Chevron Left
Volver a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.7
estrellas
839 calificaciones
184 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is the origin of our universe? What are dark matter and dark energy? This is the first part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Physical Sciences. Scientific research across the physical sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the physical sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. We’ll consider questions about the origin and evolution of our universe, the nature of dark energy and dark matter and the role of anthropic reasoning in the explanation of our universe. Learning Objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the natural sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Reading To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Principales reseñas

NJ

1 de jun. de 2021

The course was really fun and enjoyable. The course offered a lot of information in a very simple way. All the instructors were very fluent with their explanation and I thoroughly enjoyed this course!

RR

28 de ene. de 2017

Un curso muy completo y fácil de digerir sobre la cosmología y el principio antrópico, muy recomendable para la comprensión que se tiene sobre el universo actualmente y la razón de nuestra existencia.

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 183 revisiones para Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

por Naoemi M E D W

20 de ago. de 2020

This course was very informative and interesting. It taught me about new Philosophical questions and ideas that I have yet to encounter in my undergraduate Philosophy courses. Although, the scient part of the discussion was difficult to understand especially since I did not have a good grasp of the concepts discussed beforehand. Although, it can be understood after a few days of review and studying.

por Marco P

10 de ago. de 2021

The only reason that I have given four stars to the course and not five is that I was expecting to receive instructors' feedback or comments on my submissions after each week, but this did not happen. I am looking forward to getting that feedback for my essay in addition to peers' reviews. I have learnt much by attending this MOOC. Thanks a lot!

por Mohamed A

14 de feb. de 2020

It's a great introductory course I recommend for everyone who interests in the philosophy of science and its aspects. One of the features, unlike many courses, is that it provides more supplementary related material in each session.

Thanks to all the staff with their beautiful souls.

por Polina M

21 de may. de 2020

A very interesting and useful introduction, I wish the video lectures where longer, but there's a whole lot of additional reading material after each lecture, so you can go further with learning every theme discussed by lectors!

por Andre A

23 de nov. de 2019

I learned a lot about cosmology and it made me think about many aspects of Nature and existence. I was, though, expecting to learn more about philosophy of science than to cosmology. It was nice anyway. Thank you very much.

por Yoram T

24 de may. de 2021

I liked the start very much. The later physics was not clear enough for me.

Anyway, very interesting material which make you think (which is always a good thing).

por Alejandro N R

22 de mar. de 2020

This course was very interesting, many parts of it connected pretty well with my prior knowledge but game me the opportunity to clarify some doubts.

por Leo T

11 de mar. de 2022

T​his is a good course to dig deeper into how science is done and how we should question its validity and the correctness of scientific theories.

por Smruti M

10 de sep. de 2017

An enlightening course that helps capture a brief history of the scientific method and aims to give some purpose to scientific pursuits.

por Mengyu T

18 de abr. de 2017

A bit short. The discussions on cosmology is difficult to understand for someone like me who does not learn anything about yet.

por Deleted A

30 de abr. de 2017

It was a really good course. Something very different for me. I just wish it was a litter longer than 4 weeks.

por Steve R

23 de sep. de 2017

Great class. Some of the cosmology lectures were a bit hard to understand, but very interesting overall.

por Joana C N T R

10 de oct. de 2019

was expecting a more generalistic (not so focused on cosmology) course on episthemology

por Simran S

5 de ago. de 2020

its very good but the languages and the words they use are slightly hard and complex

por Gabriel C

22 de may. de 2017

This course very much helpful to those who are new philosophy of science.

por Samuel F F

21 de ene. de 2017

Esperava explicações mais simples dos fenômenos, muitas vezes me perdia

por Alex R

26 de mar. de 2022

good, wish they'd go deeper into the evidence and theory

por Simone P

6 de jun. de 2017

Astonishing insights. Very well taught.

por Aiza R A

15 de oct. de 2020

Mind blowing and informative

por Mohamedali K

20 de abr. de 2022

Great course on Cosmology!

por D S

15 de abr. de 2020

Really enjoyed it!

por Roy H

21 de may. de 2022

kind of confusing

por Anuj K

6 de jul. de 2020

very informative

por Dr.FAKRUDDIN B S

4 de may. de 2020

Very Good

por Cliff S

11 de sep. de 2016

Though familiar with the material, the lectures made several very nice key points about the Philosophy of Science which I found useful. However there are a few issues :

-a lot of the lecturing is on a board which is hard to read

-there is a lot more science than there is Philosophy

The latter isn't necessarily a bad thing, but based on the title I expected more of the latter.