The information + the links could be fit in a two-pages article. I can't believe Coursera approved this "course". Saying that I remember incredible great works of other professors who represented their courses on Coursera.

por Aamir M

7 de abr. de 2020

The course is very basic and I think it is pretty unstructured compared to other courses offered on this platform. I was expecting more concrete knowledge or tools and techniques that would be shared. The quizzes are the least challenging part of the course.

por Sholanki G

7 de jun. de 2020

I thought that whatever the instructor is saying is pretty basic and obvious, like how to use twitter. We don't need to take online classes to learn that. Also I thought she was out of relevant material. And the teaching style was quite boring.

por Giulia F

6 de nov. de 2017

The course was interesting but I feel I haven't really learned anything new. The teacher seems nice and well prepared but the videos looked more like ordinary YouTube videos than actual lectures. I don't want to sound rude, I just expected more

por Anais J

19 de dic. de 2015

The backbone of the course was useful, but I thought the lectures were lacking depth. The quizzes were way too easy, you didn't even need to follow the course to be able to pass it.

The extra articles and links were one of the highlights.

por Igor K

18 de abr. de 2020

The lecturer is very enthusiastic, but the material is extremely basic and probably more geared towards those who are not very computer savvy. This course would have been good for the general public 10-15 years ago.

por Sunny J

14 de abr. de 2020

Course started of great but cn be improved greatly. Better modules and course contents needed. Also, video quality needs to be better. Had higher expectations from this course but it was obvious it lacked them.

por Mary

31 de ago. de 2019

Most of the material is not current and out of date. For example the We Are Social international data is pulled from a 2014 report, however, there is a current 2019 report published.

por Surya M

11 de may. de 2016

The videos were not very professional.

Depth of the subject was not there.

Very introductory and generic course where personal branding as a subject was merely cursorily touched.

por Maximilian P

1 de jun. de 2020

Terrible! It's basically a self promotion and verbal masturbation by the professor with no content.. Quiz questions are ridiculous and absolute no brainers. They basically say: "Should you go to school or should you smoke weed with the cool kids? Whats your answer?" Additionally, professor has a nervous tick fixing her hair every minute and the material are selfie videos filmed with her iPhone..

I hope Coursera will act and take this course offline since it provides NO academic value whatsoever!

por Stylianos A

20 de may. de 2020

I recomend this course for all. It is short (i.e., can be easily completed by any one even, with tight schedules), straight to the point (no running around in circles with a lot of analysing and parallel topics), easy to understand and above all, or despite of all of these, you will gain usefull, important, and applicable knowledge.

I recommend this course for anyone who wants to establish a digital identity, as a professional or as an aspiring grown-up. For professionals, I don't think I need to explain it. By aspiring grown-ups, I am referring to young people who don't want to become known by their teenage social media in a world of grown ups. Keep those for your close group of childhood friends, and in your new life, show the world that you can create a new identity that's going to help you grow up and project a more professional personal image - brand for you.

Also, the knowledge can be used by working people who want to improve their image and that of their organisation although this would not provide immediate direct benefits for theselves. So, if you're a teacher, doctor, nurse, security worker, etc, working for a public organisation, community organisation and other similar institutions, you can project your own persona (keep to 80:20 to avoid being seen as arrogant) to connect to the community, and to establish yourself as a social leader or an expert in your job.

If you were wondering if this course is for you and whether to sign up, by all means, DO IT, and you won't reret it!

por Miljana S

28 de may. de 2020

Absolutely wonderful!

Kimberly, as being a colleague of mine in a way, brought us this course in a very dramatically driven, but surprisingly comic and most simplified and informative way possible! I enjoyed every second of it even though it took me some time to finish it due to my Covid - 19 treatment. I have to say that her enthusiasm, love towards educatuon and learning and bringing the best towards us, students, kept me wanting to know more and dragged me completely into the world she presented.

Definitely an amazing teacher and someone who should get more into acting, since I presume it surely was one of her passions in the past!

Bravo Kim and thank you Coursera for having such amazing tutors here! Thank you University of Virginia and looking forward to new exchiting adventures here with you in the future.

With love,

Miljana Stevanovic

por Bianca Y

27 de may. de 2020

The course was brief and the lectures were fun to watch mainly because the lecturer was very quirky and she didn't make the lessons too intimidating for first time learners. It felt like a very casual conversation between a mentor and a student. Really wish she had more MOOCs here on Coursera!

As for the topic itself, I find that it's easy to understand and really saw the importance of Personal Branding while I was listening to the lectures and going through the readings. Though there is no scientific framework whatsoever, she gives clear guidelines on things to-do and what not to-do like the 80/20 rule, creating a mission statement, making sure to check your privacy setting once in a while, etc.

She made the lesson very fun, interesting, and valuable to learn!

por Lenka S

24 de feb. de 2016

Great course, I'd totally recommend it. The teacher was amazing! She really knows a lot about branding and I felt I learned a lot from her (plus she's funny!). She also supplied us with many awesome links to articles and videos to even further our knowledge of personal branding and get other perspectives from different sources. If you are asking yourself "Why should I be bothered about branding, that's some marketing stuff I don't care about", then know - this is a MUST for every single person who exists online (and since you are reading this right now, you most likely are), because by having profiles and engaging on the interwebz, you inevitably are building a reputation and this class will teach you how to manage that reputation.

por Yousaf A

23 de abr. de 2020

I always used to take personal branding or self promotion as a negative act but this course helped me to understand the real and basic meaning of Personal branding. It taught the importance of Personal Branding in a very positive way. The Instructor Kimberley R. Barker is just amazing and her way of teaching is very lovely. To all those people who are criticizing about the content of this course should understand that this was meant to understand the idea of Personal Branding and how you carry it. It was not meant to teach digital marketing or advertisement everyone should understand this. I simply loved this course.

por David L

26 de feb. de 2019

This course gave me exactly what I wanted to learn, and exactly what I expected. There were some lessons that took a deeper dive into theory, which fit perfectly into the flow of the lessons, while other lessons took a more practical approach, and covered how each of the social media platforms fit into a personal branding plan. I plan to use what I learned to fine-tune my personal social media presence, and to help develop a branding plan for my urban neighborhood. The course work is not heavy, and 5 weeks is a generous amount of time to complete the course.

por Ariful H B

3 de jun. de 2019

It was a great experience for me to have a course of Introduction to Personal Branding. Truly, I didn't know about anything about personal branding. I was a bit of nurvous after enrolled in that course. But Kimberley Madam make it very easy for me. The way she taught us it wasn't seems that kind of difficult during the course. Now, I'm eager to do some more course from coursera. And last of I want to the coursera admins to give me financial aid to take this course without payment. Otherwise, It wasn't possible for me to take that kind of valuable course.