Chevron Left
Volver a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.6
estrellas
1,176 calificaciones
265 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Principales reseñas

CG
10 de feb. de 2020

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
24 de jun. de 2020

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 263 revisiones para Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

por Tan K Q

6 de may. de 2017

I am reading up on cognitive sciences for my PhD dissertation on cognitive narratology and space. The contents of this course are mostly very clearly presented. The topic is engaging, and I like the examples cited in the presentations.

por Belinda A

15 de may. de 2021

I would love the course to be slightly more comprehensive and if some of the discussions are mandatory, it would have been more robust. But all in all, I have learned a fair bit! The videos were also taken with good effort. Thank you!

por Allison B

3 de sep. de 2017

I think they should give us harder/more in-depth readings than just internet encyclopedia articles. It would be nice if they directed us to seminal papers that developed some of the ideas presented here instead of just summaries.

por tuba y

19 de ene. de 2018

Great as an introduction, but requires a lot of more in-depth individual research on the part of the novice learner, which could be facilitated by providing seminal readings - to let beginners know from where to start. Thank you

por NAUNIHAL S

3 de sep. de 2020

The course was very informative with excellent reading material suggested. I think that the week four videos could have been more explaining at the conceptual basis, too many examples made it for me rather difficult to keep up.

por Steven v d G

22 de nov. de 2016

A good and informative course on the philosophy of cognitive sciences. Judging by the lectures and quizzes, the course does seem to be more on a high school level, than an undergraduate level.

por Katt P

10 de mar. de 2017

Great high-level overview that introduces some very interesting concepts. Great intro for those who are just exploring this area of study. Entices you to dive deeper into the topic!

por Stefan V

8 de feb. de 2017

Wonderful course! It's a great introduction to the topic of embodied cognition. My only suggestion is to expand it for the people who are really interested in these topics.

por Eduardo S P

11 de mar. de 2017

I enjoyed this course, however some of the lectures were a bit slow or somehow loose. Evenso, I think this is a very good introductory course to a fascinating topic.

por Rahul K

4 de abr. de 2018

A very brief, concise, and fun-to-learn course. It helped me bridge the gap between AI cognition and human cognition. Love the presentation style of the lectures!

por A K

13 de dic. de 2016

I enjoyed this course very much! Provided a very fundamental framework for understanding what cognition is, and the associated problems, such as mind-body

por Daniela C L K M

24 de jul. de 2020

Maybe I was hoping for more philosophy and a little less science. But it was great to learn and think about applied sciences using cognitive sciences too.

por Anastasia B

10 de ago. de 2020

A good course. Very interesting but it is rather on the surface and doesn't really go in depth explaining the evolution of cognitive sciences

por James D R

18 de mar. de 2019

I found the first three weeks to be great. The final week felt rushed and underwhelming. It was a shame to end on a whimper.

por Jesse

6 de jul. de 2020

This is a relatively basic introductory program. Some interesting ideas had been introduced yet not been developed deeply.

por Mohamed A

4 de abr. de 2017

This is a complete introduction the cognitive sciences. A great course to start with, but is still for the beginners

por Jay K

13 de may. de 2020

Exceptional and accessible introductory course into the cognitive science and evolutionary and adaptive principles.

por Robert L

8 de sep. de 2017

A good overview though it does mix and match definition from Edinburgh research rather than research in general.

por Magdalena M

30 de may. de 2020

The slides for the last weeks lectures were a bit unstructured, would love if that was a bit more organized.

por Manolis P

28 de nov. de 2016

Approachable, easy to follow, interesting examples, rich additional readings, good lecturers, easy exams

por Karin F

22 de mar. de 2017

Great course! Could've been longer. Looking forward to more online courses from the U of Edinburgh.

por Israel Á P J

13 de ago. de 2020

Thanks for the course, I enjoy more than the first part! I loved the funny options in the quizzes.

por Helene L E

6 de ene. de 2021

Great course, scratching the surface of many important concepts and explaining them well.

por Yan L

6 de may. de 2019

I enjoyed the course, but felt like something was missing from the course.

por Ignacio J B P

12 de ago. de 2019

It lacks a certain unity, maybe because it has many different teachers.