Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Philosophy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Philosophy por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.7
estrellas
6,436 calificaciones
1,509 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Principales reseñas

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

Filtrar por:

1201 - 1225 de 1,496 revisiones para Introduction to Philosophy

por MARCELO G L

Sep 08, 2019

Excellent course, very well organized and with a good structure to support the learning process. The content and the professors are amazingly good, guiding you through the topics in an exciting and well-explained way. I enjoyed very much and for sure I recommend this for everyone who wants to get in touch with philosophy and its basis.

por Lucas M A S C

Jul 29, 2017

I liked this course because of the calmness and dedication of the teachers, the reliability of the resources and the attractive topics that were selected.

Although I must recognize that sometimes the long extension of the additional resources didn't allow me to read them all.

Despite of that, the course was great and I enjoyed it.

por Deleted A

Jul 10, 2019

imo it was pretty shallow, but for an introductory class, it did a good job of covering the most basic points of each topic that it explores. i enjoyed the range of areas offered, and things were explained in a way that was easily understandable. nevertheless, i felt that the quizzes could have been made slightly more difficult.

por Deleted A

Nov 29, 2015

The course is great. The informatiion is objective, easy to process and good, the only bad thing about this course is that even though it has spanish subtitles all the test are in english which makes them way to hard to resolve. If you give the option of spanish subtitles on an english curse at least translate the test too.

por Denis A

Jan 26, 2016

Two last lectures (week 6 and 7) are the most informative ones, giving a large pool of sources and information in an excellently structured way. It would be nice to expand bibliography for other lectures and add handout or transcript for week 4 because I actually was studying the materials, not watching videos. Thank you!

por Susannah R

Aug 29, 2017

Excellent course. It's a shame that the discussion forum is no longer available, as that would have been very helpful and stimulating (hence 1 star less). Thanks to all the tutors. I liked having a different person present each section, and, I actually did both topics for each week as I didn't want to miss out.

por Cristina V

Jan 15, 2016

I've enjoyed a lot most of the lectures and the activity in the discussion forums is very interesting! I like how professors have directed this course and how it allows everyone, whatever his background is (my field is biomedical sciences), to learn about these themes. I'd definitely recommend it!

por Marco K

Sep 24, 2019

I enjoyed the Introduction to Philosophy course very much. The explanations of the concepts were easy to follow and the quizzes were well written. There was good variety with each chapter being explained by someone else. I can recommend this to anyone wanting a grasp of the field of philosophy.

por David J P O

May 19, 2020

I was expecting more practical philosophy topics, but instead had to go through political obligation and time travel. I wanted to know more about past philosophers and what their thoughts were on life. Well, generally, what makes life worth living and how does philosophy answer that question?

por Kaan A D

Dec 04, 2017

An insightful course, doing well to present the student with the basis of philosophical thinking, although it may have introduced some more advanced topics too soon while missing a few of the basics. But it provides the necessary foundations for anyone wishing to further pursue the subject.

por Jaybird O

May 31, 2020

Really exciting having so many different professors with varying styles. A very challenging course intellectually. Raises many, many provocative ideas. The tests were sometimes vaguely worded including some typos but generally a highly useful introduction to a broad, deep subject.

por Hamdanil R

Jun 26, 2016

Good course. It covers various disciplines in philosophy (e.g. of science, of mind, ethics), with interesting presentation and discussion topics. However it doesn't feel very systematic. It feels more like a series of videos about philosophy than a holistic course at philosophy.

por Andrew T

Nov 20, 2015

An exciting and worthwhile introduction to the philosophical fundamentals! While there was not as much focus on the major philosophers themselves as I was expecting, I gained a lot from this course and would recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about philosophy.

por Jing Y

Feb 10, 2016

Very helpful introductory course for people who are interested in philosophy. Varied topics in each module and rich reference reading materials. The only problem I found is the lectures in some modules are too simple and not as inspiring and thought-provoking as some others.

por Ervin J D P

Sep 17, 2020

Some lectures/topics really take a lot to absorb, which doesn't make it beginner-friendly, especially if it's to be labelled as an Introductory course. Nevertheless, it was still fun learning these concepts, though it may be hard for some to see or apply them in daily life.

por Tom H

Sep 21, 2019

Briefly covers each of some of the larger topics within philosophy; morality, the law, epistemology, philosophy of mind, etc. The lectures are fairly well done but each topic is covered by a different teacher. People already familiar with philosophy may find it a bit basic.

por William P

Mar 31, 2016

From an engineer perspective this was hard to see obvious value in but i enjoyed the thought provoking topics. Some of the tests were very hard and the questions were not directly form the lectures while others were. Some presenters were hard to understand due to accent.

por vanita T

Aug 28, 2020

I enjoyed this course. Curiosity about philosophy increased. contents of this course bring a new way to see philosophical arguments separately as per subjective fundamental questions. Readings will help me to conceptualized philosophical questions and arguments further.

por Yee C H

Apr 24, 2020

As this is a Introduction courses, the course content that presented are fairly easy to understand for any new beginner. Is a good starting point for anyone who is intend to start to understand philosophy. Looking forward for much deeper courses for Philosophy.

por onur m

Sep 18, 2015

a lovely introduction class. touches some of the most important philosophical fields and multiple approaches to said fields. if you are into philosophy in a beginner level, you should check this out (for the fancy steampunk clothes in week7 if nothing else)

por ZifengHuang

Aug 27, 2017

It's my first lesson taken in Coursera. It is a good lesson but some Chinese subtitles are wrong, this make some trouble to me. I hadn't take the whole lesson, however, I think this lesson is a little boring. Nevertheless, it still a good class, UpVote!

por Alex M

Feb 22, 2020

Interesting course, gives a bird's eye view on the fundamental topics of philosophy. I'd prefer it to go deeper on some topics, like philosophy of science, but it's just an introduction and they had to cover everything in a relatively short time.

por Ivan D G

Aug 03, 2017

I am an Engineer, always with a curiosity for Philosophy. This is an excellent course to understand some of the basic concepts in philosophy, but the best I got is the vocabulary, the meaning of language and some historic context.

Thank you.

por Shivani M

Sep 19, 2020

This was a decent course for an introduction to Philosophy. The lectures and the topics were pretty thought provoking. It could have had maybe a few assignments apart from the quizes. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it and learned quite a lot.

por Jaideep J

Jul 08, 2019

This course really helped me in exploring the field of Philosophy on the surface level which was my objective of joining the course. I still felt that course content was much tilted towards western culture and hence gave 4 star.