Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Personal Branding

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Personal Branding por parte de Universidad de Virginia

4.4
estrellas
7,856 calificaciones
2,450 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Though the concept of personal branding isn't new, questions remain about how to create one and, more importantly, what it means to maintain and inhabit that brand. Learners will: o Understand both what personal branding means and what it means to inhabit their brand o Establish themselves on at least three social media platforms o Create a mission statement for their personal brand o Build a board of directors for their brand o Become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management o Create a system for on-going brand maintenance Join instructor Kimberley R. Barker as she provides a warm, supportive atmosphere in which learners are encouraged to intensively explore themselves in order to create a personal brand that authentically and effectively communicates their values and professional gifts. Together we will build a strong community in which to provide encouragement and feedback, and support each other as learners pursue their goal of successful brand creation....

Principales reseñas

OS
22 de jun. de 2021

This course helps to identify the best way for you to create your own branding, from understand your personality to creating your own mission statement and how to engage your audience on social media.

SI
29 de ago. de 2020

Understanding and application of Personal Branding with the fundamental skills to build leadership skills in the personal branding success in business is very important in today's E-network business.

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 2,439 revisiones para Introduction to Personal Branding

por Jessica

23 de abr. de 2020

While I really like Kimberley Barker teaching style, and Week 1 of the course got me really excited, I would not recommend taking this course in 2020. After Week 1, the information from 2015 seems really outdated and based on general/ common knowledge. Not worth my time,

por Задойный А

30 de may. de 2020

Абсолютно бесполезно.

Из интересного - подписка на результаты в поиске google по поисковому запросу (например, по вашему имени). Это на 5 неделе.

https://www.google.com/alerts - вот это адрес, так что можете не заходить на курс. =)

por Stylianos A

20 de may. de 2020

I recomend this course for all. It is short (i.e., can be easily completed by any one even, with tight schedules), straight to the point (no running around in circles with a lot of analysing and parallel topics), easy to understand and above all, or despite of all of these, you will gain usefull, important, and applicable knowledge.

I recommend this course for anyone who wants to establish a digital identity, as a professional or as an aspiring grown-up. For professionals, I don't think I need to explain it. By aspiring grown-ups, I am referring to young people who don't want to become known by their teenage social media in a world of grown ups. Keep those for your close group of childhood friends, and in your new life, show the world that you can create a new identity that's going to help you grow up and project a more professional personal image - brand for you.

Also, the knowledge can be used by working people who want to improve their image and that of their organisation although this would not provide immediate direct benefits for theselves. So, if you're a teacher, doctor, nurse, security worker, etc, working for a public organisation, community organisation and other similar institutions, you can project your own persona (keep to 80:20 to avoid being seen as arrogant) to connect to the community, and to establish yourself as a social leader or an expert in your job.

If you were wondering if this course is for you and whether to sign up, by all means, DO IT, and you won't reret it!

por Miljana S

28 de may. de 2020

Absolutely wonderful!

Kimberly, as being a colleague of mine in a way, brought us this course in a very dramatically driven, but surprisingly comic and most simplified and informative way possible! I enjoyed every second of it even though it took me some time to finish it due to my Covid - 19 treatment. I have to say that her enthusiasm, love towards educatuon and learning and bringing the best towards us, students, kept me wanting to know more and dragged me completely into the world she presented.

Definitely an amazing teacher and someone who should get more into acting, since I presume it surely was one of her passions in the past!

Bravo Kim and thank you Coursera for having such amazing tutors here! Thank you University of Virginia and looking forward to new exchiting adventures here with you in the future.

With love,

Miljana Stevanovic

por Bianca Y

27 de may. de 2020

The course was brief and the lectures were fun to watch mainly because the lecturer was very quirky and she didn't make the lessons too intimidating for first time learners. It felt like a very casual conversation between a mentor and a student. Really wish she had more MOOCs here on Coursera!

As for the topic itself, I find that it's easy to understand and really saw the importance of Personal Branding while I was listening to the lectures and going through the readings. Though there is no scientific framework whatsoever, she gives clear guidelines on things to-do and what not to-do like the 80/20 rule, creating a mission statement, making sure to check your privacy setting once in a while, etc.

She made the lesson very fun, interesting, and valuable to learn!

por Lenka S

24 de feb. de 2016

Great course, I'd totally recommend it. The teacher was amazing! She really knows a lot about branding and I felt I learned a lot from her (plus she's funny!). She also supplied us with many awesome links to articles and videos to even further our knowledge of personal branding and get other perspectives from different sources. If you are asking yourself "Why should I be bothered about branding, that's some marketing stuff I don't care about", then know - this is a MUST for every single person who exists online (and since you are reading this right now, you most likely are), because by having profiles and engaging on the interwebz, you inevitably are building a reputation and this class will teach you how to manage that reputation.

por Sofia A

15 de ene. de 2021

This course is of a great value. It is a life lesson, which highlights important things regarding ourselves, and how we present us to other people. It handles things most of us tend to forget or not giving them the time and the attendance they deserve such us self reputation management, self branding, social media representation.

In my opinion the most important in this course is that it helps you figuring out who you really want to be, defining what your values and beliefs and and how you need to give them form in order to have a good impact to community. It is a personal trip to self knowledge you will like a lot!

*Assignments were easy to pass for those who hate exams ;0)

por Yousaf A

23 de abr. de 2020

I always used to take personal branding or self promotion as a negative act but this course helped me to understand the real and basic meaning of Personal branding. It taught the importance of Personal Branding in a very positive way. The Instructor Kimberley R. Barker is just amazing and her way of teaching is very lovely. To all those people who are criticizing about the content of this course should understand that this was meant to understand the idea of Personal Branding and how you carry it. It was not meant to teach digital marketing or advertisement everyone should understand this. I simply loved this course.

por David L

26 de feb. de 2019

This course gave me exactly what I wanted to learn, and exactly what I expected. There were some lessons that took a deeper dive into theory, which fit perfectly into the flow of the lessons, while other lessons took a more practical approach, and covered how each of the social media platforms fit into a personal branding plan. I plan to use what I learned to fine-tune my personal social media presence, and to help develop a branding plan for my urban neighborhood. The course work is not heavy, and 5 weeks is a generous amount of time to complete the course.

por Ariful H B

3 de jun. de 2019

It was a great experience for me to have a course of Introduction to Personal Branding. Truly, I didn't know about anything about personal branding. I was a bit of nurvous after enrolled in that course. But Kimberley Madam make it very easy for me. The way she taught us it wasn't seems that kind of difficult during the course. Now, I'm eager to do some more course from coursera. And last of I want to the coursera admins to give me financial aid to take this course without payment. Otherwise, It wasn't possible for me to take that kind of valuable course.

por Liau C Z

8 de jun. de 2020

This is my second time taking a course from University of Virginia. Both times, the courses were enjoyable (I took New Business Models in Society previously). This course about Personal Branding was interesting thanks to the lecturer. She delivered content in a "Youtuber"-style, which made the content feel more "personal", fitting in nicely with Personal Branding. However, I believe that too much time was dedicated to dissecting the benefits of Twitter - a platform not very popular for businesses and professionals in Asia (where I come from).

por Ho H N

17 de sep. de 2020

The teacher is really outstanding. She has rich experience of life skill and personal brand. The style of teaching is absolutely attractive. I used to learn from other courses but those all have bad way of delivering their knowledge, which is hugely boring to me, I have to admit that. But everything come to change when I learn this course form her. She has a brilliant talent of facial expression. It really stand out in my mind when any one asks me about what the best course on coursera to me. Thanks for delivering this lesson to me.

por Lahia G

12 de jul. de 2020

Really loved Kimberley as an instructor. Engaging, attention grabbing while being short, sweet and to the point. Really great resources were provided and now a fan of the Reply All podcast which I had never head about before. Easy to follow layout of the course, and despite not having the heaviness you'd think you'd need to learn a lot, I'm truly surprised how much has resonated with me, the touch points I see in everyday life now (personal and work), and being able to apply everything I learn immediately. Thank you Kimberley!

por Esmeralda F

11 de feb. de 2021

This course, was one of my favourites! Not only because all the things I learned were really interesting, but also because Kimberley (our teacher) was really great! It was like I had live conversations with her! Her videos were beautiful & she gave as a lot of articles to read. I also liked a lot, that if you were more interested in some themes, in each article you could find more links & extra infos to read about, which was great! Kimberley's world "hello learners" will remain in my heart. Thanks a lot for everything*

por Renjie L

30 de mar. de 2021

Really good course, learned a lot. Thank you.

1. The 80/20 rule - post 80% of the contents which are useful or adding value to the reader, and leave the 20% for personal brand promoting

2. Google.com/alerts for monitoring personal branding and images online.

3. Find 3 words for yourself, and revisit them at least once a year.

4. Find your Myers-Briggs Type Indicator

5. When you are finding the board members, find some one you admire and respect, find some one would support and care deeply about you. No yesman.

por Iman A

27 de ago. de 2017

It's a great course, very introductory and easy to finish. If it's your first attempt to learn about personal branding and you are looking for a course that gives you general information about the topic, so this is it. It's not for someone who searches for deep, in-detail instruction. Plus, the instructor is so nice and I enjoyed her style of passing experience through, though I am sure she has more to give. Thank you very much Kimberly. Now I am going to watch the videos again because I feel like I want to!

por Vanessa C

2 de oct. de 2016

This course was useful and exciting. I often feel that I am the sole millennial born without social media skills. Now, I feel that I have the tools to succeed in the social media world. Thank you Kimberley Barker! Your course was well crafted and your videos were great! All of the assignments brought forth new insights. I appreciate the personality you brought in to the class, including the Hobbit references and Star Trek paraphernalia in the background! Live long and prosper. The road goes ever on and on:P

por Elizaveta R O

27 de mar. de 2018

I can say that this online course is gorgeous! G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S!

Because there is nothing superfluous and useless in it. Each part is saturated with new information that Kimberly Barker presents to us in a new light and with a new awareness of importance. I got a real pleasure from the course, and I think that there is nothing to change in it. Only maybe add some information, because I wanted to know something more new (but it isn't necessarily)!

Thank you very much for such a useful course. I am delighted!

por Shirley F B

20 de may. de 2018

The information presented is definitely helpful for a social media newbie. I've never wanted to be on any social media site, and feel that my life has been complete without the hassle of social media. However, I'm now forced to think seriously about how an internet presence will help me as I enter the next phase (retirement) of my life. The lectures were fun, but on the mark. The readings were pertinent, though some were frightening for a person already skeptical about "getting my name out there."

por Aedrian A

18 de ene. de 2021

I deeply appreciate the practicality of the course and the friendly demeanor of the instructor. This course is particularly useful for people like me who are admittedly weak in social/soft skills who have yet to take the issues surrounding personal branding seriously. Nevertheless, take note that this course is not the definitive material for developing your personal branding - hence the "Introduction" - and should drive your interest to read more and take further courses on the subject.

por Dr S N S

30 de abr. de 2020

Thanks for the opportunity to take up this Course.

This course is simple yet very Straight forward, Does not overwhelm you with course Material.

This Course provided me an opportunity to pick up few vital or key Information in building my personal Brand.

I wish all of us get to aware of Personal Branding, so that we can make our life unique opportunity to exchange our gifts, have fulfilling and prosperous life.

Thanks to the Course Instructor and Coursera for the opportunity provided.

por Alena P

25 de mar. de 2020

Хочу оставить этот отзыв на русском, чтобы мои русские коллеги поняли, насколько этот курс хороший. Несмотря на то, что по описанию курс может показаться очень базовым, в нем есть пару интересных features ,которые точно вас удивят. Так же хочу сказать, что задания были не сложными, поэтому их вполне можно выполнить за раз, не нужно растягивать весь курс. В завершении хочу сказать, что мне безумно понравилось как преподает Кимберли и ее манера речи. Цепляет)

por Rania S A

1 de jul. de 2020

This course is very helpful and gives a lot of insights. The teacher is very cheerful and makes me want to learn more about the topic. You will get understanding about what personal branding means and what it means to be a brand, define a brand mission statement for their personal brand, build a board of directors, become familiar with the basics of digital security and reputation management, and create a routine for on-going brand maintenance

por Natalia P

6 de sep. de 2020

It was an absolutely necessary course! Firstly, because I support the basic ideas of the course, secondly - because I am aware of my personal promotion in the digital environment and thirdly - but not least - the course has suggested multiple ideas about my subsequent activity, on my Facebook and Instagram pages. Thank you! It is a kind of awakening to reality and the acceptance of rules that we simply have to follow!

por Alejandra B P

7 de nov. de 2018

It's an awesome course and the teacher has the expertise and experience. It's really good to start but I think this exercise goes a little beyond an jntroductory thing. My only suggestion would be regarding the name because if I want to have this certificate in LinkedIn, for exampl6, the word introduction it's not very good... But thanks, it's really awesome, and the teaching is very good, fresh and unique.