Chevron Left
Volver a Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.5
estrellas
893 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Principales reseñas

SR

13 de nov. de 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

RR

13 de may. de 2017

Fine course, nice references for further reading, clear and nice instructors. Only two where a little odd: Statis Psillos, talking too fast, and Conor Cunningham, a bit too theatrical.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 238 revisiones para Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

por Sidney C

12 de jun. de 2017

I do think it was very interesting and informative. I gave it four out of five stars, only because it could evolve given some time and improve somewhat. I have suggested it to others.

por Park Y

20 de oct. de 2017

I think this lecture was really good. I can get basic knowledge related to science and religion, and furthermore, I could learn about the perspective related to soical science

por Suzanne C L

6 de ene. de 2022

Very intresting and well presented. However, sometimes it was difficult to exprapolate the quiz answers or essay answers from the material in the manner it was presented.

por Mariano C

27 de ene. de 2019

Great initial course to get a more profound insight on the subjects taken into account. Excellent explanation from all the teachers involved in each week's topic!

por Valéry B

3 de mar. de 2020

Really great. The last part about religion is a bit confusing - not so sure why this priest it talking about evolution. But otherwise really great. Thanks!

por Daniel J M

16 de ene. de 2018

I found some of the lecturers' hard to understand do to language accents. However, being able to follow along with the printed form solved any problems.

por Nathan B

12 de abr. de 2017

Very interesting course. I certainly learnt a lot about science and philosophy, especially relating it to religion, and the history behind each domain.

por Claudio C

7 de nov. de 2020

It is necessary to improve the subtitles. It seems to me that they are not correct in some situations.

Thank you!

por Victor B

24 de may. de 2020

This course provides an interesting overview of the field. Serves very well as an introduction to the field.

por Susan H

22 de feb. de 2017

Have really enjoyed this course, very informative and fascinating. Opened my mind to many different ideas.

por Lisa F

10 de ago. de 2022

Some of the terminology got a bit heavy, but the presentation was concise and to the point.

por Guy I

30 de oct. de 2022

i liked this course very much.

straitforward and very interesting.

Thank you very much.

Guy

por In-Ho K

10 de jul. de 2022

Analysis of issues science has thrown to philosophy and its debates were well presented.

por Roselle E O

30 de oct. de 2020

Could have been fun to learn with more visual aids like video or animations.

por Sergio S

5 de dic. de 2020

Sometimes the lecture material were vague, but I really liked this course

por Aksah I

24 de ene. de 2022

It gave me a new perspective on things, for which I am forever grateful.

por Swen L

3 de may. de 2017

Interesting introduction with a good list of further reading material.

por Hongfei C

10 de jul. de 2017

It's a good foundation for further study in this area but just to

por Lavinia W

1 de ago. de 2017

Good critical overview of science, philosophy and religion

por Stephen F

30 de may. de 2020

Good course, but only covered a small subset of topics.

por Harvey B

19 de nov. de 2018

Interesting and varied, if slightly basic at times.

por Christopher W

10 de jun. de 2018

A thought-provoking and informative course.

por IamTheFlip

10 de jul. de 2019

Very enjoyable course! Highly recommended!

por Aaron A

11 de abr. de 2018

Very good. It was awesome, I learnt a lot.

por A L G

13 de ago. de 2020

It was an enlightening course, Thank you