Chevron Left
Volver a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.6
estrellas
1,176 calificaciones
265 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Principales reseñas

CG
10 de feb. de 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
24 de jun. de 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 263 revisiones para Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

por Chagari A P R

30 de ene. de 2020

Mind blowing. Great amalgam of Philosophy and Cosmology and Biology. The great picture for unifying understanding. Excellent package and presentation by Edinburgh University. Proud to have been exposed.

por JOSÉ D A

10 de mar. de 2021

Very good class. It's a quick review of a lot of issues that are relevant to the cognitive sciences. You also have the option to learn some additional information by looking at the optional material.

por Manuel O A

17 de oct. de 2017

The professors in this course reveal very clear and fast the recent advances in evolutionary psychology and the consequences in the approach to related sciences, and the way we perceive the world.

por Amitabh M

4 de nov. de 2020

A very nice introduction to a person like me who had no idea about the subject. Had definitely triggered an interest to explore more on this topic and get deeper understanding of the subject.

por Maniyamgamage D C P

10 de jun. de 2021

The most interesting online course I have ever done in near past. It's help to develop my thinking ability also. Recommend to all who like to start course that important to spiritual life.

por Mateus F

26 de nov. de 2020

Very interesting approach! They not only presented the arguments in a quite fluid way, but also, rather brilliantly, proposed different perspectives about the issues covered in the course.

por MH M

6 de feb. de 2021

This course is really fascinating, and really opens up a lot questions and has the right amount of information needed for a beginner. The reading and links are also very much useful.

por Luis E B H

10 de jun. de 2020

so far one of the most interesting courses I've ever taken. A valuable contribution for students who want to understand a little more about the brain and the world around them.

por Simone P

30 de mar. de 2020

An interesting and complete course, which opened a gash on a frontier of epistemological research that had always fascinated me and that now I am even more stimulated to deepen

por Aaradhya S

12 de jul. de 2020

brilliant and informative course on psychology and cognition . I highly recommend this to those who like to ask questions and are courageous enough to find their answers .

por Gabriel M

10 de may. de 2021

Foi um curso muito interessante que fez eu interpretar a mente de uma forma que eu não esperava, dessa forma vejo a mente agora como algo ecológico e não cognitivista!

por PATRICIA A A C

18 de oct. de 2020

Interesting and well designed course with great instructors! Recommended for us who just start studying about this subject. Thanks a lot for this useful course.

por Mosur V N

6 de feb. de 2019

Fantastic teachers, very informative and useful. Highly recommended to those who are interested in pursuing cognitive sciences and learning about consciousness

por Naz Y

1 de sep. de 2017

A perfect introduction course ! Lecturers, subjects, and slides are intriguing; the sources and further readings at the end of each week are amazing and rich.

por Biani P S L

2 de ago. de 2017

It is a simple and clear introduction to the current topics of philosophy of the cognitive sciences. Videos and additional readings are very interesting!

por Eric R P

13 de jun. de 2018

Los temas son fundamentales para iniciarse en el estudio de la cognición, a parte de los videos, las lecturas complementarias me parecieron excelentes.

por Karanveer S

2 de jun. de 2017

An amazing course where you get introduced to concepts like cognitive science, philosophy of mind, consciousness, etc. Simple and crisp content matter.

por Himanshu D

17 de ago. de 2020

A very helpful course that is easy to understand. Lecture Slides could have been better, especially the week 2 ones, but they were sufficient anyways.

por Ilias P

14 de ago. de 2017

A course for anyone interested in gaining a theoretical background about cognition,the brain and their links to artificial intelligence and robotics!

por Christos G

7 de jun. de 2020

Extremely interesting approach of cognition. I have been astonished! The structure of the course should be used an example for all online courses...

por Martin B

27 de may. de 2020

Embodied cognition is a new concept to me and very interesting. But it doesn't address the hard question of consciousness or the mind/body problem.

por Claudia Y A P

18 de mar. de 2021

A wonderful experience in the world of cognitive science. So clear, with a concret structure and and excellent teachers with high academic quality.

por Frank R

24 de abr. de 2017

Outstanding introductory philosophy course, taught in an accessible format by knowledgeable instructors. This is a rewarding and enjoyable course.

por Hanna a

1 de oct. de 2020

Great course! The course structure and material makes it easier to grasp the different concepts and makes navigating through the topics seamless!

por Francisco A

26 de sep. de 2017

Fantastic experience. I really enjoyed the explanation of such complex topics. It is really a unique opportunity regarding philosophy of science.