Chevron Left
Volver a Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.5
estrellas
855 calificaciones
232 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Principales reseñas

SR

13 de nov. de 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

RR

13 de may. de 2017

Fine course, nice references for further reading, clear and nice instructors. Only two where a little odd: Statis Psillos, talking too fast, and Conor Cunningham, a bit too theatrical.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 230 revisiones para Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

por Ruth S

23 de feb. de 2022

The content of this course was of much interest to me, and it was presented in a manner that maintained my interest. I found the format of the course to be extrememly helpful.

por imaloserdude

30 de nov. de 2021

Interesting and insightful lectures and questions by knowledgeable professors who encouraged me to think, not just regurgitate information.

por Tessa L

8 de jul. de 2020

I think this was a great course, in which a lot of parts of the Science and philosophy debat where explained. It was super interesting!

por Luz M G F

22 de nov. de 2020

Fue una magnífica experiencia, logrando grandes aprendizajes con excelentes maestros y maestras. Saludo desde Cali, Colombia.

por FELIPE J V C

20 de sep. de 2021

Awesome course, indeed. Very well structured, and many different points of view from many disciplines. Higly recommended!!!

por Egor P

7 de mar. de 2021

Хороший набор аргументов чтобы раз и навсегда разобраться в том какое место занимает религия а какое наука в нашем мире.

por Tran H N

9 de oct. de 2021

A great course ! I have learned a lot about free will, evolution and New Earth Creationism among the other things!

por Maruf L

26 de sep. de 2019

Very Well package course. thanks for a lot of the knowledge and insight shared. I guess the learning continues.

por Venelouis T S P

31 de ene. de 2017

A great course that make us to think about perceived reality, to think about science and religion importances.

por Nancy M

9 de feb. de 2021

I kept wanting to know more and to learn more about the subject. It's a very captivating course. Thank you.

por J D

27 de abr. de 2017

Great course, excellent brief survey of a number of key issues in philosophy of science. Highly recommended.

por Roberto G

18 de dic. de 2021

E​xcellent! Great lectures of all professors. Dr. David de Pomerai was specially great to me. Thanks to all.

por Elsie C

4 de may. de 2021

Another great course from the University of Edinburgh. Very clearly explained, and very interesting topics.

por Diego S D

25 de jul. de 2020

Brilliant. I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn about the deeper questions in human life.

por John W W

20 de nov. de 2020

thankyou university of edinburg for this course its very helpful especially in building ones spirituality

por Fogan A

9 de mar. de 2019

This course is a great course! Thanks to Coursera and all the professors and others that made it possible

por Комаровская А С

22 de mar. de 2017

Thank you so mush for providing such an interesting course on philosophy for free! The material was good!

por özlem b k

11 de abr. de 2021

Everything was perfect. Thank you very much for this course and I am very happy to have this chance.

por Claudia M

23 de feb. de 2021

I loved this course overall, even though I must admit that I preferred some instructors over others.

por Robert C C

30 de jul. de 2019

Good course, though I think the instructors are rather condescending toward young earth creationism.

por Peta O (

4 de abr. de 2019

Wonderful thank you, will definitely participate in the additional courses offered on this subject.

por Rafael A T

10 de ago. de 2017

Excelent course, all the topics are very interesting, great team of professors, congratulations.

por Stacey M

25 de feb. de 2018

Excellent material, very well presented and explained. Thoroughly interesting. Thank you so much.

por Tapuwa L S

6 de feb. de 2019

The course was very enlightening and now my understanding of the world has been aptly rectified

por Donald A

5 de oct. de 2020

Very informative and gave me a different perspective on how to combine ideas from both topics.