Chevron Left
Volver a Philosophy of Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Philosophy of Science por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.7
estrellas
80 calificaciones
37 reseña

Acerca del Curso

For the last four centuries, scientists have aimed to provide us with an understanding of the world around us. By all appearances, science has made substantial progress during this time. But is this progress real or illusory? And if it is real, how has this progress been made? This four-week course will consider these important questions. Specific topics will include how scientists generate knowledge through observations, experiments, and simulations; scientific objectivity and failures of scientific objectivity; the self-correcting nature of the scientific community; the positive and negative influences that values can have on science; the relationship between science and religion; and the role of the public in guiding the scientific enterprise....

Principales reseñas

SB

Feb 20, 2020

Interesting information, well presented. The course gave me new ways of looking at scientific studies and research that will, I believe, make me a more sophisticated consumer of science reporting.

JS

Feb 27, 2020

This course opened me up to all sorts of perspectives and ideas that I never thought about. I was unaware of the field of the philosophy of science. I really appreciated the exposure!

Filtrar por:

26 - 36 de 36 revisiones para Philosophy of Science

por Xiomara N

May 05, 2020

I loved this course and all the material.

por Philip W

Feb 27, 2020

i am looking forward to more training!

por Laura G

May 18, 2020

Very interesting. I loved to do it.

por Charlotte d V

Feb 28, 2020

Thank you!

por Edgar H C L

Sep 12, 2020

Excellent

por Harris C

Feb 29, 2020

Well structured course, Prof. Weisberg's videos were clear, articulate, Vanessa of the teaching staff was very supportive, encouraging, and engaged in participants' comments. I wish there could have been some opportunity to contrast other lines of inquiry about the world in which we live, broadly speaking "the arts," which I think could help us better understand the inquiry about the "the sciences." To carry this a bit further, the legal system has elements of the scientific inquiry (e.g., "peer review" via jury, rules of evidence, cross examination) yet it isn't, and perhaps shouldn't be "scientific. And what are the structure and rules of inquiry in a subject such as history that allow "truth" to be discovered? I present these points also to indicate that this course got me thinking.

por Lauri E

Jul 20, 2020

The course was very well done: the lectures were coherent, concise, and well articulated, the readings were interesting but easy to grasp. Perhaps the quizzes were a bit too easy, and in a weird way detailed, asking about very small specifics at times. Naturally, a course like this can only scratch the surface of the topic, but at least I feel I myself got some new tools to dig deeper into the world of philosophy of science.

por Paul T

Mar 01, 2020

I found the material of the course very interesting as I have a background in physics and astronomy. The discussion on bias and methods for reducing it was well done.

I did have difficulty navigating the course material at times. It did not feel very intuitive to me, but I caught on after a while.

Thanks you for an over-all good experience.

por Sophie A

May 16, 2020

Great for scientist who are new to philosophy. The lecturer is fantastic, he's very inspiring and successfully inspires you to read and learn more about philosophy. Be prepared to begin questioning everything you hold as true.

por Broney J

Jul 11, 2020

Gives clear insight into "What science is... and how it is done by scientists", if you have a tendency to criticize the scientific methods, I would recommend this course.

por James W M

Feb 21, 2020

Very intellectually stimulating considering the relatively few hours involved.

Tough quizes!